We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, adequate sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great location, great price, adequate sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Given the great central location and the cost for the room, I would say this was a good deal. But of course a deal comes with a catch. The rooms are not that large, the bed not the best in the world. A bit of wear and tear evident in fixtures and fittings. Staff were all pleasant. So, not bad. (watch out for rooms on lower floors on the side of the tram - that will be noisy).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you book. Definitely don't want a room on the road with the tram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thnak you for your comments on this website1
We will use these comments to improve our level of service!
We look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    381
    178
    88
    55
See reviews for
52
447
57
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for a week, for work, great location was able to walk to many near by bars and places to eat. Room was clean, the bed was one of the best for comfort. I requested a room on the top floor away from the road, and it was so peaceful. Bathroom and shower, clean very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place has not improved, despite its change of name over the years.

The fruit in the buffet was covered in flies. My room had a filthy phone and bedside table. My bathroom wasn't cleaned. I had to ask three times for a TV remote control. The carpet was not vacuumed in my room. The lobby carpet smells foul.

This hotel does not meet the expectation for its price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments!
We will use these to improve our level of service!
We will start with renovating our rooms next month!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Executive summary....the place is a dump. To be fair, I guess that this is two hotels (the Hampshire & the Eden) and people make a big deal of the difference between the two --but who cares? Either way, the place is simply not that great based on my experience. Check-in was a fiasco and late by more than an hour (4PM) and when I finally got the room, it was a dump. It certainly had the basics but the place was filthy and pretty worn out. In particular, the carpet was filthy and smelled pretty bad --especially as it was a bit rainy while we were there. Last, the bathrooms were something you would expect to see out of a Cold War communist prison block. BTW, there is no toilet paper. Instead they have this little plastic box that dispenses tiny sheets of 240-grit sandpaper. If that is not bad enough, this cheap dispenser never stays closed and one has to sit hunched over as, otherwise, the dispenser jabs you in the back.

I try to be fair and balanced in my reviews --so I will have to end this one now as I am hard-pressed to find a single reason to suggest that you stay here. It should be noted that the location is great as it is right on Rembrandtplein and makes a good home base to see Amsterdam. But this is also the very same reason to stay somewhere else as there are many hotels and inns right near there and one doesn't need to settle for this place.

As I write this, I should have given it one star. However, I will still give it two as I think the staff was trying to do the right thing --but the odds were against them.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Go to another hotel --or a park bench. Both would be better,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your observations and regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.
We are starting next month with our renovation from the rooms and lobby!
We hope to welcome you again when this is ready!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hampshire hotel Rembrandt Square in September.

We arrived using the Hampshire Hotel entrance but ended up in the other side of the building for the Eden Hotel to check in. Check in was swift and staff reasonably friendly.

I think they use the Eden Reception as it's bigger than the Hampshire one.

We were directed back to where we came from for the lifts.

Our room was on the 5th floor, it was large, clean, tidy but very dark (we booked a junior suite). Whilst it had plenty of windows even with the curtains open it was still very dark.

We had tea/coffee making facilities but no milk, we don't think there was powdered milk either, we asked reception but it was late and the guy couldn't find any! We also had a coffee machine but no capsules, really couldn't be bothered to ask for them as well. Even after the maid had been still no milk or capsules for the coffee machine. The fridge didn't open and it looked like it had been locked, it required a little prising open which worked in the end. Beware if you remove anything from the mini bar it will be charged to the room. We were intrigued by the can looking object so took it off to have a look, fortunately I contacted reception to explain!

The bathroom was modern looking, very clean but had glass doors with frosting in the centre, these aren't doors as they don't fully reach the top or bottom of the frame and don't meet in the middle.

The room had aircon which is a bit of plus but you have to use it as the windows are locked.

The bed was extremely comfortable (2 singles joined together).

The shower had virtually no power to it at all!

I can't comment on the restaurant or bar as we didn't use either, we refused to pay the extortionate amount for breakfast, there are enough cafes/restaurant's nearby that serve a reasonable breakfast for €9-€12.

I would say the staff were or were not friendly or helpful but I'm not sure if they have any, we only saw people on reception there didn't appear to be anyone else around at all during our 3 night stay! I did find that at least one of the members of staff on reception to be a bit scruffy and unprofessional!

Location is great, just off the Rembrandt Square with plenty or bars, restaurants and clubs to keep you entertained in the evenings. If you want to venture further it's a 20 minute walk to the Dam square or a short tram ride. The tram stop is about 3 minutes walk away from the hotel (make sure you use the Hampshire entrance or you wont find it as easy).

Overall a nice room, lacks some attention to detail and doesn't warrant the 4 star price tag. Would I stay here again, no but would probably find something around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your experience with our hotel!
We will use your comments carefully for also other guests!
We look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Receptionists are arrogant, unprofessional and uncaring.
The bathroom small and dirty.
Sheets dirty.
Room very noisy.
The only goog thing is the location close to Rembrandtplein, but it's full of very good hotel in the area so why this ?

Room Tip: choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our hotel
We will use your comments to improve our level of service in these matters, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is not to be confused with the EDEN Hampshire Hotel which shares the same ground floor lobby, staff, and other amenities. I stayed in both hotels - the Hampshire Rembrandt Square hotel rooms are newer, nicer, and have a water kettle with coffee/tea. The Eden hotel, by contrast, is in an older wing with worn hallway areas but updated rooms with no water kettle or coffee/tea facilities. (To switch to the Rembrandt Square hotel would be considered an upgrade). The location on Rembrandt Square is ideal since there is a tram stop a few minutes away, and Rembrandt Square is very centrally located. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable with free maps and directions. The front desk staff went out of their way to help me printing out some forms I needed to apply for a temporary passport. They also made some phone calls on my behalf to assist me. I would stay in either hotel again since the rooms are updated and comfortable, but prefer the newer Hampshire Rembrandt Square hotel over the Eden Hampshire Hotel because it is newer and I really need coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Hampshire Rembrandt Hotel over the Eden Hampshire Hotel since rooms are newer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvsior!
We hope to welcome you again1

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.