We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a perfect location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a perfect location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked this hotel with a group of friends/partner and we were all very impressed with the hotel and service.
Rooms were a great size. Only downside to the room was that we requested double beds but we got 2 twin beds pushed together that wasn't secure therefore it was very easy to fall through the middle! It would have been nice to have a double duvet not 2 singles.
Bathroom was lovely but lacked privacy, the doors to the bathroom were glass with frosted strips therefore you had to be comfortable with the person you were sharing with!!

Good location, within walking distance to all the main attractions.

Would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your commenst about your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that this was perfect.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    393
    182
    92
    55
See reviews for
53
458
57
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice hotel, right next to tram stops so great base away from all the noise of Dam square etc. Rooms were comfortable and quiet.
Cons:
You would have to be very comfortable with your partner if sharing a room as the toilet and shower area are glass with frosted strips to cover your torso and is visible from the room. The doors to toilet do not meet so poo smells escaped into room!

Lack of privacy

We asked for a double bed but got twin beds that were not locked together so it was difficult to cuddle without falling through the middle, disappointing!

Pros:
Beds were comfy
Great quiet location near trams, bars and restaurants.
Pleasant helpful staff
Good shower
Nice toiletries
Kettle, tea and coffee in room
Would definitely stay again but only if sharing with my beloved!

Room Tip: Room on 5 floor lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel was very helpful with helping us navigate where we needed to be. Used the Tram to locate a friend in another area. Easy to use but pay attention to where you need to be. The hotel bed was awesome! Great comfort!! I will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Close to great restaurants and beer establishments.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel was first class the most comfortable bed i have slept in, our room was quiet, fantastic location, we didnt have the breakfast as it was too expensive but ate at the Opera Cafe at the end of the street which was lovely, i would recommend this hotel to anyone staying Amsterdam

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Bought this trip via expedia for my husbands birthday. Was brilliant. I emailed the hotel prior to visit as I wanted a cake to be in the room for my husbands birthday. They were so helpful, they got a cheese cake and some battery operated tea lighter candles. Was all ready when we got to the room. I was charged for the cake, but it was not a ridiculously inflated hotel price. We were upgraded to a suit, with a big bathroom, separate toilet. Got a free drink vouchers for the hotel
Bar, it was pretty expensive in though. We did not eat there so could not comment on that. The only little negative is that room was noisy, a little sound proofing may help. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location 1 minute walk from Rembrandt Square, easy to access from Schiphol Airport and close to everything that you need to see in Amsterdam. As standard practice, hotels in Amsterdam are quite expensive compared to other European cities, but considering the above, the price for the room is fairly reasonable (for Amsterdam pricing). The downside is the expensive breakfast (18€) but you have plenty of choice of small cafes and bars closeby. Rooms are pretty small but very clean modern furnished.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and remarks.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I was at the Eden in January 2013. It was a works weekend away. The hotel is situated in a great position within the theatre district which leads to an abundance of places of interest as well as fantastic restaurants of varying tastes.
A beautifully imposing building commanding a great position.
The staff were very efficient and polite and always willing to advise. The hotel gave Internet access which helped in printing off return boarding passes which was great.
The rooms were a bit neat but sufficient with a modern feel to them. Beds were just heaven as were the showers which made you feel totally revitalised. The upper floors were served sufficiently with good lifts.
There was a mini bar in the room should you wish to use it but I thought it was very expensive. It had a good selection of internationally branded spirits, beers, chocolate and crisps etc. this is just added to your room and laid for on departure.
The bar was modern and funky with a huge selection of drinks. Very well stocked. The bar service was very formal but also polite. The prices are not for the faint hearted. I bought a large Bacardi and coke and a large Brandy and coke and it cost me 39 euros. Needless to say I did not hang around for long at the bar. ( my only real gripe ).
Breakfast was in the main dining hall which again had a fantastic feeling about it with its beautiful architecture and high ceilings and comfortable seating arrangements. Breakfast itself was your usual selection of cereal, toast, pastries, fruit juices, yoghurt etc as well as your pick from the hot trays, sausage
, bacon etc. all the hot food was fresh and not left to fester under heat lamps. It was continually topped up. Fantastic.
Tea and coffee was brought to you and you could refill as required. Again good attention to personal service.

The hotel was a great base for getting around and I can recommend a canal trip which is truly the best way to get around.

I was also captivated by the trams and cyclists as they gave the place the impression of a busy city going about its business. I even seen dogs on bikes ( with their owners of course ).

In summary, I would recommend the Hampshire to anyone but admittedly there are more cost effective solutions if you are on a budget. The hotel is worth the money but is not a budget hotel.

Treat yourself, you won't regret it

Tom c

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.