We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windmill, beer & a canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brouwerij 't IJ

Brouwerij 't IJ
Funenkade 7, 1016 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)
020-6228325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 230 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
manchester
Level Contributor
879 reviews
404 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Windmill, beer & a canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

What more can you ask for ? On a lovely day, sit outside with beer from their own brewery on site under the sails, it is so quintessentially Dutch. The beer is top notch too !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKDavidN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A windmill and a beer, please...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you have ever wanted to sip a wonderful Dutch beer under a windmill (everyone, right?) this is your place. This windmill is now a brewery that makes some of the tastiest beer in Europe. It's an easy bike ride from the center of the city. Pedal over on a nice day and sip a few beers in the outdoor seating area directly under the blades of the windmill. Try the Nette...it's fantasic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MontanaTraveler643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun Friday Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our group didn't do the tour but was thrilled to end up here after a long day of walking and touring Amsterdam. It was crowded maily with locals on a sunny Friday afternoon so we were unable to find a table outdoors even though there were many, but found a roomy table inside. The bartenders were very helpful and patient about educating a group of Americans on what to order, and prices were half or less than any other bar or cafe we visited. We got a few small plates or cheese and salami as well to go with the beer.

Would definitely return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara_b12102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really cool biergarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I rented bikes for a day in Amsterdam and decided to bike out to this brewery. It was an easy and beautiful bike ride here. Located at the base of an old windmill, you can't get a better dutch beer drinking experience! Staff was very friendly, beers were very reasonable in price and pretty delicious! We sat outside and had an awesome time! Great atmosphere!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This place could be so much more than it is. The atmosphere is lacking, the staff unfriendly and seemed to resent being at work. The beer itself is great but I could buy their beer at bars all over town that were actually fun to be at. Cold finger foods to accompany the beer (I was hoping for more substantial pub grub). With that said, it was awesome to drink great beers in the shadow of an amazing windmill and I would go again next time in Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdwaugh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brouwerij 't IJ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brouwerij 't IJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing