We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The bugger on the toilet wall is also not a pleasant view to see, luckily I didn't see any hair in the bathroom.
I think that chamber maids must be seriously busy and must lack of time or motivation.

Luckily the bedding was very fresh and mattress supportive enough and comfortable.
The reception and reception staff were nice, smiling and helpful.
I also liked the breakfast, the glasses could be cleaner especially that they are so nicely highlighted place or maybe they were just dusty, judge yourself.

The towels were replaced even though I didn’t put them in the bath, They have had idea of hanging the information "if you forgot something for bathroom ask us and we are happy to provide you with...", but they didn't think of saving the money by changing the towels only when necessary (practice of putting the dirty towels into the bath)
On request provided iron hasn’t had steaming option hence it was quite useless for mu polyester shirt as without it I was too afraid to use the water on the questionably clean ironing board.

If not the fact I have had wifi internet access in my room, the bedding was fresh and I luckily didn't see any hair in bathroom or toilet I would definitely ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Fifth floor quarantees some day light and no street noise noted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It's not a long walk from Centraal Station. The rooms are big, and are very up to date. The place has a very modern and boutique feel to it. It's in a quieter part of town but that's not to say that there is nothing going on in Rembrandt Square!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xJEFFROx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments.
We are glad to hear that you had a perfect stay.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed once before in this hotel and had a really nice experience despite the breakfast being over priced to say the least... (18€ for couple of eggs, salty bacon and a couple of tiny pastries... definitely overpriced.. ) despite this little thing I decided to stay again to my regret. I was put in a room on the first floor and I didn't sleep a wink due to the very noisy street with non stop cars, trams and people shouting even on a monday night.. I had to request earplugs at 1.30am... not the best experience... if you are above the street noise 3,4,5 floor its a lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Erwane2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

only the tv remote was not working correctly
the hotel was clean, friendly and price was ok, i was surprised
short distance to the DNB
nice for trips in the city and sightseeing and shopping
thanks a lot

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We had several problems this period with our tv channels, so this is correct.
After all we hope to welcome you again with your next visit.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with a group of friends/partner and we were all very impressed with the hotel and service.
Rooms were a great size. Only downside to the room was that we requested double beds but we got 2 twin beds pushed together that wasn't secure therefore it was very easy to fall through the middle! It would have been nice to have a double duvet not 2 singles.
Bathroom was lovely but lacked privacy, the doors to the bathroom were glass with frosted strips therefore you had to be comfortable with the person you were sharing with!!

Good location, within walking distance to all the main attractions.

Would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your commenst about your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that this was perfect.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice hotel, right next to tram stops so great base away from all the noise of Dam square etc. Rooms were comfortable and quiet.
Cons:
You would have to be very comfortable with your partner if sharing a room as the toilet and shower area are glass with frosted strips to cover your torso and is visible from the room. The doors to toilet do not meet so poo smells escaped into room!

Lack of privacy

We asked for a double bed but got twin beds that were not locked together so it was difficult to cuddle without falling through the middle, disappointing!

Pros:
Beds were comfy
Great quiet location near trams, bars and restaurants.
Pleasant helpful staff
Good shower
Nice toiletries
Kettle, tea and coffee in room
Would definitely stay again but only if sharing with my beloved!

Room Tip: Room on 5 floor lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiskji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very helpful with helping us navigate where we needed to be. Used the Tram to locate a friend in another area. Easy to use but pay attention to where you need to be. The hotel bed was awesome! Great comfort!! I will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Close to great restaurants and beer establishments.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#137 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing