We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Jordaan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Jordaan to your Saves list
B&B Jordaan
Anjeliersstraat 197, 1015 NG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Amsterdam (August 15, 2013), staying four nights at the B&B Jordaan, and it was a wonderful experience. I can't imagine accommodations being any better. It was centrally located - I am 77 and my wife 73 and we walked everywhere - with a tram and bus transportation, if desired, about 3 blocks away. The Anne Frank House is very close and numerous restaurants, pubs, etc. on every street. As a bonus, we were also served a BIG Holland breakfast every morning delivered to us in our room at the time we requested. Staff was so, so friendly, making us feel welcome from the moment we set foot inside. And, they were knowledgeable about the area and attractions in Amsterdam, giving us some good tips. If, or rather when, we return to Amsterdam, we will certainly stay here, if a room is available. A B&B is not a hotel; it is a like you are staying at a friend's or relative's house - giving you a warm, comfortable, homey feeling. We are from Austin, Texas, USA. Charlotte, the owner, was away on holiday with her family while we were there, but Saskia was a wonderful stand-in, and Marion did his best to help us feel welcome by providing some tips for getting around the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have only wonderful things to say about my stay at the b&b. My host Saskia was helpful, kind and lovely to talk to everyday. I was served really nice Dutch breakfast everyday and Saskia took care of my likes, dislikes and every need.

I was given the room upstairs that faces the road and it was a nice street view. The room and bed were very comfortable. There is a small dining table in the room and coffee, tea facilities. The dutch coffee was really nice and Saskia was kind enough to show me the brand so I could take some back home! Jordaan is a beautiful area and I would suggest anyone visiting Amsterdam to stay here because its away from the crowds and really gives a local feel. There are great places to eat less than a 5 minute walk from the b&b so the location is ideal.

When I visit Amsterdam, and I certainly will soon :) this is the accommodation I will book for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aanchal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Best location, quiet neigbourhood, great if you're travelling with kids. We stayed for 4 nights with 2 kids and good friends. Our hostess Saskia made it very comfortable for us. Always there if we needed something. The rooms are clean, cozy, very homey. We were served a very good variety of dutch breakfast everyday. Special thanks to Mario who immediately fixed the WIFI when we lost the connection :-) Thank you very much Saskia and Mario for being soooo good and nice to us during our entire stay. You're the best hostess and host. We will sure come back and stay with you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived for a weeklong excursion to Amsterdam and were really hoping for a cozy, feels-like-home type of experience, and we definitely got that with the B&B Jordaan! Charlotte put us in the ground floor garden room, which opens onto a little backyard garden, complete with a small table and chairs. If you're staying for more than a few days, do see if you can book the garden room! It gets a lovely amount of sun, is very quiet, and is positively beautiful in the warm season!
Every morning Charlotte brought us a delicious Dutch breakfast, which consisted of a rotating menu of sliced meats, cheeses, yogurt or a hard boiled egg, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a selection of breads. I must say, we never had breakfast anywhere else, and waking up every morning to the food was a real delight. We had a french press for coffee and a tea kettle for a tea that stayed in the room throughout our trip—the instant access really made it feel like home; having tea in the afternoon out in the garden was great!
Charlotte was beyond helpful—you couldn't ask for more, really. We told her we were foodies and she recited a long list of delicious local restaurants, then pointed them out on a map so we could find our way there. We were allowed use of the Amsterdam info books she kept on hand, and because we were kitchen adjacent, she even allowed us to keep some leftovers in the fridge. This is a place to stay when you want to feel at home!
Most importantly, at least for me, was what a lifesaver Charlotte was. I have a problem with my pelvic bones—specifically, my left sacroiliac joint falls out of place, causing one side of my body to be higher than the other, and resulting in constant pain. Unfortunately, after 3 days of a lot of walking in the wrong shoes, I threw out the joint worse than I have ever done before. I panicked about the ruin of my vacation, but my boyfriend smartly brought up the point that Charlotte had already told us if we had any medical problems, to go to her first. So we told her, and she immediately called her manual therapist (Chiropractor, for the Americans), who was unfortunately away on vacation. The office suggested sending me to some freshly graduated medical students, and Charlotte said absolutely not—I needed someone with experience. Within a day I had an appointment with the manual therapist who works on the Dutch National Ballet Company. I was fixed within a day, and I truly believe had I stayed anywhere else, I would have either been waiting in an emergency room for an entire day, or I would have just suffered through the trip in pain—never mind the 8-hour plan ride back home.
Charlotte saved my vacation!
Charlotte and her husband were on hand whenever we needed them—including when the wifi was briefly on the fritz; they of course fixed it right away.
We've already told Charlotte we will be back next year, and we plan on it. B&B Jordaan truly felt like home, and suffice it to say, it was very difficult for us to leave. The beds were incredibly comfortable; the room was cool, clean, and private; the neighborhood is a family neighborhood with lots of kids, nice antique shops, bakeries, restaurants, and local places—away from the hustle and bustle of the busier Amsterdam neighborhoods, but definitely within walking distance of everything you'd want to see.

Room Tip: The garden room, if you can! It's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Basically a great location and decent, quiet rooms but it is not a traditional B&B with common dining or living areas. We had issues with the showers since it is not in a separate stall, but open to the rest of the bathroom and the internet service was not great the first couple of days. Christine was very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Having images of the bathroom on the B&B website would have helped us make a better choice..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayashree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbjord, Owner at B&B Jordaan, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am sorry to read that this group of ladies are, beside positive an several issues, also a bit disappointed about their stay with us.

Our website says ‘We offer a Dutch Breakfast with local breads, cheeses, sausages (cold-cuts), jams, orange-juice etc. which will be served in the privacy of your room. This is possible because all rooms are spacious and have a private dining area. So no we do not have additional common areas for dining.

I am sorry to hear that they found the shower ‘an issue’. We chose to build ‘open’ showers 2008/ 09 because we find them pritty, we can keep them very clean and there are no high steps to get under the shower. (They are quite common in Holland.)

The ladies did tell me, after a day or so, that they could not connect to our WiFi in their room, therefore I tested it with my own tablet, which worked fine, so I helped them to adjust the settings of their tablet to go online and then it worked.

My name is Charlotte :),
I am host and owner of B&B Jordaan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just got back from a 7 night stay at the Bed & Breakfast Jordaan - Charlotte was a wonderful hostess, as was Dick, who replaced her during our first 4 day stint. Both of them were extremely helpful - the rooms which we had on both ends of our trip were bright and cheery! Breakfasts were creative and plentiful. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Amsterdam - area is charming, set back from the busier streets, but easy walking access to everywhere - felt extremely safe walking the streets at night. Thanks again, Charlotte and Dick, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoli304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just home from great 4-night stay at the B&BJordaan. Highly recommend it. Our garden view room was larger than most and looked out over blooming forsythia and a charming preschool playground. We appreciated having a table for breakfast and maps, books and computers. Charlotte delivered a bountiful breakfast each morning and also offered sightseeing tips and restaurant recommendations. She graciously provided a breakfast to go the morning we had to leave early for the airport. We generally seek out B&B's when traveling and would rank this one of our best-ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suepat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Jordaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Jordaan

Address: Anjeliersstraat 197, 1015 NG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B Inside the historical Jordaan area, downtown Amsterdam. We offer 2-3-4p rooms with en suite bathrooms, private coffee/tea facilities & free WiFi in a traditional building with a gable tile of 1663. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Jordaan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Jordaan Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Jordaan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing