We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hell of a Walk...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brouwerij 't IJ

Brouwerij 't IJ
Funenkade 7, 1016 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6228325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 569 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ontario
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
96 attraction reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“It's a Hell of a Walk...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

... but how can you go to Holland without seeing a windmill? Your effort is rewarded with a beautiful windmill and maybe more importantly given how hot it was, a great cold beer in a friendly share a table beer garden.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    169
    35
    18
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
65 attraction reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Searching the internet for a brewery tour prior to a visit to Amsterdam led me here instead of a "bigger name" place.
Having only sketchy directions (and a doubting wife), I was glad to find the brewery, via the 22 bus, without difficulty. Despite finding no evidence of a tour on the day, we immediately sensed this was a good place to be and bought the 5-sample rack of beers. We followed up with more of our two favourites and had a pleasant hour or so in the sunshine under the windmill.
It was obviously "a place to be" in Amsterdam, although my wife and I did notice that we seemed to be at least 40 years older than the "average client"!
The staff were interested, enthusiastic and polite.
One of the highlights of our short break in Amsterdam. Great beer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
140 attraction reviews
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Excellent brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Contrary to what some think, this is NOT the windmill. The brewery is adjacent to the windmill... TA, please update that this is a bar, not an attraction!

We've been visiting Amsterdam for 10+ years now. Why did it take me this long to find out there's a microbrewery in Amsterdam? Shameful to think of all the other beer I've drunk in Amsterdam when I could have been drinking here instead.

They had 6 different beers on tap and one bottled. I went with their five sampler (bummer, it didn't include the IPA, which turned out to be my favorite) for € 8 which was reasonable. Pils, two Belgian-like beers (a double and a triple), a white (wheat), and an amber-like beer. All were good but of these 5 the pils was my favorite.

While there we struck up a conversation with a Dutch couple. Before the afternoon was over, lots of IPAs had been consumed in the 3 hours we were there.

Without a doubt, we'll be back to this great brewery.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Landscape and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

One of the few existing windmills in Amsterdam, its a beautiful place. Great windmill beer. The ambiance is a contrast to the modern architecture just outside, and it seems you are sitting in old-world Netherlands sipping beer looking at some future-world paintings. Must visit for the locally-brewed Windmill beer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique windmill downtown!! The best place to make friends and drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have to leave this comment, for the best place we found to drink and make friends!

We visit Brouwerij 't IJ for the beer and see something diferent. There, we make a lot of friends (a couple of 50 years old talked with us about 2 hours, the man told us his histories of coldwar, comunism, we divided opinions about drugs, womens, football, nowadays news, it was a very good talk.

Of course, very good beer to quench thirst and food, good cheese and ham! Don´t leave there without try the trippel

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brouwerij 't IJ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brouwerij 't IJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brouwerij 't IJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.