We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have returned several times to this hotel. I love the location - Rembrandt Square is wonderful! Close to everything, great to sit and read a book or people watch. Full of nightlife. The rooms I have had have been clean, spacious for Amsterdam. The bathroom was modern and stylish. Breakfast was excellent and huge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments for tripadvisor.com. We are truly delighted that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and that you are such an enthusiastic guest. I hope to be able to welcome you in person on your next trip to Amsterdam. I wish you all the best until then and thank you again for your kind words!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    397
    184
    93
    57
See reviews for
54
463
59
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are Mother and daughter 55 and 35. We walked in from the Hampshire Hotel side on Rembrandt Sq and we were surprised at how nice it looked.

We arrived at 12 midday,check in is from 3 but we were going to ask to leave our luggage, but they gave us a room straight away. The room was lovely, spacious with a very comfortable bed and had everything we needed, desk kettle hairdryer everything apart from an iron. The TV came on saying welcome to the hotel with my name, it had a couple of English channels and 2 kids ones cbeebies & cbbc, great if you have kids. This weekend i didn't and watched tv for all of 2 mins! No complaints, staff good, hotel 2 mins from tram or walking distance from most things but was quite cold so we didn't walk all that much.

Overall i wouldn't hesitate to stay again, we got a very good secret deal on booking.com of 50 euros and would say worth a lot more. I requested a quiet room and we overlooked a kind of roof annex thing but was surrounded all sides by what looked like rooms and slept very soundly.

My only complaint would be, that the room needed a deep clean, the bit of the bath between the toilet and bath screen hadn't been cleaned in a while and was filthy and the hairdryer cord was very dusty but I can live with that!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.com. We will pass your feedback on to our housekeeping department. Other than that, we are very pleased to learn you had such a wonderful stay in Amsterdam ánd in our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back real soon. Should you need an iron and board then, just ask at our reception desk. We supply them upon request!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the location can not be beat, the best in amsterdam, rooms are very quiet to be in the middle of the action, specially on saturday nights, great location, very good price, the rooms are small,dusty , not all that clean, the heat/ac unit was incredibly dusty, but still able to "live" … we did ask for a person to come and clean, it was done, but not in a great way. Overall is good, I always travel with my lysol to go, doesn't matter I still cleaned. If I have to choose I will stay there again, is not all bad, just the location overcome anything. I did stayed in many even luxury hotels overseas, still ANY AMERICAN CHAIN HOTEL can NOT BE BEAT, the service and amenities that we are so used to, can not be compared, specially in europe, where I have no idea AS AN TO WHY HAVING AN IRON IN THE ROOM IT IS NOT PART of the expected amenities included in the room rate. Upon asking somebody in this eden hotel brand for an iron NO ONE IN FIVE DAYS STOP BY OUR ROOM TO GIVE US THE IRON, that is something I just DO NO EXPECT. overall give them the benefit of the doubt, hopefully somebody from that property will read this review and do SOMETHING about it.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback through tripadvisor.com, it enables us to improve our service, something we always seek to do. We are happy to learn that you had a great stay in our city and our hotel. We do, however, take your comments seriously and will review them with our housekeeping department. We have learned that our guests appreciate as much closet room as they can get, therefore we bring an iron board and iron to our guests upon request. Apparently something went wrong in your case. Please ask again during your next stay, normally it should not be any problem at all. The same goes for any other amenities you might miss.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Amsterdam last weekend for my birthday celebrations and we had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We were very kindly upgraded to it being my birthday and the room was lovely, very clean, well kept and modern. They were maintained very well too during our stay too. There was a lovely Piano Bar downstairs which provided great entertainment and drinks. We didn't eat in the hotel but it was always busy. Small touches like free drinks etc were lovely and really made the stay that little bit special. Was only a short walk to Dam Square and other attractions and a quick tram ride from the Central Train Station and provided a lovely base for our weekend. Only downside was no wifi in our room, but we were on holiday so wasn't really needed and there was a computer in the reception that we used to check our flights! Will definitely recommend and hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to learn you had such a wonderful birthday weekend in our hotel. Thank you for all your kind words! As far as the WiFi goes: we do have free WiFi in the lobby and free cable internet access in all rooms, which can be activated through our TV system. Furthermore, we are happy to be able to inform you that we will have free WiFi throughout the entire hotel this spring. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

When to Amsterdam for a 4 day holiday. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the main train station.
The hotel staff were very good and polite, The rooms very clean and you could see its very well kept. We did not eat at the Hotel Restaurant but there always people eating. All in all excellent value for money.. Will be staying there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you again on your next trip. Thank you very much for your friendly words!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel. It is in a great location. Less than 10 minutes on the lijn 9 tram from Central Station.
The rooms are clean,bright and modern.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate your request.
Natascha , who is on the breakfast room reception in the mornings even reconized me.Her English is brilliant and made us very welcome.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The noise from the trams on the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper can be a bit annoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review on www.tripadvisor.com. We are, of course, delighted to read you are such a satisfied and regular guest in our hotel and that you intend to keep coming back. We will pass your compliments on to our staff and specifically to Natascha. I hope to be able to welcome you personally on your next trip. If you have any special questions or recommendations, please feel free to ask for me. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.