We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely don't worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Princess to your Saves list
Hotel Princess
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 80, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price!
Ranked #316 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leipzig, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“definitely don't worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel is in a good position and the staff is really nice, but that's it. The room was tiny, dirty, noisy, with no wi-fi (it worked just in the hall and probably at the first floor, I was on the top floor) and too hot. The common bathroom was also tiny and hot. Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    39
    30
    57
See reviews for
2
39
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Well it’s hard to put into words how incredibly awful this place is...........
Upon first arrival you think it looks all right from external elevations with grey brickwork an external balcony but that's as good as it gets !!! The entrance is like something from a certain female orientated building located in the centre of the Dam ! but lacks the same associated lure, instead your greeted by a door that’s got more bars than in it than an Alcatraz laundry room and a dim lit staircase that has a gradient something more associated with Everest than a staircase.
We checked in fairly easy although the local bonus tax was a little annoying considering the events that ensued.
When we had organised our group into rooms went to pass through the first door as was greeted by a smell which can only be described as extensive sewerage mixed with human flatulence and quickly swapped cards with second group before they realised and carried up to the next floor looking for a rope anchor point to climb to next floor.
Once we have found our room we were somewhat pleased the sheets looked cleanish upon first inspection and room had a balcony.
It wasn't until we started to delve deeper that we found stains that did not look from human origin and carpets that would have been better suited in a vehicle workshop that a hotel.
After spending a few nights there and meeting the local wildlife normally found within mattress…. We started to become accustom to the facilities and on many occasions found myself performing what can be only described as Spiderman like moves to have a shower this was mainly due to the poor drainage facilities which seemed to overflow under heavy use, and the thick layer of film once facility had flooded which resembled something like a skin like custard consistency. This was also coupled with doors that didn’t lock properly or whilst in there didn’t open and on many occasions found this quite funny to see how long it would take friends to get out of showers.
I regularly found random women staring at walls in room after various showers and toilet visits not knowing really why they was there and when questioned just said “Garbage”
All in all it was pretty awful and honestly would feel bad introducing a family of cockroaches to the Princess.
One positive is the location 10min walk to centre and a few nice local cafes to spend time at rather time spent at the Hotel.

Room Tip: One near the main door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at 'Hotel Princess' for 3 nights during June 2014, as part of a group of 11 lads on a stag weekend. It must be said that this is the WORST accomodation that I have ever had the displeasure to stay in.

From reading reviews, we weren't expecting a lot, but arriving to fresh pubes on one of the pillows is just a disgrace! In addition to this, the room had dirty, brown stained blankets, no hot water and was generally dirty.

The communal showers had a big clump of hair/pube rat for the duration of our stay. The toilet cubicle would have been a tight squeeze even for the borrowers and the toilet seat was hanging off!

Our group was spread across three rooms and one of the rooms had bed bugs found in the bed.

For anyone looking to book a trip to Amsterdam, I would advise that you spend a little more money and stay somewhere that at least understands basic hygeine!

.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Okay so we get to the princess and walk in go up the stairs what look like they have not seen a hoover ever. We enter our room first thing we see is what looks to me like a sperm stain on the carpet as well as what may have been pubic hair inside the bed i say this as they was little black curly hairs.We had a room with two bunk beds and out of the four blankets not one looked clean brown stains all over them.Not sure how often the showers are cleaned as you walk in the one of the showers there was a lump of hair in the corner and was there for the four days we was there to top it off one of our other party members found bugs in his bed.The location on the other hand was very good was around 10 minute walk to the first amsterdam square i would go back to amsterdam but never again will i go to the princess unless it was flattened and rebuilt and then flattened and rebuilt again just to make sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Returned today from a 3 day stay in the Princess and must say we had the time of our lives. If you don't mind a lack of sleep due to noise, a place dirtier than sleeping outside on a bench and fancy laughing until you explode, then The Princess is for you. We booked 3 rooms of 4 beds for a stag do, and was literally laughing our heads off at the state of the place, especially when one of the group pulled back their duvet to discover a pile of pubic hair that had been left there by the previous occupant. We also had a couple of incidents of bed bug bites and found it hilarious when we saw a few in one of the beds. You are told not to open the windows, but the place does get quite hot and has a funny smell so we opened them anyway. The safe is €3 and the wifi is fast and free. The shared bathrooms are pretty well kept but do run out of toilet rolls and hand wash quite quickly. I recommend showering in your flip flops just incase as the place is a dive. I wouldn't stay at The Princess ever again, but I'm glad we did it because it made our stay so funny and memorable. The best thing about the hostel is it's location, you are close to everything that Amsterdam has to offer. We had the most amazing time in the Dam and part of that is down to The Princess, so I salute you and say thanks and farewell.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

So, this hotel/hostel is not only located in a great location, with trams running straight to Amsterdam Centraal Station right outside the premises, but it is also very accommodating. I had originally planned to arrive at 2200, already quite a late time to check in, however due to an issue I was going to be arriving at later than 1am!! Luckily, Manu was on duty and he arranged for me to be buzzed in (happily I arrived just past midnight), and had my room key card ready to go and I was in bed within 3 minutes of stepping foot in the building. VERY VERY happy with the staff here, especially Manu - first real piece of good luck in The Netherlands.

Wifi is also relatively quick, and beds are comfy too :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

When i booked this hostel and read the bad comentaries, i thouth people was exagerate. But now, my firts day here, im really disapointeded. First of all the equipe is very rude and impolite. The scalators is a nightmare! It make u regret to have leave your house with a luggagge (it is really terrible). About the room, its dirty and have a bad smell. I have been in others hostel with the same price and is the first time that i see a so bad place like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Address: Overtoom 80, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Princess 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.