We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, I loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Veteran to your Saves list
The Veteran
Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really, I loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

it's a very strange hostel: the position is perfect, just in center of Amsterdam, and breakfast in included. My room was double with shared bathroom: very clean, the bathroom too. Quite hot, because we were in "the attic". And yes...climbing skills are required to get to your room. But I don't really have anything to complain about. Nice and quite cheap (72€ per room per night).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    25
    12
    21
See reviews for
4
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Girdwood, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place was perfect for me and my husband. Conveniently located, good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. We overslept one morning and missed the 11 am checkout, and the staff was so nice about it- didn't charge us or anything. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woudenberg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Coronation day of the new king. A bit curious after the bad reviews on this site. We stayed in the four persons room with bath and toilet. Good beds , clean sheets , old but clean bathroom. Around the corner of Rembrandt Square , so not directly above the noise. Friendly manager, simple but okay breakfast . Absolutely value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back, was not expecting much and for the price it would be probably all right (if not the extra guests - yes bed bugs come free of charge). Really basic setup- depending on the room. Entrance to some rooms requires a bit of rock climbing skills - stairs are fairy steep so getting into the room maybe a challenge after night out. Rooms facing Thorbeckeplain are bit on the loud side as there are pubs and coffee shops galore around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012, it was lovely :) Wasn't the cheapest but wasn't too expensive either. The owners were lovely and helpful! Breakfast was included, always a nice bonus. Staircases were very tight and windy but we loved it; it was quirky and we have lovely memories there. We would return :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent my 60th. birthday in the worst place I have stayed in in 45 years of travelling. The room was a dump despite paying 120 euros/night. I paid by credit card and was charged 5% (no mention of this charge in their website). Some sign say `Hotel`, others `Hostel`. These are 2 different categories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.