We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Princess
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 80, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“you get what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

as long as you don't mind that the low cost of the hotel doesn't include that your room and the shared bathrooms get cleaned daily, it is a very fine hotel. and we didn't expect such a good breakfast for that price. we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    37
    35
    59
See reviews for
2
33
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room was filthy, filthy, filthy, and it smelled bad. I wasn't allowed to open the window to air out the room, because of "danger of breaking the window". The towels were also dirty.

The man in the reception was not very friendly. I guess he tried to be funny, but I felt like he was making a fool of us. The credit card -machine didn't work so I had to pay with cash, which screwed my travel budget.
The wireless internet connection didn't work. The toilet was out of paper when I needed to go and there wasn't anyone at the reception to give me toiletpaper.

I guess I wasn't "happy" enough to feel comfortable. The location next to Voondel park is good. I only stayed two nights.

I WILL NEVER COME AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have booked a room with twin bed but when we arrived we just find 3 separated ones - uncomfortable for a couple-

The room wasn't really clean, I found a sticky candy under our bed

There were no place to let our stuff, no storange

It wasn't convenient to get out of the room at night when we wanted to go to the restroom.

We did not know that we had to pay a 15 euros extra at our arrival.

Fortunately, the hotel has a good location, closed to the most famous museums and the vondelpark. It's also a good thing that the breakfast is included in the reservation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorgan, Iran
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a 4-bed room in Hotel Princess. It was a great experience with Karl and another Latin friend. The services were clean and comfort. each room has some small windows which opens into the street and had nice atmosphere. Toilet and showers were equipped and comfort. the reception and cafe are amazing and don't forget the Gouda cheese for breakfast...

Room Tip: don't miss the breakfast ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We caused some trouble for the staff, turning up hours early for check in and messing up our hotel booking and return tickets. They helped us out a lot. Rooms were really dirty and cold though. Good internet and facilities, shared shower and toilet were really clean which was a surprise after seeing our room. Downstairs was nice and clean, good dining room with comfortable chairs, breakfast was not so great; stale toast and cheap jam. I would suggest buying some cereal or pop tarts from one of the local shops. Great location, walking distance from everything, I would suggest the nearby Dolphin coffee shop as a good point to end your evenings and recommend the local brightly coloured yellow mushroom shop (can't miss it, there's pictures of Super Mario mushrooms everywhere). Over all a good stay and nice staff but some heating would of been nice in December and it needs a thorough spring clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Address: Overtoom 80, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Princess 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.