We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to the center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Walking distance to the center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

booked in to this hotel via last-minute so wasn't sure what we were going to get when we arrived , but it's a hotel close to the centre in the theater district walking distance to Heineken and red light district . it's also close to bars , restaurants and lively night life ...

This hotel is very basic , could do with a update and the rooms are very small ..

Room has a free pin activated safe ..

there's no parking so need to park on the side road at the side of hotel for a fee of €35 for 24 hours ...

No early check in which was a pain driving from England...

But if anyone is more interested in the city more than the room it's ideal because it will give you more money to spend on enjoying this wonderful city full of history , architecture , culture ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip advisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    398
    186
    93
    57
See reviews for
54
466
59
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

we came to Amsterdam for the king's day. The room was very nice and comfertable.
The hotel is extremely central and close to everywhere.
The room was very clean, the staff is nice but I wouldn't count on them for reccomendations for restaurants and so on.
two little problems: The bed was a little narrow (in out friends rooms they had a regular bed) and the windows didnt seal the noise from street completely, maybe because there is so much noise in the street :)
Overall I had a great time - thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is smack in the middle of Amsterdam, a wonderful location. The room was small but had everything in it you might need. The beds were very comfortable. The shower was very nice, a beautiful design. A wonderful breakfast. Would love to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With Regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Europe. We have been told the rooms are small but I didn't expect to question whether our room would accommodate 2 people and 2.pieces of luggage. This hotel seemed very well located and we enjoyed it from that perspective. The buffet breakfast was full of choices and well prepared. The Concierge was excellent however with the volumes he had to look after he could have used some help. The rooms were in need of new flooring and paint desperately. The lack of cleanliness was more disappointing. The dust was thick everywhere including the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked as a family of 4 people and 2 rooms for multiple birthdays. Upgraded into an apartment which wasn't In the hotel. Made us feel like we weren't wanted in the hotel. Cleaners made beds and changed towels but that was all. Bed were never changed while we were their and we were their for 5 days. Blood on pillow as well as a bug. All 4 of us have come away from Amsterdam with bite marks. Hotel rooms were very run down and nothing like pictures advertising.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time writing a review, it is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. I am sorry we did need meet your expectations and I apologise for not giving you the attention you deserve as a guest. We do hope this will not deter you from visitng us in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had originally booked into the 3 star Eden hotel but were upgraded to the 4 star Hampshire, so we were grateful. However, as I am compelled to write about the Hampshire, I must give an honest opinion.

Its location, in my opinion, is just the best, its in a n area that is full of activity and in walking distance to Dam Square, Centraal, the shopping district etc. We choose this hotel mainly due to the location.

We had booked two rooms and on arrival at 10am we were glad to find that both rooms were immediately available. Although we had done the booking a couple of months in advance it would have been nice to have both rooms on the same floor,but this is a minor issue. Simiilalry they could have tried to at least give us one room with a view (instead we got courtyard views) The room(s) were a little tired in decor and in need of a deep clean. The carpets could do with a wash and the walls some paint. Three light bulbs were not working in one of our rooms (two in the other). Overall a deep clean would just make that little difference. However this should not put anyone off as the rooms are relatively clean (just tired).

The television/channels were bait of a let down for a 4 start hotel, not a single channel in any other language but dutch / german. There was no international news channel either which is disappointing as its often nice to just catch up on the news at the end/start of the day.

Have read about staff being unpleasant or about noise, to be honest each and every member of staff we cam across was pleasant and helpful. As for the noise, its nothing more than you would get in any city centre hotel close to clubs and bars (I do wish people would do their research and stop moaning).

As for facilities there is not much in the hotel, but I'm sure there are more interesting hints to do in Amsterdam than staying back in the hotel...

overall it needs to work a little harder on maintenance, deep clean and it will reach its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

There are easily better hotels to stay in in Amsterdam. Here's what happened to me: As soon as I entered my room I smelled cigarette smoke. I called the front desk to let them know and some clod of a guy came up and told me that he didn't smell anything and that if I did smell something I should "open the window". This was really priceless. Then he even suggested that the smell might be the take-away salad that was in my room. He was totally lacking in any kind of feeling of accommodation.

Later that night I asked to be "let out" of the third and final night of my reservation. Flatly refused. The rooms are pretty awful, more like a dorm room than a hotel room. And the beds!! Child-sized twin beds with foam rubber mattresses. It was a complete joke. I sensed consternation from one of the other guests in the reception area as well. Expedia was wonderful in giving me a $100 coupon. This experience will teach me to do my homework more. It was a last minute booking. Otherwise, enjoy Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Mediocre part of Amsterdam, totally unprofessional staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.