We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean rooms, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Westertoren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de Westertoren to your Saves list
Hotel de Westertoren
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 35b, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location, clean rooms, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel location is about 5mins from the Dam square. We rented the family room which was clean and is good enough to accommodate 7 adults. But it was in a different style with one side built like a bunk bed. There is only one small size bathroom for the family room.

For a family room this size, the price was affordable, with breakfast included.

It is a old hotel with no lift and very steep staircases and no ground floor so the hotel is not advisable for people with trouble climbing staircases or with heavy luggage.

Basic continental breakfast provided in the room, so you can eat at your leisure.

The staff at the hotel is very helpful and available 24hrs a day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    27
    9
    14
See reviews for
15
23
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for three nights it's cheap and basic but very central and Sam on the desk was lovely very friendly and helpful rooms are very basic but comfy beds and cleaned well each day need to be fit though to get up the stairs

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Train station is 15 minutes walk to hotel or take Tram 17(3stops) . This station connects from schiphol airport .Hotel is perfectly situated central to all attractions by foot,and is easily accessible to many restaurants,bars and supermarket. Hotel itsself is secure, very clean with spacious rooms. Breakfast is brought to room to have at ur leisure and is very good. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful.definately stay here again and recommend.

Room Tip: Room 2 is next to the kitchen so quite noisy u can hear breakfast being prepared etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Really spacious, friendly owners with clean rooms and a decent breakfast, TV and fridge! This is great value if you want just a basic hotel in central Amsterdam I would definitely stay again for a trip with friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room as it's a bit nicer and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We reserved a family room through Bookings.com, and the hotel decided to cancel our reservation at the last minute because they oversold. We didn't find out until we arrived (very tired from long travel), and it was extremly stressful and frustrating. They didn't explain why they decided to give our reserved room to someone else and only showed us the fax they had sent Bookings.com on the previous evening (which of course was unhelpful because we had already been on the plane!).

The quick glimpse we took of the hotel reception area suggested that it was cheap and nasty. Also beware of the steep stairwell.

Room Tip: Families with young kids and people with difficulty climbing stairs should definitely avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was very small. The bed was a mattress sized lump of rubber and hideously uncomfortable. The window, although closed, had a draft which blew down on my head, so I had to move to the other end, precariously underneath the small and badly installed TV ledge. The radiator didn't work, until I got someone to look at it. I decided not to be woken early with a breakfast tray so do not know whether it was any good. When leaving the surly older Arabic guy on the front desk refused to help me take my heavy bag downstairs, saying' Not my duty, not my duty...' I certainly won't be staying here again. If you are older and want a few comforts look elsewhere. If you are younger and don't mind a budget experience then try it. I will say the location is good, 5 mins from Dam Square, with a tram stop nearby. There is a small working kettle in the room, and a good small fridge. but nowhere to puts stuff, and nowhere to sit except the bouncy bed.

Room Tip: I have no tips, they are all at least up 3 flights of steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room is not really large, but contains everything! Breakfast is served in room and there's a boiler so you can prepare tea everytime you want! Is really close to the city center (more or less 5 minutes walking ). Prices are good too since it's not so expansive! Only one advice: pay attention to the stairs since are really steep! Watch your step! :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Westertoren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Westertoren

Address: Raadhuisstraat 35b, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Westertoren 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Westertoren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Westertoren Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Westertoren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.