We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the least” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Save Saved
You added The Veteran to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Veteran
Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Pilsen, Plzensky Kraj, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best of the least”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms are, uh, modest in the extreme, and the stairways are best described as narrow, winding passages. It can even be slightly loud out front at times, but that's the benefit of staying at this hotel: It' smack in the middle of the city and there's vibrant clubs and street life everywhere around this hotel/hostel/pension. The location just cannot be beat for the ridiculous low price of a room in a great city section of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    22
    11
    20
See reviews for
4
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a basic sunny double room that had a lovely view over the canal, staff and breakfast were fine. However the location is very noisy, we woke many times through out the night to loud street noise and other guests continuing to party in the hostel. There is only one bathroom (1 shower and 1 toilet) to share which was a real pain. On our second night we looked at another room that had become available with a bathroom although really spacious. It was dark, grotty and just above a busy coffee shop. It would have been really noisy so we stayed in the room without a bathroom. The next morning the bathroom was so filthy we couldn't shower or even use the toilet. No good unless you are there to party until dawn and queue for the bathroom.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After reading some reviews I was really worried about this hotel/hostal however my friends and I were pleasantly suprised. For the price it was great! If you expect more then a small family run hotel then I would suggest paying more and going elsewhere!

Amazing location in the square which is buzzing and busy (can be very noisy at night but this didnt bother us as we were out enjoying it). Our room was pretty small but comfortable nonetheless. The beds were comfy and clean and given clean towels every day. Yes the stairs are steep but this is no fault of the hotel, as Amsterdam just seems to have steep stairs everywhere!

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again if I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in August of 2010 when we couldn't find anywhere else to stay. The location was quite beautiful, but the room itself was disgusting. Old, dirty, the bed linens looked like they hadn't been washed ever, and the door was flimsy and barely attached to the frame. There was a single shared bathroom for the entire hostel, which was always wet, messy, and stank of mildew. Over the course of our four day stay, there was no toilet paper for about three of them. The guy who ran the place was completely apathetic, had no interest in helping us at any point or even aknowledging that we were there. Breakfast was also pretty meagre. As was the decor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was abit on the small side and the window didn't open but other than that everything else was alright

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.