We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Hostel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 80-I, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I suppose they are currently renovating the hotel since the entrance and the reception are a total mess and there are building materials and furniture everywhere. We arrived earlier so we left or luggage and returned later to check in. Although it was pouring with rain, we had to ring the bell for 10 minutes until the receptionist decided that we deserved to go inside. Only that he greeted us by saying that we should have patience and that he would attend to us in another 10 minutes. After 20 minutes he finally came to tell us that our room was not ready but he gave us the keys anyway. The room looked terrible and I'm glad that we only stayed for one night. The shared bathroom was really tiny and could have used more cleaning. I only reviewed this hotel as "Poor" instead of terrible because the tram stop was right in front of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreearr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Room aren't too bad. I stayed in a private double room with a shared bathroom. Size was fine, basin in the room for brushing of the teeth, pretty good location even tho Amsterdam is small everywhere is a good location. Receptionist was a good help!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bat shlomo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Ok so the hostel was a bit less than what I axpected but you how it's like when one person can change your feeling 180 degree? That was Manu the receptionist who minded all of our issue with smile and real wish to make us feel happy, he was also helpful with information. All of these are worth much more then money
Thank you Manu.

Helpful?
1 Thank naama233
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was one of the cheapest we found so we weren't expecting it to be 5-star however on arrival staff were very friendly. Room wasn't overly clean but we had fresh bed sheets which was all we needed. Shower was clean enough. Wifi worked everywhere and was free and fast. Only real criticism was the heat of the room and because of the balcony we couldn't leave to door open! But for the price we paid it was fine. It was noisey in the room but what do you expect in the centre of Amsterdam?! Great location and a lot more pleasant than expected so would definitely recommend to travellers!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollygp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Yes, the tram is directly outside, the floors need a good long vacuuming, and the rooms can get quite warm from the direct sun. But you have prime access to clubs, cafes, street markets, grocery stores, bars, museums, 5 euro feasts, souvenirs shops and, yes, the tram.
(the Princess offers a decent deal on bike rentals, as well)
For the floors, you bring flip flops; for the stuffiness, you open the widows; if you know you're not the type to start "Roughin' it" then the Princess is not for you. I had a good time and met fantastic people, had a place to sleep and store my backpack, and found the service helpful and friendly (Go Daniel! Go Mario!).
Hotel Princess is a one of a kind place that I would recommend to all who need to get out of their comfort zone and really experience the pure basics of travel so to experience a real good time.

Room Tip: Bring compact, minimal luggage- steep and narrow stairs all over the Netherlands and here, no except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel is in a good position and the staff is really nice, but that's it. The room was tiny, dirty, noisy, with no wi-fi (it worked just in the hall and probably at the first floor, I was on the top floor) and too hot. The common bathroom was also tiny and hot. Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippinkittin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Well it’s hard to put into words how incredibly awful this place is...........
Upon first arrival you think it looks all right from external elevations with grey brickwork an external balcony but that's as good as it gets !!! The entrance is like something from a certain female orientated building located in the centre of the Dam ! but lacks the same associated lure, instead your greeted by a door that’s got more bars than in it than an Alcatraz laundry room and a dim lit staircase that has a gradient something more associated with Everest than a staircase.
We checked in fairly easy although the local bonus tax was a little annoying considering the events that ensued.
When we had organised our group into rooms went to pass through the first door as was greeted by a smell which can only be described as extensive sewerage mixed with human flatulence and quickly swapped cards with second group before they realised and carried up to the next floor looking for a rope anchor point to climb to next floor.
Once we have found our room we were somewhat pleased the sheets looked cleanish upon first inspection and room had a balcony.
It wasn't until we started to delve deeper that we found stains that did not look from human origin and carpets that would have been better suited in a vehicle workshop that a hotel.
After spending a few nights there and meeting the local wildlife normally found within mattress…. We started to become accustom to the facilities and on many occasions found myself performing what can be only described as Spiderman like moves to have a shower this was mainly due to the poor drainage facilities which seemed to overflow under heavy use, and the thick layer of film once facility had flooded which resembled something like a skin like custard consistency. This was also coupled with doors that didn’t lock properly or whilst in there didn’t open and on many occasions found this quite funny to see how long it would take friends to get out of showers.
I regularly found random women staring at walls in room after various showers and toilet visits not knowing really why they was there and when questioned just said “Garbage”
All in all it was pretty awful and honestly would feel bad introducing a family of cockroaches to the Princess.
One positive is the location 10min walk to centre and a few nice local cafes to spend time at rather time spent at the Hotel.

Room Tip: One near the main door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0hnP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#250 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#217 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#229 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#271 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#200 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing