We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge headache!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #199 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Huge headache!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family and I arrived at the hotel with our booking confirmation in hand, but we were surprised by the information that our reservation had been canceled and that our rooms had not been reserved. Immediately we consulted our emails and there was no communication about the cancellation. This led us enormous grief and misfortune. We lost a lot of time to solve the problem. We had booked two nights in three double rooms, but in the end was only available a quad room and a double room in this hotel, and for only one night. With that, we had to sleep two couples together and another couple in a separate room. The next day, it took us lot of time packing up and leaving in search of another hotel. Luckily, we got another relatively close and for a similar price, the Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, which I highly recommend. All the stress and all the loss of time, definitely marked the journey and therefore do not recommend the Ibis Amsterdam City Styles. Although the error was probably by the central reservation, the hotel attendants could have contacted the central and solved the problem, allocated us in another hotel of the same Ibis or Accor group, or in another room category, or anything else that would minimally outweigh their exclusive mistake. The item "cleanliness" was poorly evaluated because, as we move one of the beds, there was a lot of dirt underneath it, like a pack of candies and a sock (!), indicating that the room is not cleaned properly. Finally, to be fair, the breakfast is very good, really excellent, with enough variety of food. And the breakfast attendant is the only reason the question "service" have not received the minimum score, because she was very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    261
    147
    56
    41
See reviews for
149
201
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I wasn't expecting much comfort at a hotel this affordable in Amsterdam. And I was proven wrong. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was decent. The room was small but clean. The location was really close to the Hermitage Museum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great hotel and location,staff friendly,rooms clean and comfortable,good breakfast was included,
Well worth the money,definitely go back.Tram and bus station 1 minute walk ,plenty of bars and
Restaurants readily available in the immediate area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel will always get mixed reviews, however the staff make this hotel they where always chatty and for once especially reception had a sense of humour which is hard to find these days. The rooms are on the small size we had a three bedroom which is ok for short stays but probably not for long stays.Nice continental breakfast which was most enjoyable,which keeps you going for the start of the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Hotel was as described, room was comfy and well presented.
Staff at the hotel were helpful and polite. Location was a short walk from the main centre.
I had read reviews that the hotel was noisy however this is not something we experienced. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good. - Hotel is located in the heart of the city, well connected

What didn't worked well - small rooms with very small bed, as u come out of lift u see hotel rooms all across very closely located to each other

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.