We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in funky apartments around old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truelove Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Truelove Guesthouse to your Saves list
Truelove Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service in funky apartments around old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived to find our apartment had steep steps, and my hubby (stroke survivor) couldn't climb them. The boys from "Truelove" then did a hunt around their books, and small juggle, and came back to us with another apartment that had only three steps down. Perfect! It was on a canal, same price.
It seems they manage a number of apartments around Amsterdam. My sister and her husband stayed in a grand, classical dutch apartment, furnished like an antique shop, while our unit was starkly modern, underfloor heating, uber-cool! My other sister has stayed in different apartments yet again, so I think they manage quite a few.
I would DEFINITELY use their services again, as apartments are much better than hotels: they are cheaper and you can cook for yourself.
(We stayed there in April 2012, but the date drop down doesn't go back that far!)

Room Tip: Check to see if there are stairs... if you have any disabilities: it seems the dutch are so used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    71
    27
    20
    26
See reviews for
6
123
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in August and I was moved to write my first Tripadvisor review - it was such an extraordinarily bad experience that I hope to warn others off this hotel! Though the location in Jordaans is perfect and the apartment itself was spacious, the cleanliness was average to poor (white towels which had faded to dirty grey, for example), and we had two big problems. The noise (see later) was perhaps bad luck, but the terrible staff attitude is inexcusable.

We were met at the reception (in the shop) by David, a grumpy young man who did not stop complaining about how we were ruining his life by making him wait (we arrived at 10pm; their checkin hours as declared on the booking.com page are until midnight). Then, we discovered that to pay with a card is 10% extra on the price, and when we said we would like to get cash from the ATM - which he had already said he would show us on the way to the apartment - his exact words were "Oh my God, this is killing me!" Truly unbelieveable.

Then, there was the noise: the residents of the neighbouring apartment arrived home at around 4am and put music on at full volume for several hours - the soundproofing is non-existent, and unfortunately we could not tell if the sound was coming from above, or below, or across the terrace, or we would certainly have called the police. As it was, we had three very unpleasant nights; despite the lovely location, I would recommend people avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner. We're both in our 20s and really loved the location and privacy of the place. Upon arrival at the antique shop we were taken a street away to our guesthouse by a lovely member of staff (didn't catch his name) who was extremely polite and helpful with all of our questions. He made us feel very welcome. The canal house is very tidy and quirky and as I said is in an ideal location within walking distance to literally everything we did on our stay. We really enjoyed staying at the guesthouse, would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to any of my friends :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay at Truelove Guesthouse. Our room was in a large brick rowhome right on a canal. The room was the perfect size, with enough room on the three sides of the bed to comfortably walk around and unpack our bags. The ceiling was very high with beautiful molding, and we had a huge window that spanned the whole wall and faced a small courtyard. The bathroom was very clean as well. It was always very quiet, although we did stay here on a weekday. I'm really glad we chose this place. We are both in our 20s, so it was easy to follow the owner (who was very polite and welcoming) the three blocks to our room. Paying upfront in cash is very typical for privately owned B&B/hostels like this one. This place was perfect for us, and I could strongly recommend it for other young couples who are looking for somewhere private, memorable, and inexpensive to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

When we arrived to check in, we were told that the rooms were not ready but we were able to leave our luggage there and come back later to be taken to our room. We were greeted by staff but we felt that he was a little rude and not necessarily welcoming.
When we finally got to the room, we were pleased with what we saw, the room was big and was clean. We had suitable facilities and liked the kwirky character of the room. The room was just off the busy main street, so we were pleased with how close we were to the centre.
If I was going back to Amsterdam again, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked this room 9 months ago. The host was available to greet us. But we had to walk with our luggage at least 2 blocks. The room (maybe 8' x 10') contained a small table, 2 chairs, and a sink. The bathroom with the toilet and shower was off this room. The bed could only be reached by a set of very steep, narrow stairs in an open loft. Most unsuitable for someone with knee problems! The whole room had a very tired look.
We ended up booking a room in a hotel and returned to get our luggage. We never did use the room.
Asking for payment in cash should have been our first clue! We were most disappointed as this "guesthouse" definitely did not live up to the photos and our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of the week. We were eventually greeted by the owner and shown to our room. The room itself was great, very large for Amsterdam, very clean and tidy and the shower has wonderful pressure! Be aware the stairs are like anywhere else in Amsterdam; very narrow!!! If you have mobility issues this is probably not the best place to stay. The hotel is beautifully located so close to everything, it was brilliant. BUT. There were a couple of very fatal flaws which almost made us find another place after night one. The pillows are atrocious. They are fine as pretty little decorative top-pillows, but they will offer you no support at all and you will wake up with aching shoulders and neck. The other fatal flaw was the noise level. This is NOT a quiet little residential street. There is a cafe across the rd which seems to go all night. I don't know who double-glazed the windows but they did an awful job; every single drunken screech, staggering step and grating gear sound like they are right by your ear. So much so we were almost driven to screaming out the window at some particularly noisy passer-bys, one whom appears to have been a guest as they then set off the alarm and continue to yammer at full volume. None of which is the hotels fault, but some sound-proofing would have made a LOT of difference. Thankfully night 3 was quiet...after midnight. Do not attempt to stay if you want a full nights sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truelove Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.