We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Hallen to your Saves list
Hotel De Hallen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel has excellent service and at the reception they are always happy to help! The rooms are perfect they have everything you need, very clean and modern. The food was great, they try to make whatever you want! The location was very good as long as you don’t mind walking and there are nice restaurants / coffee shops nearby. Free fast Wifi. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dinky_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Dinky_Dina,

Thank you very much for writing your kind review about our hotel!
It was a joy having you here and we will hope if you return to Amsterdam, you will choose our hotel once more for your stay.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. If you are looking for something a bit different - this hotel is definitely a good choice!! Beautifully decorated and immaculately clean - there is nothing i could fault. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful even before we got there - very promptly responding to emails of questions we had about transport. Nothing was too much trouble for them! We stayed over my birthday and i was very pleasantly surprised to recieve a drinks voucher for two free drinks at the bar on my arrival as well as a chilled bottle of wine awaiting us in the room on our second day - a very nice touch!

Couldnt recommend this hotel anymore - it is definitely going to be an up and coming place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linzi92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Linzi92014,

Thank you so much for taking the time writing such kind words about Hotel De Hallen.
We really hoped you enjoyed the birthday, and hopefully we can celebrate it together again next year?

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights earlier this week.

Room was located on the ground floor. We were blown away with the decoration and quality of all furniture and art work. Very tastefully done. Top notch!!

Room
Has everything you need. Loads of towels, slippers, safe, mini bar, great shower, loads of storage even a nespresso coffee machine! Perfect waking up every morning having a Starbucks next to your bed!!

Staff were all brilliant. Very helpful whenever we needed advice. If we ever go back to Amsterdam I know where we will stay!

Thanks you!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Tessy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Tessy1324,

With great pleasure and proud I read your five dot review! Thank you very much.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay here so much .

Hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I am terribly afraid the word will get out, and I will never be able to find availability in the future, but, the word has to get out.... I have come to Amsterdam many times before, but I left loving the country after this trip.... There is a hotel out there, just five minutes beyond what I could call an average traveller's comfort zone (as far as the location is concerned), that offers you the best time away from home.... Amsterdam is a lovely city with so much, so much to offer, but I would never imagine wanting to run back to my hotel at the end of every day. They will make sure!!!! you will enjoy your time there.... And one word to the managers: I'm absolutely jealous of you. You have coworkers who do their jobs with genuine joy and passion as they run from one task to another.... Congratulations to you all..... Back to the review;) ultimately clean, well decorated rooms, common areas, patios, restaurant. Ahhhh, I absolutely loved De Hallen....

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have natural daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sevil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Sevil S,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It is with great pleasure I read you had such a pleasant stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel. I want to assure you the hotel manager and I are very proud of all of our team members! We will share your comments with them, as it serves as a great motivational tool.

For any future reservations, you can always contact me personally.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Lovely hotel and really helpful and friendly staff. Very lovely and interesting art work. The room was kept really clean as was the hotel. The location is really good, only a 20 minute walk into the centre, and far away enough not to feel crowded by all the tourists. There are plenty of nice bars and restaurants nearby. A unique experience staying in a converted tram station. Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carollolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Carollolla,

Thank you very much for your very positive review. The hotel opened only four months ago and every we do our utmost best to make every guest's stay as good as possible. Reading from your review we succeeded, and I feel very proud of our hotel, as well as of all the team members.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel was beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The Junior Suite room was spacious, light and had everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The restaurant and bar are expensive so I recommend asking the receptionists where they recommend eating out in the local area as we had some very nice meals out at a fraction of the price. The only suggestion for improvement is that there are no draws and few shelves, so there was not much room for your clothes. Apart from that, we had a wonderful time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have more natural light coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Jessica C,

Thank you very much for writing a 5 dot review!
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay so much with us, but I want to personally thank you for all the feedback given by you. The hotel opened less than 4 months ago, so this gives us the opportunity to improve every day. I will share your thoughts with my manager so we can see if we can find a better solution for this issue. Of course we always have more hangers available as well, of which we are more than happy to bring them up to your room.

For any future reservations, you can always contact me personally so I can help book the room to all your preferences.

Hope we are able to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My fiance and I went to Amsterdam for 4 nights in August. The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the main city centre, including the train station. Due to it being slightly outside, prices of restaurants and vars within the vicinity are slightly cheaper than that of the main stretch; including a delightful little ice cream shop just around the corner.

The hotel was beautiful and the staff we very helpful. The hotel is small too which creates a nice atmosphere. It has a restaurant too which we had lunch at one day (Bitterballen - recommended whilst in Amsterdam). The meal was very nice, a little expensive however Amsterdam is an expensive city in my opinion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (third) in what used to be the managers office (the hotel used to be a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieRose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear JamieRose91,

Thank you for your kind words. I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay here.
Indeed our hotel is located in a local up and coming neighbourhood which gives you the opportunity to look for better restaurants in a more quite area than the busy center.
Luckily the hotel is surrounded by six different tram lines, all within 5 minutes walking distance.

Hope we will see you soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in the superb Internet garden. The garden is situated above De Kas, our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing