We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Princess
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 80, Amsterdam 1054, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Sheerness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

You really need a sense of humour here. Yes it may be everything previous reviewers have said, but it's bloody funny, and so is your host, Super Mario. And it's cheap. Just the job for backpackers. Not for me any more. Too many steep stairs for this old get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    34
    30
    49
See reviews for
1
31
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asstown
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Pros: Cheap, central.

Cons: Dont expect a clean room, shared bathroom smells like death. Staff keeps coming in the room with no warning, at any hour, just checking that we're not smoking.

So i smoked on the little terrace, but even then he threatned with calling the police and have me arrested for smoking... CIGARETTES!! If you come to Amsterdam to have a good time, trust me, this is not the place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Some staff really great and helpful. Cleaning staff not doing their jobs. Breakfast included but u are charged 7.50 euros automatically. Location great. Within walking distance of everything and tram stops right out front

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A friend and i travelled to amsterdam to celebrate a friends 21st birthday and stayed in hotel princess for 3 nights. You enter the "hotel" through a steep staircase to reception where the guy on reception was quite friendly. We had to pay with cash because their card machine was broken? This was a bit of a nuisance. We then had to climb the dangerously steep staircase to the bedrooms. I booked a double room with 2 single beds and our room was by no means a double. It had a bunk bed right at the door as you walk in there was a desk a small t.v a sink and a mirror you would not want to be closterphobic because the room was so small. The bathroom was so small when you closed the door your knees were touching the door and the smell of urine in the toilet was awful. The showers were clean to be fair but there was no towels anywhere to be found. We were awoken one morning by a young guy just walking into our room. He simply had his key card for the door opened it and went to walk in when i sprung up from the top bunk he simply just apologised and walked back out saying he was in the wrong room! I think he was the cleaner we had seen the first day we arrived but i did not like someone to just freely walk into our room without knocking first. For the rest of our stay we felt quite unsafe. The location was very good but unfortunately this was the only positive i could point out. It is situated just around the corner from leidseplein which was great however all in all we did not enjoy our stay and i would not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

as long as you don't mind that the low cost of the hotel doesn't include that your room and the shared bathrooms get cleaned daily, it is a very fine hotel. and we didn't expect such a good breakfast for that price. we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Overtoom 80, Amsterdam 1054, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Princess 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.