We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay here, but the bar is BRILLIANT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durty Nelly's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Durty Nelly's Inn to your Saves list
Durty Nelly's Inn
Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Milton Keynes, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Didn't stay here, but the bar is BRILLIANT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We didn't stay at this hostel, but we did enjoy 2 mega meals over 2 days! The giant beefburger was amazing, and lined our stomachs for the nights antics. Another favourite was the sausage and mash, another stomach liner!

The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us, would definitely consider using the hostel if we ever visit Amsterdam again (which is highly likely!)

Also, they have Irish Sky Sports, so I was able to see my beloved football team smash Wolves 3-0 in glorious HD (the female assistant referee was ite too ;D)

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    32
    7
    15
See reviews for
5
13
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottbus, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Very well located near the Central Train Station, the Red Light District and the Royal Palace, so it's not difficult to reach any highlights in Amsterdam from there. The staff is very friendly and breakfast was good.
My only inconvenience (minor) was that I didn't take my laptop with me and there's free wi-fi, but if you want to use the place's computers you have to pay and it's not so cheap.
I also recommend it mostly for group travels, since rooms are shared and it's better to share them with people you know and like :)
Due to its location, it can be very noisy outside, so that's something to keep in mind if you really need to sleep much and tight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

There's nothing better than a hostel that is also an Irish pub. I loved being able to pop downstairs for a quick beer.

I chose the hostel because I am Canadian and there is a fun bar downtown in my city with the same name. I'd been traveling in so many foreign places that I wanted a piece of home. The rooms were decent along with the shower. The toilet was shared and down the hall. I wasn't expecting a 4 star hostel so no biggie.

If you are looking for a good sleep, don't expect it here. The first night we didn't sleep a wink. You don't hear the pub, you hear everyone outside in the street and the smokers who go out for a puff. It was so noisy. But that was on a Sunday- might have been a busy night for them. The other 3 days were fine. Bring earplugs just in case.

Breakfast was really good. It was included in price and tasty. Boiled eggs, ham, toast, cereal, etc. I love free breakfast with protein!

The best part was waking up to a cat in my bed!! I was shocked but it was hilarious. It's their cat and there was an opening to a loft from the ceiling of our room. The cat sneaked in and cuddled in my bed in the morning.

Overall, I highly recommend this place. Even to female solo travelers. The staff were great and I had some really good chats with the staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

It is located in Warmoesstraat-- one of the happening streets in Amsterdam. There are many cafes and quirky stores along the road. If you are easily be bothered by loud music at night, this place is not for you. There is a pub on the ground floor of the hostel and their music plays until early morning. There is a church nearby that rings its bells in the morning-- a pleasant wake up call. Rooms are upstairs (no lift) and are secured by a locked door only for guests. Each guest is assigned to one bed in the bunk with a number on it. Towels can be replaced downstairs. Generous breakfast (free) consists of ham, bread, cheese, milk, cereal. Drinking water is also available. I would stay here again. Its a good place to meet other travellers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed for a stag do. 26 of us in 3 rooms for 2 nights costing over €2000. For just being a hostel this was very dear. Jim the manager was great and he checked us in. Cost €10 deposit for your key and €5 deposit for towel. Our room had 4 bunk beds with clean enough sheets, a shower and separate toilet. Each person has their own lockable locker. Never heard any noise from other rooms. Bar downstairs does average food and good deals for guests. Found some of the bar staff not too friendly. Drinking is supposed to stop at 3am, we came down at 5.30am and still got served. Location is one of the best in the dam. Thanks again for Jim for going above the call off duty to sort out a problem outside of the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed here with a group of mates for a stag weekend. We rented the whole room (12 beds i think) for 8 of us. Very basic but we expected this as it cost next to nothing.

Location is amazing - right in the heart of red light district with a decent bar at street level. Breakfast was very below par but we always go to Stones cafe for a full English whenever we're in the Dam so wasnt too fussed.

This place is perfect for large groups who just want somewhere to get their heads down after a heavy night on the ale and everything else amsterdam has to offer!

Would defo go back here on a lads weekend otherwise I usually stay in the Frisco Inn around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hostel can't be beaten for location.. 7mins walk from Central station (great if you're coming off the train from the airport!) and right in the heart of the Red Light District. Don't worry though, even travelling alone as a girl, I felt very safe.
The rooms were basic- but clean and the beds were comfy. Bathroom in the room, which is nice and the showers are pretty good!
Room was surprisingly quiet at night too, considering the amount of noise on the streets and in the pub downstairs.
You get pretty good discounts on a range of food and drinks (they had a pint of Amstel for €3.50, instead of about €5) in the pub with your hostel card they give you, so its definitely worth checking that out.
Breakfast is standard, but free- so can't complain. They had cornflakes, toast, and a selection of ham, cheese and boiled eggs. Coffee and tea are also free.
All in all this is a great, cheap place to stay, I would definitely recommend it!

(they also had free wi-fi, but beware don't use the internet computers downstairs, €6 p/hour!) You're much better off going to an internet cafe, as they charge about €2 p/hr..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durty Nelly's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durty Nelly's Inn

Address: Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durty Nelly’s Hostel and Bar offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the coolest city on the planet!If you are up for sightseeing during day and party in the evening – you found the perfect place! We offer you a great mixture of atmosphere, top location, friendly and helpful staff and famous Irish Pub on the ground floor for your enjoyment!Located just a short walk from the Central Station, in the heart of the historical city center, in walking distance to city attractions, sights, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Durty Nelly's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durty Nelly`s Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durty Nelly's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.