We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by 2 fatal flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Truelove Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Truelove Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Truelove Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Let down by 2 fatal flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of the week. We were eventually greeted by the owner and shown to our room. The room itself was great, very large for Amsterdam, very clean and tidy and the shower has wonderful pressure! Be aware the stairs are like anywhere else in Amsterdam; very narrow!!! If you have mobility issues this is probably not the best place to stay. The hotel is beautifully located so close to everything, it was brilliant. BUT. There were a couple of very fatal flaws which almost made us find another place after night one. The pillows are atrocious. They are fine as pretty little decorative top-pillows, but they will offer you no support at all and you will wake up with aching shoulders and neck. The other fatal flaw was the noise level. This is NOT a quiet little residential street. There is a cafe across the rd which seems to go all night. I don't know who double-glazed the windows but they did an awful job; every single drunken screech, staggering step and grating gear sound like they are right by your ear. So much so we were almost driven to screaming out the window at some particularly noisy passer-bys, one whom appears to have been a guest as they then set off the alarm and continue to yammer at full volume. None of which is the hotels fault, but some sound-proofing would have made a LOT of difference. Thankfully night 3 was quiet...after midnight. Do not attempt to stay if you want a full nights sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    21
    18
    22
See reviews for
3
101
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I booked 2 nights here earlier this week (June 2013) based on online reviews and listings in past Rick Steve's guides. We cannot recommend you stay here. In short the management is inattentive to their guesthouse. The host attitude seems to be not to bother with repairs or the guests.
When we arrived midday no one was present and we called and waited at a cafe across the street, a scene which we noticed repeated for others guests. Some waiting an hour to be given keys to their room. When the host arrived for us he had two other guests in tow that were unhappy with their room and were told to shut up while he checked us in.
The accommodations may have been good in the past but were deteriorating. Multiple lights didn't work, a shelf by the TV was broken, a wardrobe was falling apart, a daybed that folded into a chair had a broken frame, a floor lamp's shade was torn, the TV remote didn't work, and two light fixtures were broken and hanging by their wires.
One of the three cages below the guesthouse stayed open into the early morning and their customers were quite noisy. All in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't book this accommodation based on where they say they are. You will probably be staying about 5-7 minutes walk away. The address to arrive at is the office and you are then told where your room is. We were a fair walk further on after having walked a quite a way from the station already. The room we stayed in was very basic. The bed was large and comfortable but the rest of the furnishings were worn and shabby. A few euros on decor and soft furnishings would make it feel and look more welcoming. The 'bathroom' was a tiny cubicle in the middle of the room with a toilet in the shower cubicle and washing at the kitchen sink - not very nice. A good view of a canal and houseboats in a residential area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voss Municipality, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

First the positive: Very centrally located , overlooking the canal in the nice and quiet Jordaan neighbourhood. Only 2 min walk to the Anne Frank house, lots of bars, restaurants and minutes away from Haarlem.
Then the not so good: Our apartments were nothing like the pictures you see on their website..We stayed in the Prinsenstraat in two apartments, one in the basement and one on the ground floor. The apartments were very cold, had a strange mouldy smell and were not at all clean..dusty furniture, pubic hair in the shower, lots of dirt on the floor and the furniture were really shabby and smelly. None of the apartments had proper bathrooms. One had only a sort of a tiny transparent shower cabinet containing a toilet and a wallhanged shower in the middle of the apartment..No washbasin, and everything was flooded when taking a shower.
The Truelove guesthouse have many apartments in different locations in Amsterdam. ..from the positive reviews we read before we booked I guess we were just unlucky with ours, so make sure you don't get to stay in the ones in Prinsengracht!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had our own floor in a room just near the train station. It was incredible. We felt like locals! It was such a safe neighborhood. It was quiet, clean, and cute.

The fridge wasnt cold enough though. Hardly cold enough for chilling a beer- dont recommend for food!

Laundry was right around the corner. Lots of restraunts nearby.

This place is great and a non sketchy option in a city where you could end up in a bad place easily!

Owners were nice. No complaints with anything really other than the fridge!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in Amsterdam at TrueLove Guesthouse. After an extensive, last minute search for a B&B in the area (during the height of the tulip season), this was one place that had an opening. The owners are very friendly and helpful in booking, getting settled, and local resources. As I had read other Trip Advisor reviews, I knew that this Guesthouse had apartments scattered across Jordaan neighborhood in various locations. I think what they do is sublet the apartments, owned by others, to vacationers to the city. We parked out car on the outskirts of Amsterdam and rode a tram into Central Station. From Central, we walked about 10 minutes to TrueLove Antiques which is the reception for all of their apartments. Upon arrival (we were an hour late), we followed our host to our apartment location which was another 8-10 minutes away.

Upon arrival at our apartment, we walked up a typically narrow flight of stairs to our room on the first floor. Our apartment overlooked a canal and was in a quiet neighborhood. Only a few blocks away, there was dining, shopping, and weekend markets so we had no lack of places to eat. The apartment was clean but worn. I don't think a lot of money had been invested in the decoration of the unit. There was everything there that we needed though--a bed, a full bathroom, a small kitchen, and a view of the canal. I was a little depressed though with the decor of the place. The only other thing I would note is that when we were in the apartment, I spent a lot of time sneezing--something was triggering my allergies, but I'm not sure what it was. There was no room service included with the room nor breakfast as is typical in most B&Bs but we knew that prior to arrival.

You will note in our pictures that there was a laundry stand left up in the room. We assume these are the bed linens for the next guest. We were asked if it was ok that they were left there and I thought someone would come and move them the next day, but they were there for our entire stay. While they weren't terribly in the way, it would have been nice if they had been gone and added a little more passage room in the apartment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truelove Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.