We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Truelove Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Truelove Guesthouse to your Saves list
Truelove Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Leek
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Happy stay in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

When we arrived to check in, we were told that the rooms were not ready but we were able to leave our luggage there and come back later to be taken to our room. We were greeted by staff but we felt that he was a little rude and not necessarily welcoming.
When we finally got to the room, we were pleased with what we saw, the room was big and was clean. We had suitable facilities and liked the kwirky character of the room. The room was just off the busy main street, so we were pleased with how close we were to the centre.
If I was going back to Amsterdam again, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    71
    27
    20
    26
See reviews for
6
123
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked this room 9 months ago. The host was available to greet us. But we had to walk with our luggage at least 2 blocks. The room (maybe 8' x 10') contained a small table, 2 chairs, and a sink. The bathroom with the toilet and shower was off this room. The bed could only be reached by a set of very steep, narrow stairs in an open loft. Most unsuitable for someone with knee problems! The whole room had a very tired look.
We ended up booking a room in a hotel and returned to get our luggage. We never did use the room.
Asking for payment in cash should have been our first clue! We were most disappointed as this "guesthouse" definitely did not live up to the photos and our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of the week. We were eventually greeted by the owner and shown to our room. The room itself was great, very large for Amsterdam, very clean and tidy and the shower has wonderful pressure! Be aware the stairs are like anywhere else in Amsterdam; very narrow!!! If you have mobility issues this is probably not the best place to stay. The hotel is beautifully located so close to everything, it was brilliant. BUT. There were a couple of very fatal flaws which almost made us find another place after night one. The pillows are atrocious. They are fine as pretty little decorative top-pillows, but they will offer you no support at all and you will wake up with aching shoulders and neck. The other fatal flaw was the noise level. This is NOT a quiet little residential street. There is a cafe across the rd which seems to go all night. I don't know who double-glazed the windows but they did an awful job; every single drunken screech, staggering step and grating gear sound like they are right by your ear. So much so we were almost driven to screaming out the window at some particularly noisy passer-bys, one whom appears to have been a guest as they then set off the alarm and continue to yammer at full volume. None of which is the hotels fault, but some sound-proofing would have made a LOT of difference. Thankfully night 3 was quiet...after midnight. Do not attempt to stay if you want a full nights sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I booked 2 nights here earlier this week (June 2013) based on online reviews and listings in past Rick Steve's guides. We cannot recommend you stay here. In short the management is inattentive to their guesthouse. The host attitude seems to be not to bother with repairs or the guests.
When we arrived midday no one was present and we called and waited at a cafe across the street, a scene which we noticed repeated for others guests. Some waiting an hour to be given keys to their room. When the host arrived for us he had two other guests in tow that were unhappy with their room and were told to shut up while he checked us in.
The accommodations may have been good in the past but were deteriorating. Multiple lights didn't work, a shelf by the TV was broken, a wardrobe was falling apart, a daybed that folded into a chair had a broken frame, a floor lamp's shade was torn, the TV remote didn't work, and two light fixtures were broken and hanging by their wires.
One of the three cages below the guesthouse stayed open into the early morning and their customers were quite noisy. All in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't book this accommodation based on where they say they are. You will probably be staying about 5-7 minutes walk away. The address to arrive at is the office and you are then told where your room is. We were a fair walk further on after having walked a quite a way from the station already. The room we stayed in was very basic. The bed was large and comfortable but the rest of the furnishings were worn and shabby. A few euros on decor and soft furnishings would make it feel and look more welcoming. The 'bathroom' was a tiny cubicle in the middle of the room with a toilet in the shower cubicle and washing at the kitchen sink - not very nice. A good view of a canal and houseboats in a residential area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voss Municipality, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

First the positive: Very centrally located , overlooking the canal in the nice and quiet Jordaan neighbourhood. Only 2 min walk to the Anne Frank house, lots of bars, restaurants and minutes away from Haarlem.
Then the not so good: Our apartments were nothing like the pictures you see on their website..We stayed in the Prinsenstraat in two apartments, one in the basement and one on the ground floor. The apartments were very cold, had a strange mouldy smell and were not at all clean..dusty furniture, pubic hair in the shower, lots of dirt on the floor and the furniture were really shabby and smelly. None of the apartments had proper bathrooms. One had only a sort of a tiny transparent shower cabinet containing a toilet and a wallhanged shower in the middle of the apartment..No washbasin, and everything was flooded when taking a shower.
The Truelove guesthouse have many apartments in different locations in Amsterdam. ..from the positive reviews we read before we booked I guess we were just unlucky with ours, so make sure you don't get to stay in the ones in Prinsengracht!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truelove Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.