We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brouwerij 't IJ

Brouwerij 't IJ
Funenkade 7, 1016 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6228325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 166 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Breweries, Bars
Attraction details
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent beer! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a few Friday afternoon beers here in the sun, an excellent place in a nice setting. Be careful though, too many of the stronger beers and you feel a little wobbly. Random point, very high urinal in the gents! If yoy are below 5ft 8, good luck to you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    111
    27
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hey Americans, get your IPA here in this windmill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Brouwerij ' IJ is great enough anyway, but for my fellow hops-loving Americans, this could be your Amsterdam paradise, as an IPA is one of their offerings. They don't have it on tap every time, but it's worth a try if you happen to be there when it's available. I went here a few times and one of the times the windmill was even turning!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top notch beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have no problem saying that the 4-5 beers that I tried I would rank pretty much all in my top 10 all time. Went here 2 out of 4 nights we were in Amsterdam, and depending on when we get off the train or plane next time this will be my first stop. Great setting, great beer and for the amount of people there the service was more then fine. Get there early because they tend to close early.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beer lover's paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Amazing brewery pub inside a windmill. Wifi is dodgy, but free. Great selection of their beers in both the bottle and on draft. English-speaking staff. Loads of places to sit inside and out. They close at 8, so get there earlier. Two tours of the brewery a day in the afternoon. Not much in the way of food apart from a few snacks, but De Biertuin just a few blocks away has killer food once you shut this place down. :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've been here almost every time that I've gone to Amsterdam. It's a personal favourite. The beers are so so good, and even the delicious bar snacks are worth going for, like the rare sausage and sheep's cheese. We also loved the way that the walls are lined with beer bottles from around the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brouwerij 't IJ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brouwerij 't IJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brouwerij 't IJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.