We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better than average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No better than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hampshire hotel Rembrandt Square in September.

We arrived using the Hampshire Hotel entrance but ended up in the other side of the building for the Eden Hotel to check in. Check in was swift and staff reasonably friendly.

I think they use the Eden Reception as it's bigger than the Hampshire one.

We were directed back to where we came from for the lifts.

Our room was on the 5th floor, it was large, clean, tidy but very dark (we booked a junior suite). Whilst it had plenty of windows even with the curtains open it was still very dark.

We had tea/coffee making facilities but no milk, we don't think there was powdered milk either, we asked reception but it was late and the guy couldn't find any! We also had a coffee machine but no capsules, really couldn't be bothered to ask for them as well. Even after the maid had been still no milk or capsules for the coffee machine. The fridge didn't open and it looked like it had been locked, it required a little prising open which worked in the end. Beware if you remove anything from the mini bar it will be charged to the room. We were intrigued by the can looking object so took it off to have a look, fortunately I contacted reception to explain!

The bathroom was modern looking, very clean but had glass doors with frosting in the centre, these aren't doors as they don't fully reach the top or bottom of the frame and don't meet in the middle.

The room had aircon which is a bit of plus but you have to use it as the windows are locked.

The bed was extremely comfortable (2 singles joined together).

The shower had virtually no power to it at all!

I can't comment on the restaurant or bar as we didn't use either, we refused to pay the extortionate amount for breakfast, there are enough cafes/restaurant's nearby that serve a reasonable breakfast for €9-€12.

I would say the staff were or were not friendly or helpful but I'm not sure if they have any, we only saw people on reception there didn't appear to be anyone else around at all during our 3 night stay! I did find that at least one of the members of staff on reception to be a bit scruffy and unprofessional!

Location is great, just off the Rembrandt Square with plenty or bars, restaurants and clubs to keep you entertained in the evenings. If you want to venture further it's a 20 minute walk to the Dam square or a short tram ride. The tram stop is about 3 minutes walk away from the hotel (make sure you use the Hampshire entrance or you wont find it as easy).

Overall a nice room, lacks some attention to detail and doesn't warrant the 4 star price tag. Would I stay here again, no but would probably find something around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your experience with our hotel!
We will use your comments carefully for also other guests!
We look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    374
    172
    86
    52
See reviews for
51
437
56
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Receptionists are arrogant, unprofessional and uncaring.
The bathroom small and dirty.
Sheets dirty.
Room very noisy.
The only goog thing is the location close to Rembrandtplein, but it's full of very good hotel in the area so why this ?

Room Tip: choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our hotel
We will use your comments to improve our level of service in these matters, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is not to be confused with the EDEN Hampshire Hotel which shares the same ground floor lobby, staff, and other amenities. I stayed in both hotels - the Hampshire Rembrandt Square hotel rooms are newer, nicer, and have a water kettle with coffee/tea. The Eden hotel, by contrast, is in an older wing with worn hallway areas but updated rooms with no water kettle or coffee/tea facilities. (To switch to the Rembrandt Square hotel would be considered an upgrade). The location on Rembrandt Square is ideal since there is a tram stop a few minutes away, and Rembrandt Square is very centrally located. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable with free maps and directions. The front desk staff went out of their way to help me printing out some forms I needed to apply for a temporary passport. They also made some phone calls on my behalf to assist me. I would stay in either hotel again since the rooms are updated and comfortable, but prefer the newer Hampshire Rembrandt Square hotel over the Eden Hampshire Hotel because it is newer and I really need coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Hampshire Rembrandt Hotel over the Eden Hampshire Hotel since rooms are newer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvsior!
We hope to welcome you again1

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for a young couple. Close to lots of good places to eat and the popular bars and nightclubs. We were able to walk everywhere in the city we wanted to go. When we arrived (10am) we were able to go directly to our room and we were very happy to find out that we had been upgraded (free) from a basic room to a suite on the top floor. The room was very clean and spacious! We had a corner unit with many windows and it was nice and quiet the whole trip. I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam who wants to be centrally located and stay in complete comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks you for this compliment!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a great place to stay.Very well priced .Lovely bathroom.Very comfy beds lovely linen.Great location so close to trams shops.The staff very helpful stored our bags for us.loved having tea coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor!
we look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel seems very well organised to receive overseas travellers and the staff were very helpful with tips on directions around town and located close to many points of interest. Like others, I found the carpets a little dirty although this was not a major concern given our short stay and limited time in the room.

Check-in and out was pleasant and the bar downstairs was good for a quiet drink before heading out. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this to others who need a place in Amsterdam to call base-camp if they are spending the majority of their time visiting the millions of places that are close by!

I'd give this three stars but not quite four :-)

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!
We hope to welcome you again next time!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite his good location this is a real fake 4 stars hotel. First of all the 4 star part does not have an reception. This is common with a 3 stars hotel, Eden. Imagine entering in a hotel and you don't find any reception. You are redirected to another hotel , lower class to make the check in. Restaurant is common and at the level of 3 stars. Very crowded, tired equipment's, food every where. We preferred to serve the breakfast elsewhere because of the conditions. Rooms are very old, not cleaned properly. a lot of dust in the room, windows are very dirty. Nobody is cleaning the corners. A totally nightmare. The two elevators are not linked and all the time they are running empty. You don't have space in front of the hotel to unload the luggage.

Room Tip: Don't chose the rooms with inside view . The view is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our hotel
We will use your comments to improve our level of service in these matters, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.