We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Treatment at the Palace B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Palace B&B to your Saves list
Palace B&B
Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Treatment at the Palace B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Palace B&B in May 2012 which was great and close to Dam Square. As check-in was at 2 p.m., the owner, Ruby, accommodated our early arrival at 8:30 a.m. and allowed us to leave our luggage behind so that we could head out for the day. We were also able to freshen up. Before we set off, Ruby gave us an introduction to Amsterdam. He had a map ready for us to take, asked what we were planning to do, and explained where the sites were in relation to the inn along with other useful pieces of information. Everything we had planned to do was within a 20 minute walk at most. We were well served at this inn as fresh bread, deli meat, jams, and coffee. The breakfast stuff were brought to our room each evening for us to enjoy in the morning at our leisure. Wifi was available as well in the room. We were royally treated at this inn and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
61
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Palace B&B for 3 nights in July 2012. Our experience was very positive:
- Rudy, the owner, and his staff were very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive;
- Location is fantastic (very near all the major sites while being nicely tucked away);
- Breakfasts were very good and I loved having the food left in our room so we could eat at our convenience;
- Cost (E119 per night) was reasonable by Amsterdam standards, although the city is on the pricey side generally
- Room was peaceful and cosy, with an excellent bed.

My only slight downside, which is why I haven't given 5 stars, is that we had the room at the back which was perfectly adequate, and very quiet, but was on the smallish and basic side.

Nevertheless, an excellent B&B and Amsterdam is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Would recommend to anyone for its excellent service and location. We stayed in the suite room, was like having your own apartment as it was very spacious and comfortable.
For sure would repeat this stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltaire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at Palace B&B. We had a gorgeous room, which had a separate sitting area where we had breakfast. It was great not to be restricted to times for breakfast, as food is brought up to the room the night before, so you can help yourself to what you want from the fridge etc in the room when you want. The suite was also decorated in a lovely style, and we felt the amount of space was great, especially when staying longer in Amsterdam than just one or two nights. Our hosts were also very friendly and recommended places to see and booked us a taxi when we had an early flight home. I would definitely stay here again. There are lots of bars, restaurants and coffee shops nearby, so is a great area to be in for a few days and nights out in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Palace B&B is a very nice place to stay, everything is clean, the room is very big and you find everything for a pleasent stay. The location is best to start a tour in the centre. A 2 minutes walk and you find the Dam square. Rudy is a very friendly and helpful person he took care of us and we felt very good beeing there.

Rudy Thank You for such a nice time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Here is an excellent place to stay in Amsterdam: the double suite room is very charming with modern decoration, well-equipped (Wifi, TV screen...). The room is wide, bright and clean. Services are excellent: Rudy and his team are very friendly and helpful. He perfectly speaks French and English. Generous breakfast is provided as well ;-)
B&B Palace is located near all major places: 2 minutes walking from Dam square, the Amsterdam Historic Museum, 5 minutes walking from the Bloemenmarkt (flower market), Rokin street (for shopping), Prinsenhof , Nieuwmarkt or Jordaan areas. By tram, it takes less than 10 minutes to be at the Van Gogh museum, the Riskmuseum or Vondelpark. If you have kids, it's time to go to the Nemo museum and the Artis (zoo). The B&B is on Spuistraat street with many restaurants (Indonesian, Dutch, Spanish...), shops, coffee-shops ... Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

It is a very nice and quiet place to stay. The room is very confortable, spacious, clean and well equipped.
Very well located, 2 minutes walk from Dam square. Near restaurants, tram, grocery store, flower market...
Our host, Rudy is very welcoming, friendly and helpfull if you need more informations on your visiting. Each day, he brings you everything you need, and even more, to make a delicious and copious breakfast.
I recommend this place to everybody...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace B&B

Address: Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is a minute's walk from the Royal Palace at Dam Square. The rooms on the upper floors have magnificent views of the palace and the skyline of this wonderful old city. You are in the heart of Amsterdam. This bed and breakfast has beautiful rooms and suites with high ceilings and very big windows. You can gaze at all the dynamism of the city from the vantage point of your suite and enjoy Amsterdam's changing scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.