We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Fantastic Rooms. The Perfect Experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location. Fantastic Rooms. The Perfect Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

After spending a few days on the road in Belgium, in a so-so hotel, we we're relieved to find out how wonderful our room was in Amsterdam. Amsterdam can be kind of intense and at times grimey, so this hotel was our Oasis throughout the trip. The spa shower was fanatastic, the bed & linens were excellent and the rooms were clean and modern just as described in the hotel photos. If you do stay, check out Da Kroon night club for evening snacks and L'Opera for brunch all within a 3 minute walk from the hotel located in Rembrandt Square.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    453
    218
    112
    76
See reviews for
68
548
62
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Having stayed in 6 hotels in amsterdam over the years,and many hotels/b and b's in England over 20 years working away. i can honestley say this hotel is bang on the money for location and cleanliness.the buffet breakfast was also good.and if you cant sleep because of the noise from the bars outside the FRONT of the hotel,get a room at the BACK.or smokeys coffee shop is underneath the hotel and for £10 they will give you some weed that wiil make you sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed here on a chance, got a very decent rate but was uncertain of how high a standard to expect, but ended up delighted at the choice. The location was easy to find on foot from the station, and located in an area close to sites and tourist facilities. Assisted throughout by a very helpful concierge who gave us detailed help on navigating the city. Even though a noisy location, we were not disturbed at all. Left luggage service before check-in and after check-out was complimentary. The rooms were small (but we only wanted it as somewhere to sleep, so not a problem) and the area probably isn't very family-friendly, though great fun otherwise. Only sour note was the necessity of leaving a credit card (which I did not have) as the room deposit, but was swiftly sorted by the management. Overall, a great stay, would go again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I did not like the service of the hotel. I found the room outdated with dirty floors. I also found leftovers from the previous guest in the mini bar. I had to asked the front desk to remove it twice. The first time they still left some food in the mini bar and also did not clean it although it was really filthy and sticky. The staff was rude. The location of the hotel is good, centrally located and this is why I choose to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

This hotel is relatively new: has a nice decor and friendly staff. However, the rooms are tiny ! Now this is quite normal for Amsterdam, but the room I had (double bed) hardly had any space for luggage. Still I recommend this: very central location, yet quiet and extremely comfy beds: good price / quality !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The good; It's a pretty hotel with updated rooms. They have lovely bathrooms. Strangely though the amenities vary. The floor in my shower area was heated, yet the room next door to me (where my friends stayed) wasn't. Or they never located the switch. However the toilet area in my room (a seperate room) was freezing! The windows must not have been insulated, or they leaked because the room was cold enough to chill wine in!

The hotel is pretty no frills. While there is a flat screen TV, it only has a few channels, I never could get pay for view movies to come up, no alarm clock / Ipod player, or nifty touches. This hotel (according to the front desk) is part 3 star and part 4 star hotel, depending where / what side you check in on.
And while the front desk staff is excellent - very helpful and friendly, the housekeeping is terrible! Often they don'yt show up at all, and even when you call down to have them sent up it can take repeated calls 9and hours) to get them. When they do show up, the swap out te towels regardless if you leave them up for 'green 'purposes as mentioned in the hotel bathrooms), but they don't clean anything. The counters are left sticky from beverage glasses (wine / tea etc), they rinsed out the tea cups in the room, didn't really wash them, but set them back by the in room coffee maker. pretty gross actually. Oh and i was never given a key to the mini bar.

I was on the 2nd floor (which is the 3rd floor) and the street noise form the idiots partying in the square (at the end of the block) continues until about 5 am. Every night. And I am talking of screaming, yelling etc...Unless you plan on being one of those 'idiots' or can sleep through anything, I would skip this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Based on the previous recommendations, we decided to try this hotel. The location was fantastic, it was very close to a train station and felt like I was in the central part of the city. If we had to, we could've walked to the Central Station (probably .75 miles or so) but the public transportation is easy to follow. We were satisfied with the room. The bathroom was fairly nice and the room was decent, nothing great and nothing horrible. But the customer service was unacceptable. They were NOT welcoming at all and I felt like I had to plead for any type of service. Two examples come to mind:
1. Late Check out by 30 mins: I had to catch a train and wanted to sight see during the morning so I asked for a 30 min late check out the night before. The man at the desk told me it was impossible and they were extremely busy without looking at his computer. I called back the next morning and it wasn't a problem, they had availability and apologized for the night before. It took the same man 15 mins to find fresh towels when they forgot to replace mine during the day.
2. Maps: We asked for only ONE additional map and received attitude from the front desk. It was to the point that we offered to pay for a single map so that we all did not have to share ONE. It wasn't a large request and they had a stack of them available.

Overall, it may be worth the stay but if I go back, I'll try another hotel. The location wasn't worth the attitude.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#58 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#161 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.