We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Hallen to your Saves list
Hotel De Hallen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I are just back from this hotel. The hotel itself is not far from the city centre with the trams just round the corner from the hotel. Rooms are nice and spacious with a different style bathroom. The beds are huge and comfy. The only flaw with the hotel at the moment would be the construction site right next door which were piling so there was a lot of banging which would cause vibrations in the room at 8am and would be ongoing till late afternoon. Obviously the hotel can not help this and overall I had a really nice stay at the hotel and would defiantly come back to this hotel if I stayed in Amsterdam again .

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Karen,

thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed the hotel and the location! We are sorry for the inconvience. We are happy to tell on the construction site they are almost ready with piling and on the weekends there is no disturbance from this.

Thank you again for your review and we hope we can welcome you again!

Kind Regards,

Mark Timo Jansen
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    50
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
122
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner & I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in February. The hotel was very modern & spotlessly clean. The room has tea & coffee making facilities & a tv. The girls at reception were all pleasant & were able to give us advice on places to eat which were all lovely. The hotel is a bit further out from the centre however we walked in every day & night which took about 20 mins. The number 13 or number 17 tram will take you from Central Station to about 3 mins walk from hotel. If you go to the information desk outside Central Station you can buy tickets & they will advise what stop to get off. There is a lovely place across the street for breakfast called The Breakfast Club....roughly €25 for 2 people.

A visit to Anne Franks house is a must although I would advise you go early as we queued for an hour and a half to get in. The Heneiken factory is great too.


The only few cons I would have about the hotel is there is no window in the room so the room can get a bit stuffy. The other con is not really the fault of the hotel but there is a lot of building work round the hotel. On the 3rd morning we were woken at 8.30am with the whole room vibrating. This continued for the next few hours continuously until we left the room for the day. It was actually making me feel a bit sick. As I said not the hotels fault.

Otherwise a great hotel if you want something just outside the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Karenmag,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel De Hallen!

I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and staff. You are right, in the neighbourhood of the hotel there are very nice shops and restaurant.

Many thanks for your stay with us, we look forward to welcome you back in town on a next occasion!

Warm regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The people: fantastic, so helpful both with hotel related things and finding our way around Amsterdam. We were greeted with a smile everytime! They also offered to book tour tickets online for us so we could skip cues and sometimes get discounted prices.

The room: the best we have had on our Europe trip so far! The bath was AMAZING, huge and luxurious, and the bed was like sleeping on a giant cloud!

The location: not too far from anything (walking distance, we didn't use public transport except for airport transfers), and right next to the amazing "Food Hallen" where you can get many different types of cuisine, including the best burger ("the butcher") I have ever tasted, and "bitterballen" which are a local dish we struggled to find elsewhere. The food hall also has bars, so you can pick your food and enjoy it with a nice beer or cider, or whatever you prefer!

We LOVED this hotel and would definitely recommend!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Lisa,

It is great to read you have had an excellent Hotel De Hallen experience. The compliments about our staff makes me very proud. And indeed it is true the hotel has a perfect location: nearby the very popular Foodhallen and all the main attractions of the city, but in a very local neighbourhood out of the fuzz of the city center.

May you want to return to Amsterdam, we hope you will choose our hotel once more for your stay,

Kind regards,

Mark Timo Jansen
Hotel Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel, we can't find enough compliments for the place! The location is short walk from the centre of town in a nice residential district, a short walk or tram ride from the museums and parks.

On walking into the hotel, you're greeted with the beautiful lobby with its stylish mix of furniture and fine scented candles burning...

The rooms were comfortable, not huge but more than adequate for two adults to share the space and not fall over each other. The walk in shower and huge bathtub were great too, along with the fluffy towels :-) The place felt well designed, relaxed and fun, really helpful staff too.

The hotel itself is part of a converted tram depot, the other parts of which are restaurants and a brilliant food court. We had probably the best G&T's we have ever had in there! The layout is simple, stylish and above all quiet. The only time there is noise is when there is something going on in the bar, but these events all finished really early.

We loved the bed and pillows but can see where other reviewers suggested a pillow menu. I would not change a thing however.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room near the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Deliciouslynaughty,

First of all thank you so much for writing your thorough review and sharing this on TripAdivsor.
With great pleasure I read you have had such an enjoyable stay with us. The Foodhallen next door is certainly a hot spot and guarantees nice evenings filled with delicious and trendy bites and drinks.
Did you already pass by the cinema which is even closer by?

Hope to see you in the summer time, so you can enjoy our lovely menu on the terrace.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place, superb design and just a chilled and relaxed atmosphere.... only negative, agree with previous review which suggests better pillows - but other than that perfect stay, great position, stylish contemporary design, lovely service.

Room Tip: don't think it matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KerensaRobertson,

Thank you so kindly for writing your review on TripAdivsor. Let me assure you the feeling is mutual and we would love to have you back as well.
I will certainly discuss the issue about the pillows with the management. However it is always possible to ask reception to provide you with different ones during your stay.

Hopefully we will see you soon: maybe in the spring or summer time so you can enjoy our terrace as well!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
686 helpful votes 686 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a very good position (20min from Schipol, 20min fron Central Station), this hotel offers large and well designed rooms with modern and functional furniture. Great service. 4stars very well deserved.
Maybe better with a different and wider choice of pillows.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Venti_caratteruzzi,

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor!
Hopefully you will book our hotel on your next visit to Amsterdam, then we will do our best to provide you the pillow set to your preferences!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel on 8 Feb 2015 with a friend and would definitely return.

The hotel is beautifully designed and looks lovely both in rooms and communal areas. There was a Krups coffee machine in my room with complementary sachets which was a nice touch. The bathroom was very spacious with a bath and separate walk in shower and toiletries were provided. The bed was very large and comfortable and there was a good place to sit and apply makeup.

The common areas of the hotel were comfortable and secluded in parts which made it feel private although you were sat in the reception, the staff were also very friendly and helpful and provided local knowledge where we needed it.

The location of the hotel is just outside the centre, about a 20 minute walk to Dam Square, or you can get tram 13 or 14 for €2.90 which is very cheap, the trams are also very regular. As a guide, a taxi home from the gay district was about €13 and to the airport €40.

My only complaint about my entire stay was that there was no fresh or UHT milk in my room to have with my coffee.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples, friends and families looking to stay in Amsterdam and will be returning if I come back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Phoebe T,

Thank you very much taking the time writing your review about your recent stay in our hotel.
It is great to read you have enjoyed the atmosphere, the service of the hotel staff and the comfortable room. Please note coffee milk is set standard in the room, but we are more than willing to bring fresh milk to your room on a daily basis, free of charge of course.
If the reception would have been notified, this service was certainly provided. Thank you for your feedback in this matter, this helps us improve our service for future guests.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in the superb Internet garden. The garden is situated above De Kas, our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Hallen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.