We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location 1 minute walk from Rembrandt Square, easy to access from Schiphol Airport and close to everything that you need to see in Amsterdam. As standard practice, hotels in Amsterdam are quite expensive compared to other European cities, but considering the above, the price for the room is fairly reasonable (for Amsterdam pricing). The downside is the expensive breakfast (18€) but you have plenty of choice of small cafes and bars closeby. Rooms are pretty small but very clean modern furnished.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and remarks.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    381
    177
    88
    55
See reviews for
52
446
57
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I was at the Eden in January 2013. It was a works weekend away. The hotel is situated in a great position within the theatre district which leads to an abundance of places of interest as well as fantastic restaurants of varying tastes.
A beautifully imposing building commanding a great position.
The staff were very efficient and polite and always willing to advise. The hotel gave Internet access which helped in printing off return boarding passes which was great.
The rooms were a bit neat but sufficient with a modern feel to them. Beds were just heaven as were the showers which made you feel totally revitalised. The upper floors were served sufficiently with good lifts.
There was a mini bar in the room should you wish to use it but I thought it was very expensive. It had a good selection of internationally branded spirits, beers, chocolate and crisps etc. this is just added to your room and laid for on departure.
The bar was modern and funky with a huge selection of drinks. Very well stocked. The bar service was very formal but also polite. The prices are not for the faint hearted. I bought a large Bacardi and coke and a large Brandy and coke and it cost me 39 euros. Needless to say I did not hang around for long at the bar. ( my only real gripe ).
Breakfast was in the main dining hall which again had a fantastic feeling about it with its beautiful architecture and high ceilings and comfortable seating arrangements. Breakfast itself was your usual selection of cereal, toast, pastries, fruit juices, yoghurt etc as well as your pick from the hot trays, sausage
, bacon etc. all the hot food was fresh and not left to fester under heat lamps. It was continually topped up. Fantastic.
Tea and coffee was brought to you and you could refill as required. Again good attention to personal service.

The hotel was a great base for getting around and I can recommend a canal trip which is truly the best way to get around.

I was also captivated by the trams and cyclists as they gave the place the impression of a busy city going about its business. I even seen dogs on bikes ( with their owners of course ).

In summary, I would recommend the Hampshire to anyone but admittedly there are more cost effective solutions if you are on a budget. The hotel is worth the money but is not a budget hotel.

Treat yourself, you won't regret it

Tom c

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have just booked my fourth stay at this hotel :)

Amsterdam hotel rooms can be really pricey and I find that rooms are always great value at this hotel. The location is great and feels really safe. Its easy to find and has a big hotel feel which you can usually only get for double the price in Amsterdam. Breakfast is expensive - get breakfast at Greenwoods instead! I have booked for business and leisure, but wouldn't recommend for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are happy to hear that you had good stay.
Our breakfast price is based on the many product that we have, we would like to offer a special breakfast for everyone.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

There was 6 of us who stayed here for a long weekend. We were very surprised by how nice the hotel was! Very modern and warm décor. Big bar (which makes the best Pina Coladas). The room was nice.. Clean! The only thing which i thought was weird was the fact that they had pushed to singles together to make a double.. And two single duvets. Room service was available.

I thought the staff were Very friendly and helpful especially the concierge who booked us taxis and they can also store your luggage for the day when you check out.

The breakfast was nice.. But not good quality, but I suppose that's what you get when its a buffet feeding the whole hotel.

They had chipolatas, all kinds of juices, bacon, scrambled eggs, croissants, fruit, toast and mini pastries. Good coffee too.

Could never get a knife and fork though.

If you want to be in the centre of it all this is were you should stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
Don't forget to 'like' us on Facebook.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a very short stay, for just over a weekend with my friend in Amsterdam. I have to say that the location was perfect! It was right in the middle of the city and it was close by to all the touristic points. We could easily walk around to go to all the places of interest, even late in the evening! There are really nice bars and clubs around the area and I feel safe walking around even by myself.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is in a very good location, perfect for walking to all of the things that Amsterdam has to offer.
I had booked a double room for myself and my husband to celebrate his birthday. Our room was ok, cleanish and acceptable facilities, though not a 4 star.... Instead of a double bed we had 2 singles pushed together and 2 separate quilts ! I asked at reception if they could give us a double room WITH a double bed and I was told rather curtly that we only 'requested' a double bed and therefore it wasnt guaranteed. I made it clear I wasnt happy and was told by the 2 ladies on reception, in no uncertain terms, that there was nothing they could do about it.., terrible attitudes, both of them.
Because of the attitude of the staff we DID NOT have breakfast there and we DID NOT have dinner on any of our 4 days. On a slightly positive note, when we left there was a gentleman on reception who apologised and gave us a discount of the city tax... I would have preferred good service !!

Room Tip: Dont ask for a double bed, I dont think there are any....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations about your stay.
We will inform our reception staff about this matter you have mentioned.
After all we hope you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The subject says it all really. This is a run down and very grubby hotel, it's 4 star hotel rating seems generous. Badly stained carpets, shower tiles slimy but it offers a good location. We were on the 5th floor so the noise levels were ok given the proximity to so many bars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for your comments and observations.
We regret that you did not had a pleasant stay with us.
We will inform our housekeeping staff about these matters.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.