We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Hostel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 80-I, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheerness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

You really need a sense of humour here. Yes it may be everything previous reviewers have said, but it's bloody funny, and so is your host, Super Mario. And it's cheap. Just the job for backpackers. Not for me any more. Too many steep stairs for this old get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Asstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Pros: Cheap, central.

Cons: Dont expect a clean room, shared bathroom smells like death. Staff keeps coming in the room with no warning, at any hour, just checking that we're not smoking.

So i smoked on the little terrace, but even then he threatned with calling the police and have me arrested for smoking... CIGARETTES!! If you come to Amsterdam to have a good time, trust me, this is not the place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rass H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Some staff really great and helpful. Cleaning staff not doing their jobs. Breakfast included but u are charged 7.50 euros automatically. Location great. Within walking distance of everything and tram stops right out front

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A friend and i travelled to amsterdam to celebrate a friends 21st birthday and stayed in hotel princess for 3 nights. You enter the "hotel" through a steep staircase to reception where the guy on reception was quite friendly. We had to pay with cash because their card machine was broken? This was a bit of a nuisance. We then had to climb the dangerously steep staircase to the bedrooms. I booked a double room with 2 single beds and our room was by no means a double. It had a bunk bed right at the door as you walk in there was a desk a small t.v a sink and a mirror you would not want to be closterphobic because the room was so small. The bathroom was so small when you closed the door your knees were touching the door and the smell of urine in the toilet was awful. The showers were clean to be fair but there was no towels anywhere to be found. We were awoken one morning by a young guy just walking into our room. He simply had his key card for the door opened it and went to walk in when i sprung up from the top bunk he simply just apologised and walked back out saying he was in the wrong room! I think he was the cleaner we had seen the first day we arrived but i did not like someone to just freely walk into our room without knocking first. For the rest of our stay we felt quite unsafe. The location was very good but unfortunately this was the only positive i could point out. It is situated just around the corner from leidseplein which was great however all in all we did not enjoy our stay and i would not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

as long as you don't mind that the low cost of the hotel doesn't include that your room and the shared bathrooms get cleaned daily, it is a very fine hotel. and we didn't expect such a good breakfast for that price. we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#249 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#230 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#221 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#269 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#265 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#270 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing