We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing city and a very pleasant new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Hallen to your Saves list
Hotel De Hallen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing city and a very pleasant new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at Hotel de Hallen for 2 nights. Parking when booking through certain websites is misleading if you are under any illusion that its free - there is a 25 euro charge per day. The hotel staff were really lovely - knowledgeable on the city and really keen to assist in any way. We had a ground floor room with a 'courtyard' view, not that I saw any signs of a courtyard. There was however a hotel corridor running at the back of the room which if you left the floor to ceiling curtains open the people could see straight in to the room! It was also quite noisy if someone was walking down it with luggage or heels. Overall though it is a really modern and contemporary hotel which is clean and well situated. As for Amsterdam this is an AMAZING city and if you havent been you really should!!!

Room Tip: Go for first floor as less noise and not overlooked by corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Billy1602,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing your review about our hotel.
Indeed our hotel has a parking garage, which has a fee of 25 euros per night. However if you park your car outside of the hotel you have to pay more (around 27 euros per 24 hours) and of course it is less secured.
The hotel accommodates different room types. The hotel room during your stay was allocated at the ground floor, and it is a so called indoor room. At the first floor all the rooms have carpet. As well the hotel has rooms with windows looking outside. This might improve your experience in Hotel De Hallen.
Might you consider making any future reservations at our hotel, I would be delighted to help you personally.

Hope you will visit the lovely city of Amsterdam again soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    47
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
104
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A great surprise during our stay in Amsterdam, all the ingredients to ensure a great moment : warm welcome from the staff, a very large choice for breakfast , a well furnished and designed rooms and all that in a quiet place close to the tram

Room Tip: higher floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mrs hamptons26,

Thank you so much for your very nice review. I will share your kind words with my team, as it motivates all of us very much.

Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager - Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The former tram remise in the brand new Hallen district will be turned into a new creative complex with TV studio's, new craftsmen, fashion designers, an arthouse cinema and several restaurants. The hotel already opened its doors. De Hallen is a warm and stylish hotel, with great architectural details, a Scandinavian inspired interior, compact rooms and a very friendly staff. The hotel is part of the small boutique hotel chain Vondel Hotels. Perfect for a business trip or young couples who want to explore the upcoming West area, with great bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Vincent,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel.
Our hotel is located in an up and coming neighbourhood and we are a part of a big complex De Hallen. In just a few weeks all the outlets you mentioned will open their doors as well. This will certainly give our guests the opportunity to enjoy the neighbourhood even more.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager - Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for my husbands birthday it is a gorgeous place , cool, stylist and clean . The staff are so friendly and helpful , the atmosphere is easy going and friendly room was a amazing !! Worth every penny can't wait to go back :) we had 2 nights in a suite on the 3rd floor the room was large, bright and perfectly clean everything we could of asked for, room service was prompt and staff where wonderful We loved this place

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Lspil,

Thank you very much for your great compliments! It was a pleasure having you in our hotel. I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed the first time in this hotel, an employee had chosen it and I thought, it can't be great with the price they were charging, so I went there in a mood of no expectation. And then: wow, wow, wow.
Friendly greeting at the front desk and a very warm welcome, as if I would have stayed there already a thousand times, a helpful guy with the luggage, very attentive waiters in the evening, very attentive waiter for breakfast and a very nice staff when checking out.
I have to say, I was so astonished that I looked up in the internet to which group this hotel belongs or who the owner is and then I saw: Vondelhotels - and I have to say, my second beloved hotel from a feeling-home perspective is the Roemer hotel and it's the same group.
Obviously the staff has been trained extremely well and the best thing about is, everybody treated us as if it comes from the heart and not because it's a direction from the management. Thank you!

Only disadvantage: you can't open the windows of the rooms. So the hotel is close to perfection from my point of view. 5 star hotels should send their staff and let them stay there one night to see what good service means.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the Junior Suites and there you can open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Andreas,

Thank you very much for your great words and thank you very much for choosing our hotel! I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.
I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Mark TImo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our check-in was done professionally by Joyce, who took her time to explain where everything was in the hotel and around the neighborhood. This certainly gave a great first impression. Our room was on the ground floor and pretty small but nice/impressive at first glance, although it lacked natural light.
Once we started to experience the space there were a number of points that stood out:
- Our use of the bathroom was crushed by the very low water pressure that came out of the shower. Awful.
- When trying to make use of the coffee machine placed on a shelf, the space to get to it was blocked by a huge heavy chair placed in front of it! There was minimal space to move the chair and when moved made an terrible skreeching sound on the concrete (and cold) floor.
- 3 capsules of coffee for two guests in a 150 euro room stands for a bad Dutch attitude & poor service
- we were woken in the morning by the loud slamming of doors echoing through the building

Room Tip: If you like modern design, something to talk about, good intensions, a concept driven idea & som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mrs. Bronwyn,

Thank you for sharing your experiences, your feedback is of the outmost important for me and for the team of Hotel De Hallen.

Thank you for your positive comments, it is great to read this because we just opened and are open for good ideas and improvements.

Next time please inform our Front Desk directly so we can make your stay even more comfortable. We will check our shower pressure because it should be a nice rain shower. We provide standard 3 nespresso coffee capsules per day but if you need more we are very happy to bring this to your room.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the unusual, stylish and new Hotel De Hallen. The room was very comfortable and quiet with a huge bed. Special thanks to the staff who were beyond helpful and recommended us some local attractions that were not in our tour guides.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Roma-Time,

Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel De Hallen. I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.

I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in the superb Internet garden. The garden is situated above De Kas, our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Hallen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.