We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Rembrant Square, very simple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thorbecke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thorbecke Hotel to your Saves list
Thorbecke Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brazil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Near Rembrant Square, very simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I came to this hotel because we wanted a place near the night life. We expected a noisy and dirty place, but we staid in Room 15, and we heard no high sounds from street. The beds are good, comfortable. The price was high, I paid 320EU for two nights in a weekend, in a twin. But if you are in Amsterdam to enjoy the night and the things to do, and need a central place only to left bags and sleep, its ok.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    30
    32
    97
See reviews for
16
42
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This may be the cheapest option in Amsterdam but not worth it. The room I was given had slanted roof (triangular in height) and I must have hit my head to the room at least 5-6 times in a day. The TV does not work. The stairs were very narrow and steep. If you have big luggage, pray that you come out alive from the hotel. The breakfast was lousy. It is right above a dance club which is very noisy, specially the weekends. The mattress was very soft and uncomfortable.
The good thing is that wi fi works well in the lobby, and they store your luggage for free.

Room Tip: Higher floors have slanted roofs, hence avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you are a sort of youngster with little perspectives, you will like the thorbecke hotel, go downstairs to the disco and see a lot of silly monkeys jumping around, while the music seems to be for jerks.
As you enter the hotel, you must be glad to get your feet back from the floor, because the whole hotel is like covered in sugar or something like that.
When we entered our room, our noses began to stuck because of the dirt underneath the bed. But the bed wasn't actually a real bed, it were more two kinds of tabpushed together. It was small, ugly and very dirty.
The employees at the reception were not very friendly.
It was really a desperation. The more when you think on the price for this dirt house.
If you just there with your friends to make party all the time and just enjoy the special conditions of Amsterdam - you can book this hotel. Also the location is great, you are completly in the center and the next coffeeshop is just a few steps away.
But if you want to have just a little romantic journey as a couple, this is definetly not your place!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great location!!! Simple room, absolutely ok to stay for few nights. Nice breakfast .
Xxxcccccccccccccccccccvvvcccvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was easy to find and is situated in a really busy part of Amsterdam. We stayed in room 12, a twin room. We had our own bathroom, which was a nice surprise as when we booked we were told we would be sharing a bathroom. The room its self was a nice size, though we did think it was odd that our window looked into the room next doors living area, our window only opened a few inches so we couldn't get any fresh air or cool the room down. We found the beds very comfy and we got clean towels everyday, but the general state of the hotel was poor, outdated and dirty. It is above a bar which plays very loud music. I didn't enjoy breakfast. The only choice was toast, cheese and ham, instant coffee or juice, there also was not enough room for everyone to sit down. We ended up going across the road the the Irish bar to get a nice cooked breakfast, good coffee and fresh orange juice. You get what you pay for in this hotel. The front of house staff weren't very friendly, we didn't feel like we could ask them help or directions. There is WiFi, but it didnt reach in to our room. We had to go to the main area to use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorbecke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorbecke Hotel

Address: Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorbecke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thorbecke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorbecke Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorbecke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.