We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary but fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amsterdam Dungeon

The Amsterdam Dungeon
Rokin 78 | Amsterdam, 1012 KW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
(0)20-5308500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$23*
and up
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scary but fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Enjoyed this place just as much the second time as I did the first. This time it was with my husband and three step-children aged 10, 8, and 6. It is quite scary and Master 6 was a bit apprehensive at first but by the end was having a great time. It is quite educational and the children learnt a bit about Amsterdam's history. I thought it wouldn't be as frightening the second time around but I was wrong! Something to make everyone jump or scream. Worth the price and also has one of the better souvenir shops I have seen. Definitely better than The Edinburgh Dungeon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    278
    141
    54
    57
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is a good way to spend some time in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Iv been the the London dungeon and had a great time, so when I realised this was from the same franchise I went and did have a good time, not as big as London but still not a disappointment.
Unlike some of the other dungeon museums around Amsterdam.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I throughly loved it ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I thought the staff were excellent, they had me going a few times. I enjoyed the different rooms and I love things you interact with. I thought it was brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Actors are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Went as part of the deal with Madame Tussaud's with my boyfriend. Actors are great get really in to it especially the cleaner lady & the judge. Was really scary for me but I get scared easily, funny too. They pick on you if you show you're scared though! Would go again :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't waste time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is the same as the dungeons in the UK, I thought there would be some local history but was wrong, I consider it to be a waste of time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam D, Manager at The Amsterdam Dungeon, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear shopgirl_hayles,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. There are similarities with the London Dungeon but the Amsterdam Dungeon is about the dark History of the Netherlands, most of the shows are about another topic. But if you look at being scary and funny, then you are absolutely right  that should be the same.

Regards,
The Amsterdam Dungeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amsterdam Dungeon also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Amsterdam Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amsterdam Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.