We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel at an amazing city !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Hallen to your Saves list
Hotel De Hallen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel at an amazing city !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel de Hallen for 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful with a modern design. The building itself is historical. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. Our room had a safe, AC, hair dryer, etc. The bathroom was beautiful :) The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They explained everything and helped us out with our questions. The cookies at the reception desk were yummy. The hotel restaurant was very nice and good food. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is very close to the public transportation and not far from the city center. We rented bikes which I think its the best way to travel around the city. (with bicycles Dam square was about 10-15 min away) We would like to thank everybody who works at the hotel especially Fiona for welcoming us at the hotel. We are very glad that we stayed here and will definitely stay here again on our next trip. Thank you Hotel De Hallen and thank you Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Deniz,

thank you for your lovely review. We are just 3 months open now and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. It is great that you enjoyed our rooms, staff and location.

Greeting back from all staff especially Fiona :)

Hope to see you soon!

Mark Timo Jansen
Hotel Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
150
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great, new, modern, in a building that I thought was 300+ years old from the exterior. Friendly staff (really the entire city is friendly), posh rooms (but on the European size scale so not large). WiFi was adequately fast. Walk to City Center, Red Light, Jordan, Van Gogh Museum, Ann Frank House, etc. Rent a bike and see the city like a local!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Topgear45,
thank you for your kind words. We are very happy with your review. Great that you have tried our new bikes. Thank you for your stay and whenever you want to come back to Amsterdam please let us know!

Kind Regards,

Mark Timo Jansen
Hotel Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its design and the special introductory price (it has only been open a few weeks). The front of house manager welcomed us warmly on our arrival and throughout our stay we found the staff to be incredibly friendly, polite and helpful.

The hotel is housed in an old tram depot which makes it an unusual (and very cool) place to stay. The design throughout is fantastic, from the furniture in the public areas to the fixtures and fittings in the rooms. Rooms are well equipped with robes and slippers, flatscreen TV, Nespresso machines, tea-making facilities, air conditioning and all of the usual extras. One slight criticism would be that the shower wasn't particularly powerful and as someone with very long hair, I found it difficult to rinse my shampoo out - not a big deal though!

Location - The hotel is around a 10 minute tram ride from the more central areas of Amsterdam, but we found this to be a positive rather than a negative. There are a number of tram stops close by which make travelling to and from the hotel very easy.

Eating - We chose not to eat at the hotel during our stay as we wanted to try as many different places as possible in our 4 days, although we did have some drinks in the lovely courtyard. There are a huge variety of cafes and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel; Spaghetteria on Jan Hanzenstraat is excellent for dinner and we enjoyed fabulous morning coffee and pastries at Lot Sixty One on the corner of Kinkerstraat and Bilderdijikkade.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room in order to have a little extra space. Although the room looked out onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review.
I am proud to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will definitely share your great comments with my team members!
Let me reassure you we have taken a look at the water pressure, and our technical department has solved this issue. Once more thank you for sharing, so the next guest will not encounter the same problem.

Hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

it is brand new hotel built based on the depot for tram building (if im not mistaken)

The design of the hotel and room are great. using like IKEA stuff.

upon arrival, greet by the staff and very helpful. breakfast is simple.

there is no outdoor landscape. part of the building is still under construction.

within walking distance to nearest tram

Room Tip: baware that all rooms are open concept by using glass. only curtain can conceal the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Syazmi S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.
We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us.
For any future stays in Amsterdam, I am more than happy to help you with making a reservation, as our hotel accommodates rooms with windows looking out as well.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at Hotel de Hallen for 2 nights. Parking when booking through certain websites is misleading if you are under any illusion that its free - there is a 25 euro charge per day. The hotel staff were really lovely - knowledgeable on the city and really keen to assist in any way. We had a ground floor room with a 'courtyard' view, not that I saw any signs of a courtyard. There was however a hotel corridor running at the back of the room which if you left the floor to ceiling curtains open the people could see straight in to the room! It was also quite noisy if someone was walking down it with luggage or heels. Overall though it is a really modern and contemporary hotel which is clean and well situated. As for Amsterdam this is an AMAZING city and if you havent been you really should!!!

Room Tip: Go for first floor as less noise and not overlooked by corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Billy1602,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing your review about our hotel.
Indeed our hotel has a parking garage, which has a fee of 25 euros per night. However if you park your car outside of the hotel you have to pay more (around 27 euros per 24 hours) and of course it is less secured.
The hotel accommodates different room types. The hotel room during your stay was allocated at the ground floor, and it is a so called indoor room. At the first floor all the rooms have carpet. As well the hotel has rooms with windows looking outside. This might improve your experience in Hotel De Hallen.
Might you consider making any future reservations at our hotel, I would be delighted to help you personally.

Hope you will visit the lovely city of Amsterdam again soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A great surprise during our stay in Amsterdam, all the ingredients to ensure a great moment : warm welcome from the staff, a very large choice for breakfast , a well furnished and designed rooms and all that in a quiet place close to the tram

Room Tip: higher floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mrs hamptons26,

Thank you so much for your very nice review. I will share your kind words with my team, as it motivates all of us very much.

Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager - Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The former tram remise in the brand new Hallen district will be turned into a new creative complex with TV studio's, new craftsmen, fashion designers, an arthouse cinema and several restaurants. The hotel already opened its doors. De Hallen is a warm and stylish hotel, with great architectural details, a Scandinavian inspired interior, compact rooms and a very friendly staff. The hotel is part of the small boutique hotel chain Vondel Hotels. Perfect for a business trip or young couples who want to explore the upcoming West area, with great bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Vincent,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel.
Our hotel is located in an up and coming neighbourhood and we are a part of a big complex De Hallen. In just a few weeks all the outlets you mentioned will open their doors as well. This will certainly give our guests the opportunity to enjoy the neighbourhood even more.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager - Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in the superb Internet garden. The garden is situated above De Kas, our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Splendia, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Hallen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.