We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a great hotel to stay at!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Hallen to your Saves list
Hotel De Hallen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overall, a great hotel to stay at!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

First of all, for us we found the Hotel de Hallen quite difficult to find on first arrival! It would have been useful if the hotel would post directions on their website :)

Anyway, once we found it we were very impressed with our welcome and the hotel as a whole :) The design and decor is very stylish!

We arrived a little early to check in but the lady on reception gave us an excellent map (which has been our lifeline for the whole trip!) and pointed out all the areas of interest in Amsterdam, which was very helpful for first timers like us. When we got back later on, our luggage had already been delivered to our room :)

We really enjoyed our stay, our room was very comfortable and the staff very helpful :) The only slight issue we had was that our room didn't have an outside window so was quite dark, so if that is a problem for you I would check your room allocation before you arrive, I imagine rooms with windows maybe slightly more expensive?

Overall a great hotel which was well worth finding! Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Samuels8687,

Thank you for taking the time writing your kind review.
We are glad you have found our hotel after some time struggling. The hotel is just three months old, so it is still a little bit hard to find on most GPS systems. I am sorry for the inconvenience in this matter.

If you would wish to return to our hotel for any future stays, I am more than happy to help you making your reservation personally. Our hotel accommodates different room types with windows looking outside as well, which will provide you with (more) natural daylight.

We are very proud you liked your stay so much and are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    77
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
172
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We kind of were the first costumers *proud*
The hotel was just opening, and we were happy to have found it.
The decoration's great, the staff is nice, the atmosphere quiet…
If I remember correctly the breakfast is a bit expensive but there are cafés around to eat in the morning :)
Overall, great experience, I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Lauren F,

Thank you for taking the time writing your kind review.
We hope we can welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just got back from an unplanned visit to this hotel! My friend and I had booked a 2 night stay at Hotel Vondel, where we were told we could have a free upgrade to a deluxe double room at their new hotel down the road, Hotel de Hallen. We were unsure but decided to go for it (and I'm so glad we did!) We were transported in a complimentary taxi to the hotel, which is a modern converted tram depot, and pulling up our hearts sank a little. Situated next to a huge building site, with an exterior that looks less than authentic 'Amsterdam,' I really wondered whether we had made the right choice. (Hotel Vondel is down a tiny street next to Vondel Park, so is hard to beat for European charm!)

HOWEVER...as soon as we walked in we realised how beautiful and contemporary this hotel was. The reception staff were the most helpful and friendly we had ever experienced, immediately pointing things out on maps for us and planning tours and attractions as we only had a short stay and experienced a delayed flight. The decor around the building was stunning, and the vibe of the hotel was great - we felt like VIP's. Our room was lovely, and after being drenched from thunderstorms the bathrobes and slippers were truly appreciated! I'd say the only thing missing from the room was a bit more natural daylight, but it really isn't possible because of the layout of the old building, and the conversion is the best it could possibly be.

The neighbourhood is a perfect location; far enough out to feel like you're living among the locals and avoiding tourist traps but close enough to central Amsterdam. Many attractions are walking distance, or the tram is close by if your feet need a rest. (We bought tram tickets from reception too) The bar and restaurant area is very inviting, with a nice terrace, although we decided to skip brekkie as it was rather pricey and we were on a budget.

To top off our wonderful stay, on our last night we were given a complimentary bottle of wine as my friend's birthday was a few days later. this was such a lovely surprise, as we hadn't mentioned to any staff about the occasion, they must have noticed from the passport and took the initiative. So thoughtful, and doubt it would have happened in any other hotel which we paid the same good-value-for-money room rate for.

It really feels like nothing is too much bother for the staff, they even printed out directions for us for our canal cruise. Every single member of staff was so friendly and kind, which I rarely find in hotels and restaurants.

Thanks once again for a wonderful stay in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Jadey21,

Thank you so much for writing your thorough review about our hotel.
We were very thankful to have you as our guests.
We really hope you had a wonderful birthday!
Next year you will come back to celebrate it with us?

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed 6 nights at this awesome hotel. From the moment I walked in - the felt right at home and so comfortable. The staff is wonderful and the hotel is just gorgeous. Its brand new and the entire place has just got a great vibe. The rooms were so comfortable! I arrived and there was a handwritten note along with a bouquet of white roses -- just because! The location is perfect as well. I would recommend renting bikes, and you are less than 10 minutes away from really everything. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone is wants a happy, relaxing stay in Amsterdam. I was so sad to leave. I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Anisa,

We appreciate the time you took to share your personal feedback regarding to your stay at Hotel De Hallen.

We kindly want to thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and we are very pleased that you have spent an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and our Hotel.

It will be an honour to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Mark Timo Jansen, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Me and my girlfriend were lucky to get a great offer for this outstanding design hotel through the App "Hotel Tonight". The room was great, we loved the design and would totally recommend this place to our friends! A perfect stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Jürgen M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your time with us!

Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to this city.

Kind regards,


Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and From the moment we arrived we were made to feel VIP. Beautiful first impression of hotel layout, facilities and staff.
Riding bikes from here is an absolute must, best and easiest way to see all of Amsterdam only takes 15 mins on bike to get everywhere. staff are so helpful with directions/ where to eat and will book any tourist tickets for you.
The hotel Was a little harder for us to find then it should of been, it has 2 large blue flags on the roof to look for and the restaurant name is remise47 which signs are more visible for.

Cannot wait to stay here again. This place and the amazing resturant food have been the absolute highlight of our travels.
Thank you Anneloes and the team!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Teal88,

It was such a please having you and Amanda as our guests in Hotel De Hallen.
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. As you travelled through the city, you have experienced Amsterdam as if you were locals.

May you return to Amsterdam, let me assure you our entire team is looking forward welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This newly completed hotel in a former tram depot is very comfortable and its staff obviously very proud of it. We had an upper room which was well ventilated with air conditioning - a godsend in the heatwave. Compact but well designed and and excellent Coco-Mat bed. Sadly not currently available in the UK... The location is a little off the beaten track - 40mins- an hour to the most central area but very handy for the western canal belt and Jordaan. Also, I imagine the museums of Museumplein. There is lots going on in the area about - unassuming bars that attract a young and lively late crowd within 10 mins walk. Interior design is very pleasant. Stay here while they still offer good deals!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Nick T,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing your kind review.
We are very proud you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much!
On behalf of the entire team of Hotel De Hallen we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in the superb Internet garden. The garden is situated above De Kas, our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, EasyToBook, Splendia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Hallen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.