We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Veteran to your Saves list
The Veteran
Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We booked The Veteran over the phone a month in advance of New Year 2006/7. Leaving it that late we could not be too choosey and were grateful for what we were offered - especially once we saw the hotel's website.

However, it took a number of emails to confirm the booking - and on arrival we could see why...the 'coffeeshop' next door! The staff were friendly but a little stoned and it took 20mins to check in! The steep narrow stairs to our rooms, the one toilet and shower between approximately 11 people and the theft warnings were enough for us to decide to check out and risk somewhere else!

We are budget travellers and all we ask for is clean, secure and cheap. The Veteran is clean...but not secure and at 140Euro (New Year price) for a double room - not cheap.

  • Liked — Close to City centre
  • Disliked — Misleading website
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S&M72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

Considering this was the only hotel in central Amsterdam with availability over New Year's weekend even several months in advance, we were glad to get the booking. Any other time it probably would have been fine especially for the price which was about 146 euros ($194) per night for a room (with private bathroom) that slept 6 (one queen bed and 4 twins) and cold breakfast (minimal but sufficient) included, but this being New Year's weekend it was incredibly noisy outside into the wee hours of the night and very difficult to sleep. The lovely couple that run the place are very nice and though it is old and smelly, they keep it reasonably clean and in working order (hot water, good water pressure, etc). The location on the corner of Rembrandt Square and on a lovely canal is terrific, though be warned if you are staying there on a party weekend like we were (and keep in mind it's always a party to one degree or another in Amsterdam) that it is a very busy/noisy area at night and this building has very thin exterior walls and windows so you'll need to be a very heavy sleeper or might not get any sleep at all. Expect a strong smell of marijuana from the "coffee shop" right next door too. Maybe an interior room on a higher floor would be better, since the one we had was on the ground floor facing the square, but I think it would be similar anywhere in the building.

  • Liked — It was available, price, location
  • Disliked — Old, smelly, noisy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2006

I spent 2 nights at this hotel, the owner aki ye is friendly, the room i had was probably the most ugly of the hotel (in the basement-very ugly decoration with teddy bears paintings, pink walls) but the price is fair, and the location Rembrantplein is very near the center.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

We were 4 friends that stayed in a room for 5 (1 bunk bed, 1 single bed and 1 double bed) for 2 nights. It cost us 27.5 euros each per night. This is not much more then we would've payed in a hostel, but here we got an actual hotel - with new towels every day, good and clean bathroom and a very nice breakfast (nothing fancy, but was a good beginning of the day). The owners were very nice and the location is great. The only problem is that the hotel is in old house, and like most houses it has very steep stairs - a problem when trying to move your luggage. But compared to the price and the service it was minor.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel. We had originally reserved a room at the Thorbecke hotel but when we arrived at midnight they didn't have any rooms left and we were sent to The Veteran Hotel. It was 59 Euro for a Saturday night, 5% more if charged to a credit card. Our room was just off the reception area and slightly underground. The room was very basic with a bed, cough, sink, and TV. I didn't check if the TV worked or not. You could hear water dripping in the pipes all night. The toilet was across a hall, as was the shower. My husband tried to take a shower at 4am and only got 3 minutes of warm water before it went cold. I am not sure about the breakfast as we didn't go to it. The location is wonderful for a Saturday night, it's located in Rembrandt Square where there's a lot of clubs and bars. I would not stay here again, but in a pinch if you needed a really cheap place to stay that is adequate then this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

My husband & I stayed at the Veteran for 8 days/7 nights in April 2005. This was our first European trip and we had to do it on a budget, our only must-haves were a clean room, private bath and a location close to city center. We didn't have much expectations, but we did do some research before picking this hotel.

We booked online through bookings and received an email confirmation promptly. When I emailed them a few weeks later to change our arrival date we also received a revised confirmation quickly. The email also mentioned that we would pay on arrival. We did read somewhere that a lot of budget hotel in Holland do not accept credit card payments or will charge a fee for it, so we came prepared to pay cash upfront for our entire stay (we just cashed some travellers cheques upon arrival at Schiphol). We had no problem with this.

We got to the hotel around 8AM so our room was not ready yet, but check-in was quick & pleasant and the proprietor let us stash our luggages behimd the front desk and he gave us maps and brochures so we could explore in the meantime.

They have steep stairs to the upper rooms, and steep stairs in general are common in Amsterdam (try descending one of these after sampling the local coffeshops...). But we got a room on the 1st floor with a big window overlooking the canal. The bed was clean, the heater kept us warm despite the near-constant rain while we were there and the TV had cable service. There wasn't a bathroom per se, but a private toilet stall, a good-sized shower stall and a sink on one corner of the room. All of them were clean and the only complaint we had was that there were certain times during the day when the hot water in the shower doesn't get very hot (but still warm). I assumed those were the times everybody else in the hotel takes their showers too. They do not provide little bottles of toiletries nor do they provide towels.

We were very pleased with the location: facing Herengracht canal, around the corner from Rembrandtplein (lots of bars & nighspots), a block from #4 tram and only a short walk to the flower market, the Singel & numerous eating establishments. we felt we were able to explore & experience Amsterdam quite easily.

We never made it to their free breakfast. However, the staff were nice & always helpful when we needed. We were pleased with the accomodation for the budget price we paid (69 euro per night) and would stay here again or recommend this hotel for other budget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dineyanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos aires
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

We stayed in the Hotel The Veteran 3 nights, we had a room in second floor, with shared bath,always perfectly clean, and super super view of the Canal, the room is shiny and big, number 3, the location is perfect and most of all the couple that attends you are very very polite and nice.

Helpful?
9 Thank PatricitaPepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel
City Hotel
#135 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#265 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#220 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#130 of 207 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#110 of 207 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing