We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed here during a weekend break with friends. July 2014.

Location:
Hotel is just a matter of foot steps off Rembrant Sq. Ideal for pubs/food. Night life is very rowdy & full of fun after darkness.

Hotel appearnce:
From the outside nothing starteling. Inside again, very basic as you walk through. Room's though, where excellent!! Junior suites we stayed in & they were huge. Seperate baths & showers, bathroom has large glass doors leading in to it. Big bed - Big windows - Great room & very clean.

Food: N/A didn't eat here at all.

WiFi: Fast.

Staff: Very helpfull and polite.

Would stay again!

Room Tip: Junior suite = Large/Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    470
    228
    113
    82
See reviews for
77
566
67
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is highly overrated hotel, the conditions are poor.
The cleaning people do their jobs, it is clean, but everything inside looks depreciated(not old, but worn-out, used).
I will never return to this place as it is very expensive and offers nothing than bed plus sink in the bathroom, although they promote it by being totally different.
I do not complain about employees or staff, they were great, it is just the overall aspect.
And not to mention that the door tags/cards do not work, we had to replace them 4 times ... what in the name of ?

Room Tip: Ask for good door key CARDs (ones that works)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.
These comments have been forwarded tot the housekeeping en reception staff.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were only in Amsterdam for 2 1/2 days during a layover. A good friend of ours arranged for us to stay in this hotel so we were walking into it pretty blindly. Well, we weren't disappointed! We got in late, about 11pm, but the front desk staff was courteous and checked us in to our room. When we walked into our room we were stoked! We had a nice corner room, and our room opened up onto a balcony that overlooked Rembrandt Square! That was the highlight of our stay, for sure. Not to mention, the room itself was clean and modernized, with enough room to fit the two of us and all of our *stuff*! : p There was also an LCD tv (which we never had a chance to turn on once, we were really only in our room to sleep/unwind.. haha), desk, single chair & side table, closet, drawers, mini bar, espresso maker with complimentary espresso packs (we thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary welcome snacks consisting of candies and juice too).. and fully equipped bathroom with tub and shower head, as well as a separate toilet room with wooden door to maintain privacy. The bed was nice and comfy, we had no problems sleeping. Our *only* qualm about the bed would be that it was actually two beds pushed together to make a queen, so at times we felt a small indent in the mattress. However, the plush topper did pretty well at softening it up a bit.. no pun intended. : p Oh! And noise-wise? The only window that seemed to leak any noise was the one in the toilet room, so we'd just close the door to that room, and all was quiet. All-in-all, we'd gladly stay here again! As long as we can get the same room.. ; )

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask the staff if you can see the room before accepting.. Oh, and I'd stick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel, it is daylight robbery nothing but flea infested rude obnoxious people completely ruined my summer break! 40 euro for breakfast with no milk absolutely diabolical hotel rather sleep on the street.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed with my girlfriend in July , great service and the room was very clean. Bed was also very comfy. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking to come back soon!

Near all the bars and cafes and only a 15 min walk from dam square and the RLD.

The only negative I can really think of is the minibar didn't have enough room to put a bottle of water in for the morning hangover haha, but we just filled the ice bucket and used that instead.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is hotel is also connected to another hotel is called Eden. I wanna mention that this company nothing but a hustler. When we booked it by booking. Com, we booked at a hotel Hampshire and it was 4 star hotel, when we got there they put us in Eden which was 3 star hotel without mentioning that. The room was a piece of crap, and awful. Very tiny room and everything was small, unmainained room. Be careful guys, when u step there, check the room first and make sure that you are at the right hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We arrived in Amsterdam a few days before embarking on a Rihine River cruise. We took a taxi from the airport to Rembrandt Square where we attempted to locate the hotel. After roaming the square for more than 30 minutes looking for the name of this hotel, we learned that the entrance was on another street. Once we found the entrance with a shared lobby with the Hotel Eden which we passed a number of times while roaming the square originally, we registered and went to our room. The online advertisement for this hotel should indicate both hotel names.

As we were only be staying two nights, these accommodations were adequate for our purposes. The room had two standard beds, decent closet space, and a clean bathroom. WiFi was included at no charge and the location was on a tram line going directly to Central Station. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but there is no pool. The venue is family and traveler friendly. There were tour groups checking in and out of the hotel while we were there.

All in all, the hotel met our needs. We were able to move about the city with ease using the transportation pass we purchased on board a tram. We were able to tour the city by bus, take a canal ride, and have entry into a featured museum. All of this was done effortlessly in following the the timely tram schedule. All of our two day destinations were a relatively short tram ride from the hotel.

When traveling on a budget, I would urge you to consider the Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square. The hotel is a good value and you are located in a cafe friendly area filled with people late into the evening. It is a traveler's Mecca.

Room Tip: Remember, Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square entrance is NOT on the square, but around the corner. Loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#135 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#163 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#57 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.