We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what you expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Truelove Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Truelove Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Truelove Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 172 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not quite what you expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't book this accommodation based on where they say they are. You will probably be staying about 5-7 minutes walk away. The address to arrive at is the office and you are then told where your room is. We were a fair walk further on after having walked a quite a way from the station already. The room we stayed in was very basic. The bed was large and comfortable but the rest of the furnishings were worn and shabby. A few euros on decor and soft furnishings would make it feel and look more welcoming. The 'bathroom' was a tiny cubicle in the middle of the room with a toilet in the shower cubicle and washing at the kitchen sink - not very nice. A good view of a canal and houseboats in a residential area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    22
    19
    22
See reviews for
3
101
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voss Municipality, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

First the positive: Very centrally located , overlooking the canal in the nice and quiet Jordaan neighbourhood. Only 2 min walk to the Anne Frank house, lots of bars, restaurants and minutes away from Haarlem.
Then the not so good: Our apartments were nothing like the pictures you see on their website..We stayed in the Prinsenstraat in two apartments, one in the basement and one on the ground floor. The apartments were very cold, had a strange mouldy smell and were not at all clean..dusty furniture, pubic hair in the shower, lots of dirt on the floor and the furniture were really shabby and smelly. None of the apartments had proper bathrooms. One had only a sort of a tiny transparent shower cabinet containing a toilet and a wallhanged shower in the middle of the apartment..No washbasin, and everything was flooded when taking a shower.
The Truelove guesthouse have many apartments in different locations in Amsterdam. ..from the positive reviews we read before we booked I guess we were just unlucky with ours, so make sure you don't get to stay in the ones in Prinsengracht!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had our own floor in a room just near the train station. It was incredible. We felt like locals! It was such a safe neighborhood. It was quiet, clean, and cute.

The fridge wasnt cold enough though. Hardly cold enough for chilling a beer- dont recommend for food!

Laundry was right around the corner. Lots of restraunts nearby.

This place is great and a non sketchy option in a city where you could end up in a bad place easily!

Owners were nice. No complaints with anything really other than the fridge!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in Amsterdam at TrueLove Guesthouse. After an extensive, last minute search for a B&B in the area (during the height of the tulip season), this was one place that had an opening. The owners are very friendly and helpful in booking, getting settled, and local resources. As I had read other Trip Advisor reviews, I knew that this Guesthouse had apartments scattered across Jordaan neighborhood in various locations. I think what they do is sublet the apartments, owned by others, to vacationers to the city. We parked out car on the outskirts of Amsterdam and rode a tram into Central Station. From Central, we walked about 10 minutes to TrueLove Antiques which is the reception for all of their apartments. Upon arrival (we were an hour late), we followed our host to our apartment location which was another 8-10 minutes away.

Upon arrival at our apartment, we walked up a typically narrow flight of stairs to our room on the first floor. Our apartment overlooked a canal and was in a quiet neighborhood. Only a few blocks away, there was dining, shopping, and weekend markets so we had no lack of places to eat. The apartment was clean but worn. I don't think a lot of money had been invested in the decoration of the unit. There was everything there that we needed though--a bed, a full bathroom, a small kitchen, and a view of the canal. I was a little depressed though with the decor of the place. The only other thing I would note is that when we were in the apartment, I spent a lot of time sneezing--something was triggering my allergies, but I'm not sure what it was. There was no room service included with the room nor breakfast as is typical in most B&Bs but we knew that prior to arrival.

You will note in our pictures that there was a laundry stand left up in the room. We assume these are the bed linens for the next guest. We were asked if it was ok that they were left there and I thought someone would come and move them the next day, but they were there for our entire stay. While they weren't terribly in the way, it would have been nice if they had been gone and added a little more passage room in the apartment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spent 5 days with my girlfriend at TrueLove Guest house and we were reasonably impressed with the room and everything. It's a perfect location for a couple. The room was nice an clean, and had everything we need. The location is very convenient, it's close to Central Station and all the central attractions. We meet Daniel in the morning, who kept out baggages safe until the room was ready. We freaked out a little when we heard him arguing on the phone with the person in charge of cleaning our room, about the readienss of the room, while we were already heading there, but eventualy the room was fine and everything in order, and everything went perfectly during our stay

Room Tip: The rooms are not at the address of True Love, but still they are in a very good central location (H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. The location is brilliant. We had a ground floor apartment about 5 mins walk from central station and all the places we wanted to visit. The apartment was really clean and had everything you needed. My only criticism was that the apartment just needed a bit of tlc. The pillows and duvet had seen better days, and the bed was really uncomfortable. Other than that I have recommended this place to friends and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 dc Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 172 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truelove Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.