We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great handy accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palace B&B to your Saves list
Palace B&B
Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Auckland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great handy accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by Rudy. He then managed to carry both our suitcases up a very steep stair way to our room. Room was spacious and well appointed. We enjoyed generous breakfasts and food was fresh and replaced daily. We found the location very handy, we walked everywhere easily and found a great variety of dinner outlets on Spuistraat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was the 4th time we stayed in Palace B&B in the past 8 years… we stayed for 7 nights. Breakfast is available anytime of the day… the food is left in our room so we could eat at our convenience. The refrigerator in the room is refilled daily… the room has bread toaster, micro-wave oven, coffee maker.
WIFI is available for free.
Room is very spacious. Bed is good… we slept very well.
Location is the best! It is very near the Palace and Dam Square. Good restaurants around the area.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Get room fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palace B&B for three nights at the end of July 2012. It was our first place to stay on our 8 week trip through Europe, and we could not have been happier! We arrived there quite early after a very long flight from Australia, and were greeted so warmly by Rudy, and only after a few minutes wait (in which we were kindly given a drink) we were shown to our room. We had booked the large room at the front and it was wonderful! And much bigger than I had expected! Rudy was a wonderful host and we very much appreciated his explanation of the city, the maps he had prepared and also all of the breakfast provisions that were left for us. We never went hungry at all!

The bed was very comfortable, in fact on our first day we were quite tired after the flight and went to have a quick nap around 1pm, and woke up at 11.30pm! We didn't hear a thing and were so comfortable.

The lounge room is large and very comfortable and looks over the street. We didn't find it at all noisy, but we also don't mind hearing the odd car or people talking etc.

The bathroom is small, but fine.

The location is fantastic, so close to everything. My husband and I walked everywhere...and I mean everywhere!

We really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and I am so glad that we stayed at the Palace B&B. It really was the best start to our wonderful holiday. I would highly recommend staying here, Rudy was amazing (even posted my postcards for us!) and we loved the visits we had from Barney the cat.

Thank you Rudy! (And thank you to your wife too, who's name escapes me!)

Room Tip: Choose the front room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in B&B last week in the suite (larger room). Plenty of space in the room and the breakfast is good; plenty of food in your fridge. Rudy was very polite and assisted immensely.
Would certainly try and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's cozy place to me. I stayed 7 nights for conference in Sep. 2012. Nice location to reach Dam square, took about 5 mins by walk. The host Ruby is very friendly, introduced us about the city of Amsterdam. He prepared several different breads for breakfast. He was impressed me a lot to prepare the instant noodles & Starbucks coffee. The room is clear, comfortable bed. One or 2 nights in Sat or Sun, I heard noise from the street, but it's weekend. And I will stay here again for next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is awesome IF you have the larger front room. However, if you get the back "garden" room you will still be well taken care of by Rudy, the host with the most. He was so nice, but not overtly...checking in with my husband and I as we came and went on our 4 days in Amsterdam. The room is darker, but well decorated. The bathroom is a bit awkward, with the toilet a step up from the floor. The kitchenette had everything we needed to make ourselves at home with frig, microwave, coffee pot. And the bed was comfy with a firm mattress, just the way we like it. All in all we would stay there again for the great central location but we would definitely ask for the front room.

Room Tip: Ask for larger front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Palace B&B in May 2012 which was great and close to Dam Square. As check-in was at 2 p.m., the owner, Ruby, accommodated our early arrival at 8:30 a.m. and allowed us to leave our luggage behind so that we could head out for the day. We were also able to freshen up. Before we set off, Ruby gave us an introduction to Amsterdam. He had a map ready for us to take, asked what we were planning to do, and explained where the sites were in relation to the inn along with other useful pieces of information. Everything we had planned to do was within a 20 minute walk at most. We were well served at this inn as fresh bread, deli meat, jams, and coffee. The breakfast stuff were brought to our room each evening for us to enjoy in the morning at our leisure. Wifi was available as well in the room. We were royally treated at this inn and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace B&B

Address: Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is a minute's walk from the Royal Palace at Dam Square. The rooms on the upper floors have magnificent views of the palace and the skyline of this wonderful old city. You are in the heart of Amsterdam. This bed and breakfast has beautiful rooms and suites with high ceilings and very big windows. You can gaze at all the dynamism of the city from the vantage point of your suite and enjoy Amsterdam's changing scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palace B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.