We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Needed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Westertoren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Westertoren to your Saves list
Hotel de Westertoren
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 35b, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything We Needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My partner and I booked this hotel online from Australia and loved the pictures and reviews. Being a young couple backpacking Europe we were on a budget and just needed something with decent bedding and a shower. This hotel was close to the central train station (10-15 min walk or 7eur taxi ride) and had trams passing directly outside. Close to the centre town square, Anne Franks house and the most AMAZING dutch pancake restaraunt that EVERYONE must try - Sarah's Pancakes.
We had the room on the top floor with a balcony. The room was typical European size (small but not uncomfortable and we even had large bags) and had a shower, TV, coffee facilities, and a really comfortable bed. Toilet was right outside our door and we got a continental breakfast delivered daily. The staff were also incredibley friendly and even helped us with tours and let us leave our bags in the office for the day when we had to check out.
The only things newcomers should be prepared for is the stairs and the gorgoues cat resident (just incase your severly allergic - she doesn't come near you though). The pictures tell no lies about the stairs but you do get used to it. All the stairs are like this in the city though so it's nothing unusual.
I am happy to recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: When I made the booking I added a comment asking for the room I wanted and the staff had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    32
    9
    15
See reviews for
19
29
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Hotel is located near by Dam square, the centre of Amsterdam. It's well connected by tram, and offers airport shuttle service free.
The room was very clean and the owner brought us breakfast in the room. The breakfast was very delicious and there was always a kettle for making coffe when you want.
There is a cat who roams the rooms, it's very funny.
The owners are very kind and hospitable and the Hotel is excellent value for money.
Great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Great hotel, friendly staff, yeah the stairs are high, but so is everywhere in amserdam, its in a great location, near to everything, no long walks back,
I went with 6 friends, the room was so comfy and clean, The cat there is really friendly. Cheap prices and great service!! I would definatly recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

To anyone that is thinking of booking to stay here please save yourself the trouble and go somewhere else. We arrived at the hotel only to find our room was not ready, even though we arrived some 2 hours after the check-in time (12pm). The condition of the room was shabby, out-dated and it was very poorly maintained. They didnt have a room key for us on arrival and said we would have to wait half an hour for the key.
The receptionist struggled to comprehend basic english and called for 'Mark' (a manager?) through another of the hotels bedroom doors. He didnt appear, but mumbled through the door - what he a said I do know - I presume it was something to do with the fact that the establishment is a shambles and they were not ready for us.
It was a like a scene straight out of a Dutch version of Faulty Towers - only we wern't laughing. Obviously we opted not to stay at the hotel (having to still pay a nights fee as we didn't cancel before 7 days of our arrival) - and found the Park Plaza (located close to Vondelpark) for £30 more for the entire stay. The Park Plaza is a hotel in a different league to the Westertoren - amazing what you can get for a few quid more.

Beware.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

This is at the bottom of my still stay list for A-dam. It is inexpensive but very dusty and they had to be essentially bribed to change the sheets. If I had to I would stay there again as the price is low and location perfec but I could do better for 75 Euros a night.. I got tired asking for clean sheets and the dust was very bad in the room. I routinely say I dont care much what the room is like as long as the location is good but this place is on the edge. You should try some other places in the neighborhood. It beats the Amstelzicht where I am sure the maid stole my globalphone and ran up some amazing charges.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel is very centrally located. Even with a Priceline "Big Deal" It was 100 Euros. 10 rooms located at the top of an "Amsterdam staircase". En Suite. I haven't been in Amsterdam for about a year, but thought the price was too high for pretty simple digs. Do yourself a favor and stay in one of the neyghborhoods and ride the tram. Maybe they are now pricey also

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nth east lincs
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

we stayed there for 1 night excellent position great view breakfast wat we expected friendly staff one compliant the stairs was deadly

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#93 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,299 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#31 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#170 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#159 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#281 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#166 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Westertoren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Westertoren

Address: Raadhuisstraat 35b, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Westertoren 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Westertoren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Westertoren Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Westertoren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.