We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palace B&B to your Saves list
Palace B&B
Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Elma, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed at this centrally located B&B for 2 nights as part of our month long trip. Warm & welcoming hosts. Great to have a small refrigerator with our own breakfast to have whenever we were ready. We felt almost like locals with our own key to enter the building. We agree with the last review, the pictures on the websites are somewhat misleading. The place is very nice, but not as luxurious as it seems on their website.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

I think the owners of this b & b are very nice and welcoming. The location was great, easy to find and very close to beautiful canals. I only have two complaints. One, the front door is difficult to lock and unlock, and two, the pictures on the website are incredibly misleading. They show only one room, and the room we stayed in was nice, but looked NOTHING like what was shown on the website. The website makes it look very lush and expensive, and the room we stayed in just wasn't. It was good enough, very clean, but we just felt a little bit tricked.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Feeling tricked
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want the room shown on the website, ask for it specifically.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

We loved the Palace B&B. The rooms were big, clean and we loved the decor. There was a bedroom, living area and the bathroom. Rudy (owner) was exceptionally nice and we enjoyed having the refrigerator in our room with breakfast each morning. There was always yogurt, cheese, coffee, tea, bread, cereal, orange juice and bottled water availalbe. We were able to lounge and relax rather than have to run out to get something to eat and drink like at traditional hotels. We were very comfortable watching television and sitting on the couch unwind. One night we brought back dinner and sat and ate at the dining table and were glad to have all of the dishes and silverware available. The location was great, right down the street from many restaurants and next door to an internet cafe (where we had coffee and checked out emails). Our room was right next to a small indoor garden that was beautiful. We didnt hear any of the other guests and felt like we were the only people in the building...very intimate and private. My husband and I would highly recommend the Palace B&B and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford uk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

Having checked out numerous bed and breakfasts in Amsterdam one has to say the website for the "THE PALACE" is truly indicative of what we found,namely a well presented accomodation in a superb location very close to all the places the average tourist is going to want to get to.Having arrived at Centraal station from the airport,a no nonsense trip on a fast clean express at 4 euro each,we looked round for the ticket machine for the tram but the attendant in the kiosk seemed quite happy to advise that we could walk along to Spuistraat in only a few minutes and it wasn"t worth wasting the coins.She was right because in less than 10 minutes we were stood outside The palace b and b.
One has to say the top end of the street is not as attractive as the lower end ,with the premises nearer the lower end.There are numerous local restaurants nearby with varied price menus with quite interesting dishes on offer.
With the pair of us just coming off the back of flu we were glad of a place where we could come back to at whatever time suited us and feel like we were at home,the suite we had had loads of room and we never felt like we"d trapped ourselves in a nondescript hotel room...the tv picked up enough english speaking programmes to prevent us throwing ourselves under the trams!
We were more than happy with the food arrangements with there being plenty of cold meat/cheese/jams and tea /coffee etc to keep us going.
we both commented on the comfy bed which took us into the morning and the hot powerful shower which blew us down the stairs to face the days trekking.
we were near enough to stroll casually to Anne Frank Huis in less than 10 minutes and the red light district 10 mins in the other direction...yes we only went for a look!Doesn"t everybody??
Overall we were completely happy and provided we get there next time in a fitter state to tackle the stairs that you must go up to get to the second floor suite,we will book to stay with rudy and georges again...thanks chaps..well done!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

My family stayed for just two nights at the Palace B&B and loved it. The location was perfect, tucked just behind the Royal Palace. The owners, Rudy and Georges, were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms have been freshly renovated and the décor is marvelous. I wont attach any of my photos because the ones on their website are accurate and better than mine (----). I also liked how they arranged breakfast: we had fresh juice, milk, cheese, and ham waiting for us in fridge located in the room. Freshly sealed granola, bread and pastries were given to us or set out the night before. All of the food was of high quality, the bread tasted like it was home-made—this was not a breakfast of icky, industrialized food wrapped in plastic like I grew up on in the States. This arrangement meant we could wake up anytime we wanted and have a tasty, healthy breakfast in the room before setting off for the day. If I go back to Amsterdam I plan on staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace B&B

Address: Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is a minute's walk from the Royal Palace at Dam Square. The rooms on the upper floors have magnificent views of the palace and the skyline of this wonderful old city. You are in the heart of Amsterdam. This bed and breakfast has beautiful rooms and suites with high ceilings and very big windows. You can gaze at all the dynamism of the city from the vantage point of your suite and enjoy Amsterdam's changing scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palace B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.