We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Hallen to your Saves list
Hotel De Hallen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was not easy to find the hotel.
It is situated on the side street.it took us almost one hour to get there from the train station on foot.
It is a lovely hotel..the bedroom is very stylish and the bed was comfortable.
Free wifi was a bonus.
The only snag is that on the second day, there was hardly anything left for hot breakfast, no bacon, no mushroom, although it was 9.45 am.
No body to offer us coffee or any drinks.
Apart from the slight niggle at breakfast, we had a pleasant stay.
Breakfast is 30 euro for two persons.

Room Tip: Free wifi and clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Kush,

Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel De Hallen! I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.

The location of Hotel De Hallen is very close to the Jordaan area. Tram 13 and 17 stops at the corner of the Hotel and is only 10 minutes from Central Station. By foot it should take around 30 minutes.

Thank you for your comment about the breakfast. A good learning point for us, please note including the breakfastprice we have ala carte items which you can choose and will be made freshly made by our kitchen.

I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Best regards,

Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    76
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
170
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were one of the first guests of the hotel. The hotel is build in an old tram depot and deels really special espacially with all the art. It looks like a museum. So much tot see. The Reception staff is really great and so kind. We had a room on the first floor. The views are not great because outside they are building, but the hotel itself is so Nice it die not bother US. The rooms are 4 stars feeling and Nice decorated. The hotel had a big terrace which is super. The location is close to the Jordaan and walking distance to all highlights! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Timootje,

It was great having you as one of the first guests in our new Hotel! I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendly and helpful service.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Scored a very good rate on jetsetter.com and stayed in this 1 month old hotel.

The hotel is centrally located and well connected to the Amsterdam's extensive public transportation network. The beds are comfy, the room simple yet stylish with all the basics included (TV, nespresso, toiletries and free wifi).

Apart from that, the view from our room was rather depressing, a big firefighter hose and the construction site of next door greeted us daily. Late checkout and loss of key cards all incur fees.
Don't bother paying €15 for breakfast as there are many other options nearby for a fraction of the price.

Overall, a pleasant stay. Recommended for young couples and urbanites.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Inflatedreality,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendly and helpful service.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen– Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I just finished a 2 night stay here with my boyfriend. We picked it bc of its location close to our friends and the facts that it was an old train station and it was new. We wanted something different and creative and Hotel De Hallen delivered.

Location: super easy to get to, there are two different trams within 5 mins walking. You can also just walk into the city centre or to jordaan, which was our fav place. We live in NYC so we are used to walking but everything was 10-30 mins away. Plus you really get to see a place by foot.

The area around the hotel has its ups and downs. It's in a quiet residential neighbourhood which was great. However they are soon a lot of construction on the area surrounding the hotel (adding a shopping centre etc) so that wasn't too pretty.

There is a market, shops and restaurants a few blocks away if you go left and a supermarket, nicer stores and restaurants if you go right. Either way you can't go wrong. (I'd reco Gary's Deli for coffee and bagels or American style pancakes on Sundays or Semhar for Ethiopian food and mango beer.)

The hotel:
Modern and simple with personality. There are some hints back to the train station aspect of the building. The rooms run along the sides of the building leaving the middle area wide open and bright with chairs and sitting areas. The ceiling is glass so the place is well lit and sunny.
There was a bar in the lobby and outside seating that was very busy since the weather was nice. There was also a dining room but we didn't eat there.
The people at the front desk were amazingly kind, thoughtful and helpful. Always smiling. Loved it!

The rooms:
We stayed on the ground level, which I usually wouldn't like but didn't mind. The floors were concrete (and cold) and there was a big window along the left wall of the room facing the walkway and a dining area. Blackout curtains made that a non-issue. The ceiling was high and that made the room feel a bit bigger but I think overall it was bigger than most of the hotels I've been to in Europe.

The room was very simple, modern and understated. Everything was open (closet had no doors etc) and the bathroom was mostly glass with an awesome rain shower and huge tub. There is not a lot of privacy though, so if you're not comfortable with someone else overhearing you doing your business or being in the bathroom while you're in the shower you're going to have to work something out.
The beds were two singles pushed together witch separate blankets which worked out for us, funny enough, because my boyfriend is notorious for stealing space and covers throughout the night. I slept very well here.
They also provided a robe, slippers and a rug in the bathroom which made up for the cold floor.

The Things That Need Improving:
- you can hear women's heels on the concrete often. It's not super loud or obnoxious but it's there. You can also sometimes here music from the middle area/lobby.
- you can sometimes hear the water from (I'm guessing) the person upstairs' tub draining. And a knocking sound from the hot water (again guessing) while we showered.
- the breakfast special they offered was €20 per person and we never ate there bc they didn't seem to have much. Gary's Deli and the small place right outside and left - I forget the name - they have good breakfast and soups though.

We will definitely be back and you should definitively check it out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Neeshababee,
,
Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel de Hallen.

Please note our breakfast is a combination of a buffet and items which you can choose from our breakfast menu which are prepared directly for you. If you did not pre order breakfast with your reservation we will offer you on check in a special discount.

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on the 13th may 2014. We walked from Central station which took us 30 mins but you can jump on a tram (number 13) for €2.80pp which takes approx 10 mins. Our first impressions of the hotel were "wow" the staff were extremely polite and attentive, the hotel had a wonderful ambiance about it. We were shown to our room which was beautiful, clean and finished to a high standard. The view wasn't great as they are building next door but you cannot hear a thing, due to two sets of windows.
The breakfast was €19.95 each which we thought was quite expensive so we ate elsewhere.
If your flight arrives early you can check your bags in at the hotel or at central station they have lockers in a secure area. Just ask at the information desk they'll point you in the right direction. This is charged at €5.10 for 24 hours which you have to pay by visa/maestro.
Overall our experience at the hotel de Hallen was an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Roxie,

Thank you very much for your great words about our new hotel. I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.

I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen– Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I spent three nights in this brand new hotel and i liked it. It was their first week and the place looked a bit like a building site with workmen coming and going and some of the shortfalls in the execution were evident and being repaired. Also the decoration was not finalized and the art work was still being hung up and installed while we were there. The rooms were very comfortable and well furnished with a comfortable bed and a nice rain shower in the open plan bathroom. I have to say that the rate i was quoted was excellent and it was a new experience for me to stay slightly out of the city center. Still it was not a long walk and you could get anywhere on foot within 15 - 20 minutes. otherwise plenty of public transport available. The staff were all very nice and friendly but they were still "getting it together" as many of them seemed new as well. I am sure once the hotel is finally finished and the staff have settled in, things will get up to speed. I am often in Amsterdam and will for sure return if the rate remains this competitive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Beste Ahmadsameh,

Thank you very much for your kind words and it was great that your stayed in the first week of our opening. We are very proud on our new hotel. I am great to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and our team.

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in the superb Internet garden. The garden is situated above De Kas, our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, EasyToBook, Splendia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Hallen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.