We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for a short trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient for a short trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The room was really small but cosy. The walls seem paper thin. There was no sound insulation towards the hall and the elevator. It was such an inconvenience to hear loud neighbours in the hall in the middle of the night. Hotel staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast was always busy, good selection but neither bacon nor sausages on the menu. Still the selection was good. The hotel location is good, away from comotion yet easily accessible by tram 4 from the central station. Walkable distance to the museum district and the Heineken Experience.
The hotel is ok for a short stay but perhaps not for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    216
    124
    47
    34
See reviews for
127
164
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed in this location when I visited Amsterdam for Ajax-PSV game in January 2014. The main reason I picked this hotel was the location, walking distance to main train station and many attraction points. Even though the weather was cold, it didn't bother me to walk to Dam Square or even further. If you are looking for a modern, clean hotel which has nice location and not so expensive, I can recommend you this location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I’ve stayed in IBIS hotels before and this one met my expectations. When we got there, we knew we couldn’t check in for another hour so sat and had free cups of coffee, free water, and used the complimentary WIFI whilst all of the lads met.

There was a big group of us, and we were split over 4 rooms, 3 rooms of 3, and 1 larger room of 4. We didn’t check in until later that evening as we wanted to have a look around Amsterdam, and make the most of our time there.

Location – quite central, within walking distance of the main squares, and the train station. Please note that this walking distance is 30 minutes, but you can easily walk it, and stop off in the different bars and cafes on the way.

Rooms – the rooms were nice, we were upgraded from one of our 3 rooms to another 4 so we had plenty of space. The bathrooms were clean, and the beds were comfy. As already stated, we had 4 rooms at the hotel, and even though they were all booked together all the rooms were on different floors. Not that it mattered too much though, it was only a place to get a quick shower, change before heading out again.

A tip for you if you are staying here though is to take one of their business cards from the front desk. If you are planning on getting a taxi back later on, the taxi driver may take you to the wrong IBIS. There are at least 3 IBIS hotels in Amsterdam so it is easy for you to end up in the wrong place.

Summary – Nice hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I and my partner stayed at this hotel for 5nights.Staff at reception were very helpful,talkative and polite.If you need an advice-just ask-they always help.Great location -2min walk to tram stop,20-25-to city center.Most of museums at the same street-just walking distance.Room is quite big and enough for two,bed was huge and comfortable!Room very clean and warm-you can put hitting on when would you like!Breakfast was ok for as but will be nice to have full choice with cooked Breakfast -not just Toast and Scrambled Egg(I am talking about hot choice)Next to reception you have lounge where you can relax with cup of coffee or glass off water.Internet available in hotel as well.Just on hotels corn is shop Lidl and alot or restaurants where to eat.From airport just take train to Amsterdam train station.The tickets cost 18euros both ways for two persons.If you buy on machine you are going safe 0.50 per one ticket one way..Tram number is 4 goes from train station and stop will be Stadhoudeskade-the same street name.One hour ticket for tram cost 2.80 for one person .In that case we used our Holland pass which I strongly recommend for everyone!You are going safe about 50 euros per person.We used Canal bus-Hop on hop off(24 hours)Really good and relaxing.Went to Keukenhof ,Reypenar Cheese Tasting Rooms and used Hop on Hop off Amsterdam by bus (24hours)Do not forget visit Flower Market-really nice to see and buy some tulips,Amaryllis bulbs and take home.Just one thing-be ready for whether changes-one day was 18 degrees another day just 8degrees and rain!That be ready!

Room Tip: Rooms next to lift very noisy.It is not a lift but people coming back at night or going morning to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family and I arrived at the hotel with our booking confirmation in hand, but we were surprised by the information that our reservation had been canceled and that our rooms had not been reserved. Immediately we consulted our emails and there was no communication about the cancellation. This led us enormous grief and misfortune. We lost a lot of time to solve the problem. We had booked two nights in three double rooms, but in the end was only available a quad room and a double room in this hotel, and for only one night. With that, we had to sleep two couples together and another couple in a separate room. The next day, it took us lot of time packing up and leaving in search of another hotel. Luckily, we got another relatively close and for a similar price, the Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, which I highly recommend. All the stress and all the loss of time, definitely marked the journey and therefore do not recommend the Ibis Amsterdam City Styles. Although the error was probably by the central reservation, the hotel attendants could have contacted the central and solved the problem, allocated us in another hotel of the same Ibis or Accor group, or in another room category, or anything else that would minimally outweigh their exclusive mistake. The item "cleanliness" was poorly evaluated because, as we move one of the beds, there was a lot of dirt underneath it, like a pack of candies and a sock (!), indicating that the room is not cleaned properly. Finally, to be fair, the breakfast is very good, really excellent, with enough variety of food. And the breakfast attendant is the only reason the question "service" have not received the minimum score, because she was very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I wasn't expecting much comfort at a hotel this affordable in Amsterdam. And I was proven wrong. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was decent. The room was small but clean. The location was really close to the Hermitage Museum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great hotel and location,staff friendly,rooms clean and comfortable,good breakfast was included,
Well worth the money,definitely go back.Tram and bus station 1 minute walk ,plenty of bars and
Restaurants readily available in the immediate area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.