We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a first visit to Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay for a first visit to Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We'd never been to Amsterdam before and after doing a lot of googling I decided on this hotel as it seemed to be within easy reach of everywhere we wanted to visit and good value for half term week.

The first great thing I would say is that we expected to be getting trams everywhere but in fact we never got a single one! If you are a speedy walker like me and my boyf you will find you can walk pretty much everywhere in Amsterdam. If you like to stroll you'll probably be better on a tram, although Rembrandt Plein is really close for great food and drink (The Old Bell).

The Hotel has a big staff team and they are all very welcoming and speak good English. We arrived from the airport at about 10am and although check-in isn't until 2pm the guy on reception let us have our room straight away. Also note you have to pay city tax on arrival (ours was €9 for 4 nights).

Our room was on the 4th floor, right next to the lift (slowest lift in the world but makes hilarious noises) which is a welcome alternative to the steep wooden stairs - although we never really had any problems with noise in the room. Room 406 was quite small but perfect for our 4 night stay, with twin beds pushed together, a safe, tea and coffee making facilities, shower, plenty of storage and 3 mirrors! The only downside was that the hairdryer in the room was strange looking and difficult to use, I've added a picture 'cos I don't think my descriptions will do it justice - I recommend taking your own if you need to use it every day. Daily room service is a nice bonus, making the beds and leaving fresh towels, but unfortunately never cleaning the teacups and spoons.

Breakfast is GREAT, as a girl who likes their food I was not disappointed. Tuck in! YUM!

Another thing, we got a return train ticket but we did notice that the hotel does a shuttle to the airport for €12 which is VERY good.

Finally, we found a quite sizeable supermarket 5 mins away, across the bridge L out of hotel and under the right of the AEGON building sign :) they sell a 6 pack of Heineken for €3.60!! and snacks of course.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    222
    127
    47
    36
See reviews for
132
168
36
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We decided to go for a couple days in Amsterdam in the beginning of February, and looking for a hotel we found this good quality hotel for a very reasonable price. The hotel was in a nice area, about a 15 minute walk to both city centre (Rembrandt Square, Dam Square), 20 minutes walk to the Red Light District and around 15 minutes to the Van Gogh museum. For the lazier ones there is also 2 trams connecting the hotel to the centre!

Parking is available at the hotel, which is pretty much a luxury in the central Amsterdam area. It was for an additional fee of 25EUR per day. Sundays parking on the street is free though!

The room itself was basic, but nice. Comfy beds. Smaller bathrooms, but more than enough for a short break. We did have some problems with the heating, but it was fixed right away, when notified. The reception staff was always very helpful, when trying to find local information. They do serve breakfast at the hotel, but we never opted to it, decided to go to town instead.

All in all, was very happy with the whole stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Seasons Hotel is a brilliant bargain for a long weekend away.
Location: Slightly out of the city centre to the South East, this hotel is roughly a 20 minute walk into town with plenty of nice restaurants etc on the way in. Taxi wise it's about 10euro from the station. Quiet, clean area in walking distance of all the major museums etc.
Food: The price includes a decent breakfast with normal continental breakfast and complete with traditional toastie maker!
Staff: really friendly & professional.
Rooms: mega clean, if compact. Flat screen plasma tellies in each room, tea/coffee etc and warm rooms.
Downsides: only downside would be the alarm which went off each morning we were there for a few seconds, not sure what this was as wasn't a major problem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We visited Amsterdam during the extreem cold spell at the end of 2010 and booked this hotel at the last moment, getting a reasonable price. The club is handy for trams and a 10 mins walk from a Metro ststion.

Although we had searched for a hotel which offered free breakfast, and the hotel ad promised complimentary breakfast with all rooms, we were informed that our booking did not attract a free breakfast as we had got a special rate. Breakfast was 7.5 euros each. We found better breakfasts for slightly less at a local cafe as it happened. We subsiuently complained to booking.com and got a 25 euro rebate for 2 days. This may not be the hotels fault - never got to the bottom of it.

The stairs, in common I would imagine with most Amsterdam economy hotels, are very steep. There is however a lift. The rooms were basic yet comfortable. Tea coffee ( one sachet each per day mind) facillities in the room. We had a room at the back of the hotel which may have been smaller than those at the front. Good quality wall mounted TV had lots of international channels including BBC1 and worked very well. The bathroom was very small but the bath very large, deep and the plumbing worked very very well. All in all the bathroom, bath and nice complimentary smellies were of a high standard.

There is no free wifi. When we wanted to use the hotel internet for the min 30 mins at something like 2 or 3 euros to check our flights we were told that there were no "tickets" or "password tickets" for that amount. However there were tickets for larger periods of time - at a consumate larger cost. We asked the receptionist if they could check our flight status ( there was huge disruption due to snow) and after a token effort they declared they could not get on the Schippol website. It could well be that the password printer was problematic but even then the wifi / internet access was pricey. The receptionist on duty when we arrived was v friendly, however we never saw her again and there was a constant change of staff - some cheerfull and some less so. All had v good English.

The most contentious aspect of the hotel was that we are reasonably sure we had a bedbug in the sheets. We had no idea what bedbugs look like but on returning home googled them and are reasonably sure the little blighter we saw was a bed bug. Bit like a small apple seed, which moves about a bit.

However in summary the hotel was reasonably priced and reasonably comfortable. There are probably worse hotels out there, but due to the various however if staying in Amsterdam again Id try somewhere else....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Great location, right next to major Tram stop, easy to get everywhere in city by walking and/or tram, close to museums.

Nicely decorated, small but efficient room, fresh beds and bedding, big bathtub, good water pressure, big windows, good heating system, nice complementary coffee/tea service and bottle of wine! Supermarket is right next door if you need anything else.

Drawbacks: couldn't connect a call to our room????

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel is located quite central in Amsterdam, just 15 min walk to Rembrandt square. The tram-station is just outside and it's 15 min to the RAI-conference center or 10 min to Dam-square/ the city center. The street Standhouderskate is one of the main roads circling the city center and this is obvious during the week days due to high and noisy traffic. The hotel has about 45 rooms, and my collegues and I got the three rooms on the ground floor, directly facing the lobby. which means, everybody passes by, taking the wooden stairs or the elevator - not to mention the breakfast room which is also just besides the lobby.
The room had a big window with a sliding door, which could be opened completely or shut, but nothing in between - quite advanturous during the night if you want to sleep with an open window, because the room once was the entry hall of the side building (both buildings were put togehter for the hotel), so it had stairs down to the road just outside the window: an open invitation during the night?! I thought they were kidding me. The other rooms hat "normal" windows.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the small room was really clean and furnished quite modern with LCD-TV and many international channels. The bathroom was about 1 sqm big, but had a big shower, but the WC was in a corner so that only people with short legs could sit there comfortably. The WIFI internet is bookable for 2 euro/30 min. in the lobby you also could use the PC for the same price.

The breakfast was simple, with 3 types of white bread or croissant, scrambled or boiled eggs, soft coffey, 3 types of tetrapak juices, 2 types of packed jam and peanut butter, cheese, ham, salami and some vegetables. single prize for 9 euro if you don't book it with the room.

in summary: the prices of 130 euro for a double and 100 for a single (beginning of july) are way too high. maybe the rooms in the upper floors facing backwards are alright but you also could get the rooms in the basement!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

we found the hotel a good base to explore Amsterdam from although a little far out there was a tram stop at the end of the street the trams ran every 10 minutes so you never had to wait very long the rooms although basic were very clean with tea & coffee making facilities the bathroom was on the small side although again clean the breakfast room was bright and airy the food was plentiful the staff were polite we recommend you buy a 24/48hr travel pass that enables you to use the trams,buses and some boats unlimited for 7euro per day we found this good value,very efficiant and on time the train station from the hotel is approx 20mins.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.