We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel...cant believe all the bad reviews...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel...cant believe all the bad reviews...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is super clean modern & the beds are so so so comfy...there were 6 of us & we all were very impressed...Breakfast was beautiful & good quality, smoked salmon, fresh coffee (from bean) fresh juice etc...loved the piano bar & smack bang where you need to be for all the hot spots...will defo be back to stay again

Room Tip: font hesitate to book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    399
    187
    94
    58
See reviews for
54
468
59
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We cannot comment on the standard rooms at this hotel, as upon arrival we were upgraded to an apartment on the canal, just round the corner from the main hotel. Obviously we were quite excited by this. The apartment was nice, however it was a bit neglected and old-fashioned. But nonetheless, an apartment. There were big windows in the living room overlooking the Amstel Canal. There was a kitchenette, where we were able to make ourselves breakfast each morning. The bedroom was nice, a standard size. There was a small patio outside (overlooking other apartments' patios), but we did not use this as we don't smoke & the weather wasn't great. The bathroom was nice. The separate toilet was small and had a weird fishy smell which was unpleasant and didn't go despite the cleaners coming each day. Despite some slight flaws to the apartment, overall it was nice and great to have some extra space to spread out. The location was great and easily walkable from the city centre and the museumplein and vondelpark. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel, however not necessarily the apartment as at the proper price it would not have been worth it. Judging by what we saw of the hotel itself, it is very clean and modern.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Liked the location- just off Rembrandt Sq & within easy walk of shopping district & other 'well known' attractions ;-)
Great size room in comparison with other city centre rooms. Nice bathroom with separate WC & walk in shower + bath & extra shower.
Free wifi in lobby- would be nice if it was in room.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was really nervous about booking this Hotel as it was my husband and my first trip ever to Europe and I had no idea where we should stay in Amsterdam (or anywhere else we traveled in Europe). I did hours and hours of extensive research on Amsterdam and what district to stay in and was stoked with the location of this place! My husband commented several times whilst we were in Amsterdam that "you did good honey with this place". I'm a complete scaredy cat and the location here is perfect and extremely safe. The Rembrandt Square which is approximately 50 metres up the road is a great wee lively hub and everything you want to see is right at your finger tips! I love to shop and the cheap shopping street is just up the road!

The hotel itself was great! Apparently rooms in general in Amsterdam are small but ours was perfect for our stay (however I heard some Americans complain about the size of theirs twice and be relocated by the extremely friendly and helpful staff) ...

The bathroom was great and the only downside if you're looking for faults is the carpet looked a bit stained in parts in our room but other than that ... this is the perfect hotel to stay in!

If it's your first trip to Amsterdam I would highly recommend hiring a bike for a day to get around. The hotel have some so you don't have to worry about an expensive bond at a hirer place. And if like me you're not a great person on a bike don't worry ... bikes rule the road on Amsterdam and seem to have the right of way everywhere. It's a very great way to get around such a bustling city!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had a very small window in our room ... but that didn't bother us :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Admittedly, I got a great deal on Booking.com for about 90 euro's a night (breakfast not included) which was a bargain for the amount of space I got. There was a slight issue with the plumbing (noisy) but the room was nicely designed and at that price, unbeatable when it came to location.
Great piano bar reserved for hotel guests as well by the way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

You really couldn't ask for a better location to start exploring Amsterdam, right outside is the canal with the traditional canal houses and an abundance of cafe's and bars.
Our room was very tastefully decorated with an unusual layout, the bathroom was very luxurious and it was cleaned everyday.
We didn't take the tram as we much preferred to walk around this beautiful city. One night we did take a taxi back to the hotel and were charged a 25 Euros for just getting into it so beware!
So much to see & do, it's hard to fit it all in!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very good location. Close to everything. We were upgraded free of charge. Traveled with 1 year old baby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.