We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go spend your money elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Princess to your Saves list
Hotel Princess
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 80, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price!
Ranked #322 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Go spend your money elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

So I've been on a euro trip for two months now and this has got to be one of the all time lows for a hostel I've had the misfortune of booking in all my travels. The first impression of the staff is polite and helpful, but their ability to help you only goes so far. After my predetermined time was up, I asked a member of the staff if she could point me to the closest hostel, and she had no clue where they were at and said I was on my own. While she was there on the computer looking up stuff on the Internet..really?? The biggest ordeal with this hotel was cleanliness. It's not for the faint hearted since one floor has to share a single bathroom/shower that looks like it's never been cleaned ever. And there is the problem of BED BUGS!! I had bites covering my arms and legs by the second day. Heed this advice and stay clear of this hotel, it's not meant for any princess or human being for that matter

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    43
    31
    62
See reviews for
2
41
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shadrinsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

1. Это хостел в Амстердаме и этим для многих уже все будет сказано. На самом деле многое зависит когда забронируете и где поселят. Первый раз я забронил заранее за 350 руб. и поселили мя в комнату рядом с ресепшином - вот это было отличное впечатление. (второй раз забронил по факту за 1 день до заезда - 900 руб и поселили на третьем этаже - впечатление много хуже, не ловил ви- фи). 2. Хорошая гостинная с жк тв. 3. Приветливый персонал. Особенно когда в смене девушка. В целом цена/качества - хорошо, при условии бронирования заранее. It is hostel in amsterdam and if you booked your room less then 10€, you have good offer. Good meetings room with TV. Friendly staff.Оцениваю свое первое бронирование (во втором случае не ловил ви- фи и цена была завышена).

1. Комната маленькая. 4 кровати (двухьярусные) и место для двух человек. 2. Далековато (если пешком) до настоящего центра. Есть рядом площадь с множеством кафе, кофешопов и прочим. Но скажем до известного квартала идти не близко. Too small room. On 2 floor don't work wi-fi. At near you can find a lot of bars, coffeshops but it is really too far to red light district.

Room Tip: Бронировать заранее если цена меньше 10€ то норм. If price 10€ or less is it ok. Then you must res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Really horrible hotel. First of all, just as we arrived we discovered that they are no longer serving breakfast, but they didn't notify us about that. So we paid for 4 nights with breakfast and got no breakfast. On the other hand, the staff was horrible. Very impolite and not really caring about anything. If that's not enough, we got a bunkbed room when we had booked a double, and they didn't change it, plus it was quite dirty. Never coming back to that place. Such a disgusting place for a beautiful city...

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The horriblest hostel I've ever seen. The smell is insupportable, I had to cover my nose with a towel because I couldn't even breath. No place to put the luggage and no possibility to open the window. The most depressive place in Amsterdam. I won't be back there anymore.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived at the hotel , and got into our room to find we had been given a bunkbed room when we asked for a double. The staff are polite and the hotel was fully booked but they manage to find us a double room. THE STAIRS are steep, so if you can't walk up stairs don't go their. we were on the second floor and out of breathe by the time we got to our room. The hotel is clean , and if you just want a standard bed for the night is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Location is near Leidseplein Square which is a great place for youth. The hotel staff were friendly and so helpful. Tram is everywhere and noises from it can really disturb your sleep. Toilet and shower are found outside the room. Breakfast was free! Wifi is also free. No elevator and good luck if you are travelling with lots of luggages. A great price for backpakers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere really cheap and you're pretty easy going, then this place isn't too bad. Don't expect everything to be working or the rooms to be clean or you will be very disappointed. Our room stank when we arrived, the shared toilet basin was blocked, only one of the two showers worked, our window wouldn't close and it's a really noisy location. If you're travelling on a budget thought and you don't mind putting up with these things, then this place isn't bad. Personally, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room facing away form the main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Address: Overtoom 80, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Princess 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.