We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best feature: Comfy Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best feature: Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Design wise, hotel is quite simple and minimalist with simple lobby and check in area. Does not have that homey feel, but it doesnt really matter since it is clean and quite central in location. A few feet away from Rembrandt square. The hotel also connects to its sister hotel, so you can exit the property another way, by the river.

What i like most about the hotel is the bed which is really comfortable! One of the most comfortable hotel beds i've been on. Its the soft sinky type. So are the pillows. Since it was winter, it made me not want to get out of bed. Uh oh. Room size is ok, typical european size- just right, not really that spacious. Design is a tad dreary cos of the use of mostly grey colors. (i guess its more masculine) Room had a small funcional table where you can plug your laptop and/or use as a make up table. Bathroom is simple but nice with good kind toiletries, a Dutch brand i forget, and all other usual amenities.

I did not have breakfast since it was too pricey at EUR20.00

This hotel is good but i kind of regret not staying at American Hotel (which i could have gotten for only 10EUR more) since it looks much nicer from the outside and Leidsplein seems a better location. But oh well, it wasnt a bad deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    399
    187
    93
    58
See reviews for
54
467
59
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I just got back from a 3 night stay at the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel. I thought the hotel was nice, although I wouldn't rate it 4 stars. Like everybody else says, its in a great location. The 4 and 9 tram stop is 1/2 a block away. The Canal Bus pick-up is just across the canal behind the hotel. I thought the staff was friendly and somewhat helpful. I say somewhat because they wouldn't print my flight boarding passes the day we left, even though they had a computer and printer in the lobby. They even had a sign on it stating that it couldn't be used to print e-tickets. You would figure that if you just spent several hundred dollars to stay in their hotel, they could at least print boarding passes. Having the PC and printer sitting in the lobby just added insult to the injury. The other negative on the staff, was that they tried to charge me for 3 items supposedly missing from the mini bar. Interesting point is that we had the "do not disturb" hanging on the door the whole stay and we never had them clean the room. When did they inventory the mini bar? Anyway, I told them that we didn't use the mini bar and they removed the charges without question.

We didn't mind the frosted glass door on the bathroom and shower as some of the others have commented. In fact I thought the frost glass shower was kind of provocative view from the bedroom. Although, couples with children or non-intimate friends might be a bit uncomfortable. The free wired internet was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Top location, within walking distance to every part of the city - it's between 10 and 20 minutes' leisurly walk to the museum quarter, centraal station, bistros, restaurants, bars, cafes... you name it. Fantastic access nearby both by metro and tram. Rooms were extremely clean and well kept. Only minor "fault" is that the bathrooms are not terribly private due to the glass panels, which even though probably not a problem if travelling with a partner, it might make travelling with friends a little bit uncomfortable. I didn't find it noisy like some other guests pointed out which I guess might vary depending on room location. Top marks for me and would most definitely return! Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

I only stayed here for one night and didnt spend much time in the room. Its Amsterdam for goodness sake! :)

The room was modern with a very comfortable bed. Location was very good. There is a tram station right outside. The noise from the tram may bother some people. Good value and one of the better hotels that I have stayed in in Europe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We have just returned from our stay in the Eden Rembrandt Square, And what an amazing hotel it was! - The staff were friendly and really helpful. As we were going for a special occasion we had free champagne and flowers in our room when we arrived which was a lovley touch. The bed was out of this world... and the shower was amazing, we did have the superior room which is described as having more space but the room was massive!! I really dont know how people could complain! The decor was modern and fresh and the hotel was spotless. If you are concedering this hotel take my word...... BOOK IT!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards, northern ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

This is a decent Hotel, but not sure if it is really 4 star standard? Everything was very clean, but the reception had a very clinical and cold atmosphere / decor.

The rooms are very modern, white and chocolate brown, very monotone. The bed was two pushed together with a gap in between, not something I am keen on. Nice morden flat tv, tea nd coffee making etc. A nice touch was free regular speed internet.

The room was ultra clean, had nice toiletries, and was all very well kept. Not sure why they leave their housekeeping trolleys in the corridor all day, full of stuff, didn't give a great impression.

The breakfast was a bit expensive at 18 euro each, as we could get a better choice and selection close by for 8 Euro each.

We would definately recommend the Hotel, plain, simple, and nicely kept, just lacked any real luxury feel you migh expect from 4 Star.

We are going to return Amsterdam but would also look for somewhere very slightly more central, closer to the shopping, restaurants etc, but overall quite a pleasing place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Great hotel, couldn't have been more central. The tram stop is a 2 minute walk and there are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Also within walking distance of many of the main attractions in Amsterdam. We had a superb deal too - the hotel has a price guarantee on their rooms, but I found a deal cheaper on Expedia. This meant we had our first night free (which saved us 150 Euros!) Look on the hotel's official website for details of this.

The room was lovely, clean, modern and bright with the most comfortable beds ever! We paid for a superior room, but I don't think it would have been worth paying so much extra if we hadn't had the price guarantee deal.

Only slight drawback was how noisy it was. Our room looked over a busy tram route, but to make matters wors there is a lot of building work going on just over the road at the moment in a building called 'The Bank'. On one day there was drilling and really loud mechanical hammering going on all day long. There are also two of the biggest nightclubs in the city on Rembrandt Square too, so this made the Saturday night noisy until the very early hours of the morning.

Also, if you are checking in and paying with a card, be aware that the hotel take an extra 50 euros to cover costs (which is no problem), but then refund it to you in cash when you check out. It meant I had to either spend my euros on my last day or bring them home.

We'd definately reccommend it though and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.