We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pub food. For Amsterdam, good bier prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durty Nelly's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Durty Nelly's Inn to your Saves list
Durty Nelly's Inn
Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Decent pub food. For Amsterdam, good bier prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had dinner here our first night (this trip) in Amsterdam. The Guinness was cold and decently priced (good price, really, for Amsterdam). My wife had a pretty tasteless salad for 10.50 euro. I had an okay omelette with fries. Unfortunately for me they were out of onion rings that night hence the reason I went with the omelette.

I'd go back to drink Guinness but I'd skip eating here in the future. The food prices are reasonable but there's really much better food in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    32
    7
    15
See reviews for
5
13
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed there twice and for Amsterdam (which has bad accomodation), the place is really clean enough. The location is great, on a very nice street. However, the rooms are a bit expensive, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Brilliant place to stay, friendly staff and great food. Met some great people here. four of us stayed in a 6 bed dorm, there were another 2 with us for one night. Rooms were a decent size and had a toilet and separate shower in the room. Everything was clean and tidy. Couldn't tell you what the noise at night was like as I was probably contributing to it! narrow staircase was hard to navigate with big bags. It's a hostel but doesn't have a kitchen area or private area for guests. I'd definitely stay here again if I'm starveling in a group. Wouldn't recommend for a couple or family.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for my friends Hen party it was exactly what we needed for our weekend and in a great location !!
I have stayed in Amsterdam 2 times in other hostels but would stay here if I was on a party weekend with a group of friends,its clean,friendly and lively due to the pub down stairs which made our stay.
Thanks for our great stay Jim,Alex,Morris and the rest of the staff we really had a ball!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer... this place is a shambles and a rip off. We arrived in Amsterdam with 120 euros. We dived into Durty Nelly's to dodge a heavy shower. We ordered two drinks and handed the barman (a chap with heavily tattooed arms) a 20 euro note - and he only gave change for 10. When my partner questioned this the response was rude and threatening and we had no choice but to accept we'd paid 15 euros for two halves of Murphy's! We hadn't spent a single euro anywhere else and we both saw the 20 euro note being handed over so we were 100% certain the mistake was not ours!! We then got talking to an American outside and he said exactly the same thing had happened to him. Do not go here unless you want to be robbed!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stag party of 14 stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. We had an 8 bed dorm and a 6 bed dorm, each with private facilities.
It's walking distance from the train station and in the heart of the red light district.
Rare to find somewhere that accepts stag parties and also no curfew - open 24hrs!!!
Large stag parties have to pay a refundable €30 bond which we all knew about. Lockers are refundable €10 and towels are refundable €5.
Check-in was smooth and informative, no problems. There were three cubicles in the room, two had their own door - one was the toilet, one was the shower. The other cubicle is the basin with a mirror above it. Great having them all separate when you're in a large party as you don't have to wait to use a bathroom one at a time this way.
Guests receive discounts on pints of Amstel which was €3.50 instead of €5, plus discounts on bottles and various items from the food menu. We were buying cheeseburger and fries with a pint of Amstel for €10 which was very good.
The free breakfast consisted of tea/coffee, toast, cornflakes and a few other things. You could also buy a cooked full irish breakfast for €7.
They show all the premiership football on several screens and there are also some pool tables downstairs if you fancy a game.
We didn't see or hear any trouble at night, so no problem sleeping.
Staff were always helpful and polite.
Would definitely recommend this place to large groups.

Room Tip: Rooms with private facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Well. We were quoted a price online of 228€ which was confirmed through an email we received. On arrival, we were also told 228€ which we paid and proceeded to our room. However, half hour later we were disturbed by the management to tell us the price was actually 288€. For 4 young men on a budget stag do, an extra 60€ is a lot of money. We were ordered to pay this, and if not it would be taken off of the credit card which was registered, which is the credit card of our colleague who had to stay at home as his wife was taken severely ill. Not great, but the hostel was in prime location, but lost a lot more money as we chose not to spend any more money there out of principle. I'm sure we would have spent lots more on booze if we hadn't been mugged off at the start of the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Durty Nelly's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durty Nelly's Inn

Address: Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durty Nelly’s Hostel and Bar offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the coolest city on the planet!If you are up for sightseeing during day and party in the evening – you found the perfect place! We offer you a great mixture of atmosphere, top location, friendly and helpful staff and famous Irish Pub on the ground floor for your enjoyment!Located just a short walk from the Central Station, in the heart of the historical city center, in walking distance to city attractions, sights, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Durty Nelly's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durty Nelly`s Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durty Nelly's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.