We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money at a great spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Veteran to your Saves list
The Veteran
Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Woudenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money at a great spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Coronation day of the new king. A bit curious after the bad reviews on this site. We stayed in the four persons room with bath and toilet. Good beds , clean sheets , old but clean bathroom. Around the corner of Rembrandt Square , so not directly above the noise. Friendly manager, simple but okay breakfast . Absolutely value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    30
    14
    23
See reviews for
5
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back, was not expecting much and for the price it would be probably all right (if not the extra guests - yes bed bugs come free of charge). Really basic setup- depending on the room. Entrance to some rooms requires a bit of rock climbing skills - stairs are fairy steep so getting into the room maybe a challenge after night out. Rooms facing Thorbeckeplain are bit on the loud side as there are pubs and coffee shops galore around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012, it was lovely :) Wasn't the cheapest but wasn't too expensive either. The owners were lovely and helpful! Breakfast was included, always a nice bonus. Staircases were very tight and windy but we loved it; it was quirky and we have lovely memories there. We would return :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent my 60th. birthday in the worst place I have stayed in in 45 years of travelling. The room was a dump despite paying 120 euros/night. I paid by credit card and was charged 5% (no mention of this charge in their website). Some sign say `Hotel`, others `Hostel`. These are 2 different categories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in room 6 for the first two nights of our stay. This room is at the top of the building, and only has a tiny window. The room overlooks the square outside, so there was a lit of noise from football supporters enjoying the European Cup. It's a small room, and the stairs are very narrow and precarious. I slipped down the stairs twice, and have the bruises to prove it. We then moved to room 1, which is much nicer. There is a lovely view over the canal, so you can watch the boats as they go by. We were badly bitten by some bug during our sleep. Breakfast is adequate. Service fairly good. Overall, the Veteran is too expensive to offer value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Plzensky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms are, uh, modest in the extreme, and the stairways are best described as narrow, winding passages. It can even be slightly loud out front at times, but that's the benefit of staying at this hotel: It' smack in the middle of the city and there's vibrant clubs and street life everywhere around this hotel/hostel/pension. The location just cannot be beat for the ridiculous low price of a room in a great city section of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a basic sunny double room that had a lovely view over the canal, staff and breakfast were fine. However the location is very noisy, we woke many times through out the night to loud street noise and other guests continuing to party in the hostel. There is only one bathroom (1 shower and 1 toilet) to share which was a real pain. On our second night we looked at another room that had become available with a bathroom although really spacious. It was dark, grotty and just above a busy coffee shop. It would have been really noisy so we stayed in the room without a bathroom. The next morning the bathroom was so filthy we couldn't shower or even use the toilet. No good unless you are there to party until dawn and queue for the bathroom.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#129 of 195 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
#135 of 195 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#127 of 195 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#42 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#89 of 195 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, Budget Places, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.