We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the no.1 slot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Johannes

Restaurant Johannes
Herengracht 413, 1017 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0206269503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,526 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deserves the no.1 slot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fabulous restuarant which has the simple concept of choosing 4,5,6 or 7 courses. They check if there is anything you don't like and then bring out course after course to surprise you. As well as the four courses we chose, there were plenty of amuse bouches and extra surprises. We went for the wine matching, which I would definitely recommend which included two whites, a red, a very generous measure of port, and two dessert wines!
We were two female friends, and there, but it is also a great restuarant for a special occasion too.
We had a g&t to start, two oysters each, the 4 course menu, and the matching wine menu and it came in at E110 each which I thought was thoroughly good value.
Can't recommend it enough.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    52
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went here on Sunday and had a fantastic time. We just went for the four course option although did opt for the optional cheese. Each course was perfectly cooked and delicious. We went for the paired wines and I was so glad we did, as they were fantastic as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good food but not 5 *.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food is new, innovativ and delicious. I felt like the wines were a hit for some of the courses but not really spot on for some others. You will not be dissapointed if you go here but its not 5 * all the way yet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Agree - the reviews got this one right. If you are into that high end of visual and textures and flavors of where food can go, this place is a treat. As with most such places, after you select how many courses, off you go with several amuse - each cleverly presented. The mains are also lovely - some were amazing, others very good. A few points I'd improve upon - the wine list is small and old world oriented with modest selections - few gems. Second - some courses have very long times in between them - which can be fine but somewhere after about 2.5 hours it can feel a bit long to be sitting even if you are enjoying. However - nearly all the wait staff were charming as is the setting and this one deserves a visit if you want to indulge in the very high end of Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I went here with a group of 8 colleagues to celebrate the ending of a big project. We read about this place and had high expectations, but we were still blown away by the food and the amazing wines. I suggest reading the other reviews.. I liked the fact that we had a table in the back, a bit separated from the rest of the restaurant, which gave us some privacy and, more importantly, the other guests some peace. Groups can be loud.. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Johannes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Johannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Johannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.