We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortable and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for 3 nights stay. good size rooms, comfortable beds, amamzing rainfall showers and lots of information. friendly and easy going staff. fantastic location, did not use public transport once. majority of attractions within walking decent. would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: one with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    398
    185
    93
    57
See reviews for
54
465
59
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was with a friend in December 2011. The location is the best because you can walk everywhere in the city. Anyway there are trans close to the hotel The rooms are quite good, the wifi connection should be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments!
We will check our internet server to resolve this problem!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't expert anything above average and mean anything.
Rooms, service, reception check-in / out ,everything to a standard that would just about score 4 star.
If you want a very average 4 star hotel at a average price your love this.
Do not go looking or hoping for and frills

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for these comments!
We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall we had our expectations met. Good size on the rooms, ours had windows towards the street, but that worked out fine. Breakfast was quite good, but you can eat just as well and cheaper outside which we did most mornings. Found an empty soda bottle under the bed by accident, but otherwise it didn't seem dirty. A hot tub as well. The provided soaps and such seemed quite good. Location is good, plenty of pubs and stuff on Rembrandtsplein.

So for the weird and stupid details:
The door locks at night, which makes getting in if you arrive late a little bit clumsy. The reception is quite far from the door...

The door to the bathroom is made of frosted glass and even sports only partial coverage of the door frame. Privacy? Well...

Weirdo automagic minibar. They expect a fee to empty it to allow you to cool your own stuff. Lukewarm water it is.

And finally the bathroom is tiled, and ours was not heated. Could not figure out how to turn it on. Visited in may, and the floor was ice-cold.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Knottila,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.


We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

we stayed there last year November 2012 for 4 nights - Nov 4 to Nov 8 - room was in terrible state - lots of stains on the carpet - staff most unhelpful - nobody cared - front office staff could not care less - breakfast very expensive and very bad - never again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest(s),

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room/breakfast and our staff.
We will use your comments to improve our level of servicefor our next guest(s), thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!


Yours sincerely,
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam


Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4days in July, found reception staff abrupt and unhelpful (apart from a young girl with blonde hair) 1 of the concierge was helpful, the other ok. The room was disappointing, bad stains on the carpet and the bathroom was dirty. Asked for another pillow as it was very soft and lumpy, the maid had to ask permission from her supervisor!! The hotel was central but there are so many to choose from, I wouldn't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr/mrs Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room and our staff.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service for our next guest(s) and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!


Warm regards,
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam


Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Assels, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel, good placement. Quiet environment, since there is no other traffic than trams, but still very central. There is a trams just outside the door. There are a lot of Places where you can get a beer, and get something to eat in quiet environment, but with a lot of people.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.