We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Thorbecke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thorbecke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thorbecke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thorbecke Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Hotel Thorbecke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location is great, the rest is a disaster.
The staff is nice, they changed our room, but even if it was a little better, the hotel is horrible. If you are planning a longer stay i do not recommend.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    28
    32
    89
See reviews for
16
40
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Reading the poor rated reviews on Thorbecke Hotel I feel it's only fair to provide a balanced opinion on my stay:

Firstly, I stayed as part of a large group of twentysomethings (and some older gents) as part of a Stag weekend in August 2013. After reading some of the opinions on TripAdvisor I felt apprehensive; so I'll outline the pros and cons of the Thorbecke Hotel are.

Negatives

The Stairs- The stairs in the hotel are admittedly a bit of a taxing challenge to negotiate; especially if you suffer from a corpulent body structure (like some of our party) or have spend all day and night sampling the local Amsterdam ales and delicacies (like all of our party). Admittedly, some kind of elderly persons stair lift or simple winch device installed by the hoteliers may rectify this issue.

The Breakfast- Yes, the breakfast is very basic. Bread, cheese and orange juice are the specials of the day, but let's be realistic... there is a whole city with wonderful bars and restaurants to taste and absorb the local cuture. Perhaps visit a local coffeeshop and enjoy a "flapjack and a schigarette" or "pipe and a waffle" for lunch to cure any hunger pangs.

Being above a pub/nightclub- The only issue with this is that the bouncers are a bunch of clowns who get in your way on the way up the stairs. For more information on the stairs visit first section.

Positives

Clean- The room we had was clean if a bit dated; (think 1980's American comedy decor) but laminate flooring which was cleaned but housekeeping staff and clean bed sheets.

Location- This is the main positive for Thorbecke hotel. You are right in the mixer of the nightlife; get out there and enjoy it.

Innovation- The room we had enjoyed some kind of patio/conservatory/greenhouse arrangement, which is great for banging broads in if you enjoy that kind of thing.

Shower Rooms- After a night of dirty debauchery. a powerful shower is just the ticket. Thorbecke provided this with as much water as you like with no extra charge.

Beds- Yes! There are beds. Exactly what one requires for resting or engaging in coitus with one of the friendly local females.

Summary-

Thorbecke is a hotel which is great if you're more interested if going out and enjoying the delights of Amsterdam rather than sitting in your room pulling your pudding. If you are looking to enjoy yourself and have a bit of a party, no need to worry about noise complaints or if someone is sick on the linen. However if its a romantic weekend with your beloved or bit on the side; stop being a tightwad and book somewhere classy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The only words I can possibly say that won´t have this review banned from Trip Advisor due to violating the permissible language to be used is that it is the worst dump I have ever seen and should certainly be avoided. The first room I was given smelled so awful from mold that I could not stay in it. You could literally feel the mold spores in the air and it made my throat sore. The second room I was given turned out to be marginally better but it faced outside and the window is paper thin so you could hear all the noise of the street and there is a dance club down stairs so it gets unbelievably loud.

I wish that Trip Advisor would allow ratings lower than one point as this hotel doesn´t even deserve the one point it gets. We also shouldn´t forget about the flies and mosquitoes. The only plus point about the the noisy dance club downstairs is that it is so loud, it drowns out the noise of the mosquitoes. The owners also have the nerve to hang no smoking signs all over the place. The only thing I can think of is that perhaps they are concerned that the cigarette smoke will ignite the mold!

At least the internet works fairly well. The staff are completely useless and the breakfast was terrible. Never stay in this hotel as it is an absolute nightmare. The pictures of the rooms that you see on the internet are false and nowhere near depict how horrendous this dump is. I would say the best way to fix this hotel is to knock it down with a wrecking ball. This hotel could certainly be compared to the infamous Bates Motel from the movie Psycho. You have been warned!!!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in this hotel... Every room is awful!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Agree that the staff were unfriendly suspect that they were ashamed of everything around them.
The Thorbecke website is quite misleading and inaccurate. Frankly, I thought it dishonest. The inside photos presented a most misleading impression. There was no mini bar in either of the two rooms we used as is claimed. The TV in one room was so old fashioned and the phone (only one of the two rooms had one) was initially invisible and unusable and was not plugged in. The furniture was tired, scratched and dusty. The beds were soft, thin and uncomfortable, the decor in both rooms was poor and clearly the rooms had not been painted and decorated for years. The rooms clearly hadn't been properly cleaned for ages. The lighting was awful, old fashioned and poor. The second room we used, when we opened the curtains in the morning looked into another bedroom!! Fortunately unoccupied! There was no coffee or milk in either room and we had to ask for both. The bathroom was unclean, there were flies and no bath mats. There certainly wasn't a jacuzzi! The noise from the Club downstairs was very disturbing. Access is appalling with three flights of steep narrow stairs to negotiate for our first room. If you were old, infirm or had heavy luggage you would have had great difficulty. The red carpet outside and on the first flight of stairs are so dirty and disgusting. They certainly need replacing. The breakfast on offer was minimalist in the extreme. Poor quality sliced ham and cheese, bread that could be toasted, butter, preserves, orange juice, coffee and tea. Quite inadequate and unimaginative.
We had to change rooms at about midnight on our first night (fortunately our stay was for just two nights!). My wife went to the bathroom and there was water leaking fron the floor above. The old fashioned light had collected about a litre of the leaking water so it was quite hazardous. We were moved and never received any explanation as to what had occurred.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorbecke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorbecke Hotel

Address: Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thorbecke Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Thorbecke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorbecke Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorbecke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.